We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy, Friendly Motor Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeshore Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lakeshore Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lake Oswego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Comfy, Friendly Motor Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2006

The Lakeshore Inn in the pretty, upscale town of Lake Oswego, outside of Portland, has an interesting sort of funky feel to it. I was there in rainy, chilly weather but would love to visit again in the summer. In spite of the chill, my room was welcoming and comfortable. I should say rooms, as I had both a bedroom and a living room/kitchen, and a lovely little balcony overlooking the lake.

I loved having a little kitchen. It reminded me of a summer cabin in that way.

The neighborhood, downtown Lake Oswego, is safe and has plenty of good restaurants, coffee shops, and a little movie theatre all within easy walking distance from the Lakeshore Inn.

Parking is free, and you're also right next to a great little park at the lake. While other reviewers complained about the train noise, I never even noticed it!

I found this to be a perfect hotel for a woman alone or for a family. It might not be the ultimate romantic hotel if you are a couple in search of an escape, but otherwise I think it's a great place to stay when you're in the Portland area.

The staff were friendly and helpful, great directions!

I will definitely return to the Lakeshore.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    72
    26
    16
    10
See reviews for
77
67
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2005

My Sister and her family came up to Eastern Oregon to visit. We needed to spend a night in Portland the day before they flew home. I had stayed at The Lakeshore Inn, Lake Oswego, some years ago and was very pleased with the rooms and service.

When I phoned to make reservations the Desk Clerk was very polite and helpful. When we arrived at the Lake Shore the Desk Clerk was also very polite and helpful. She told us about the area resturants and points of interest.

We stayed in a two bedroom suite, which seemed like being in an upscale apartment. It was big, roomy and the view was fantastic. The swimming pool was warm and also right on the lake. My sister and her family were ready to move in.

We enjoyed the view, the room, the pool, the service and how convenient the location was to so many shops and resturants.

We will stay there again and would recommend it to anyone.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2005

I stayed at the Lakeshore Inn for three nights. The room was fine but nothing spectacular considering I could pay a lesser rate for a nicer room for other Lake Oswego lodging. The view of the lake and the location of the hotel was very nice. However, there were two issues that would stop me from staying there again.
1) The blaring of the train and its very loud whistle at something like 5:00am every morning. The train tracks run right next to the hotel and clearly there have been no arrangements to help insulate the hotel from the complete noise pollution.
2) The floors are so thin that one can hear every movement in the room above. Very intrusive.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2005

Please, please, please - Do NOT make the mistake of booking a room at this place. My wife and I chose this hotel for the beautiful view of Lake Oswego, but were disgusted by the rooms and, more importantly, the service. The trip got off to a bad start when not only was the toilet clogged upon our arrival, but the bedroom floor was covered with cat feces. Our complaints to the service desk were met with laughter and derisiveness. This hotel is a horrible hell hole and I'm sorry I ever stayed there.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lakeshore Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2005
No one on our staff has any knowledge of this guest or incident. We do not allow pets at the hotel. We would appreciate a direct contact from this guest so that we could rectify the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2005

We were very disappointed in this hotel. The management at the Lakeshore Inn could learn a thing or two about "customer service"! The power in our room went out due to a blown fuse. We called the front desk after playing with the fusebox and she came upstairs to "help"...Instead she rolled her eyes at us, muttered some insults under her breath, and told us we were using too many lights. Have you ever heard of restricted electricity use in a hotel room? The manager, Larry, then came up and immediately began yelling at us about how we caused the problem and all he could do was bring us some fans. We reminded him that there was no where to plug in the fans. He refused to credit the room for the night, or attempt to find us other accomodations (it was 98 degrees that night). It turned into an argument between us and Larry about how we wasted his hotel's "electricity". Eventually we called a friend who fixed the problem and thanked Larry and Jennifer (front desk) for all of the "help"...Worst Service Ever!
Oh, and don't expect the maid to do more than make the beds...they left the dirty towels in a big pile on the floor. If you go, don't use their electricity, and don't expect any service.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lakeshore Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2005
The problem that the guest described was a tripped GFI plug in the bathroom. We apologize for not recognizing the problem and resetting it more promptly. Our staff say their intention was to be helpful and they apologize if it appeared otherwise. Our staff have all been with us for a long time and they are routinely complimented for their customer service. We did begin to locate another hotel for these guests and would have refunded their money, but after the power was restored they decided to stay. Our housekeepers provide a thorough cleaning of our guest rooms and bathrooms, including clean towels, daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2005

We recently spent the night at the Lakeshore and it was simply like being at home....we couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable and relaxing time. The room offered all the anemities of home (microwave, TV/DVD, fridge- and yes ladies even a blow dryer and iron and board!!!),We even had a complimentary basket of snacks awaiting us, which we thought added a special touch to our stay. The lake view was spectacular and it is just a hop and skip away from the new developing downtown area. We truly enjoyed the staff's attentiveness and would not hesitate to call on the Lakeshore again when we are in town!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2005

Enjoyed a great stay at the Lakeshore Inn two weeks ago. We loved being on the lake and having our own deck. The staff was super friendly and helpful... and the room was great. The hotel is just half a block from the new shopping area downtown and there were a couple of very nice restaurants. (We loved Zeppo's for Italian). We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wheeler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Oswego
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego
3.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland South/Lake Oswego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel At Bridgeport
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Rivershore Hotel
5.1 mi away
River's Edge Hotel & Spa
River's Edge Hotel & Spa
#37 of 138 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeshore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeshore Inn

Property: Lakeshore Inn
Address: 210 N State St, Lake Oswego, OR 97034-3110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Lake Oswego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lake Oswego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lakeshore Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in a wonderful lakefront room or suite in the heart of downtown Lake Oswego. Guests will enjoy complimentary pastries and gourment coffee, lakefront decks, Wi-Fi, flat screen HD TVs, DVD players, small kitchens and lakeside pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lakeshore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeshore Hotel Lake Oswego
Lakeshore Inn Lake Oswego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing