We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Pine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highlander Motel & RV Park
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in La Pine
Central Oregon, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient.”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was the perfect base for house hunting. Very clean, owner and staff were gracious, and accommodating. The big plus for me was that they allowed my well behaved large dog. Mini fridge and microwave were a plus. No complaints. I would recommend this motel for anyone that wants an inexpensive, comfortable, clean place to stay in La Pine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lostinaspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
13
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
WHITE MTS NEW HAMPSHIRE
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here 2 nights,so we could explore Crater Lake a couple days.And although it's located on busy USR 97,which boasts a lot of truck traffic,we had no trouble sleeping.The owners were very nice and helpful.Micowave,fridge helped save money on food,clean beds,reasonable price(62.00),If you need a clean place to stop,check this place out.We liked it and would return.

Room Tip: If you go in the fall,call ahead due to hunting season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PUPPYPUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithland, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Highlander Motel is a small, independent motel that is nothing spectacular. It's an older motel, but clean on the inside and neat rooms with a full kitchen.No amenities to speak of, though. There was a hair dryer, but no shampoo, conditioner, etc. It was a very convenient spot for us to stop on our visit to the Mt. Hood/Hood River area, and the price was definitely better than anything in nearby cities. Nice kitchen with stovetop, microwave, and kitchen and even some dishes furnished along with soap for cleaning them.

The highway is very busy and noisy, but once it got dark, the traffic noise quieted considerably, and it didn't bother our sleep. The wifi was nice, quick speed.

Overall, a good stop for us, but nothing fancy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kgardner120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Owners couldn't do enough to help. Rooms were modern and spotless. On a busy road but that was convenient for us travelling in the 97, but it was quiet during the night. Would highly recommend a stay if you're passing through.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wingerdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The Highlander is an older motel but the owners keep the property Very clean and neat. There is nothing Fancy but its clean. the bed and pillows where comfortable and the Wifi is good.
I noticed a bit of traffic noise from the hi-way but very little and was not disturbed by it. Unless your a Very light sleep its not a problem. The Owners are very nice and very helpful. At a little over 50.00 its hard to complain about the compact size of the room. It is small but unless you plan on spending hours and hours in the room its really all that is needed. There is in Room coffee, a microwave and small fridge.
We were very comfortable. and have been back 3 times with an trip planed and reservations made in a few months. Excellent choice for the money.

Room Tip: We stayed in both room 4 and room 5 both were comfy :) Pictures are of room 5 They are installing n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cynpowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay OR
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Traveling at a time when resorts were all full in the Cascades, this place was fine. For $65 we had a full kitchen and two good queen beds in a clean, solid room. Right on Hwy 97 but quiet inside. Gas and restaurants within a block.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cooskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

I would have had to rate it Average, if not for the very friendly and attentive hosts. They did everything in their power to mitigate the room's deficiencies, and asked whether we needed anything whenever they saw us outside. They even cleaned the snow off our car!
Now for some issues...
The heater in the room was positioned on the back wall, and on a couple of nights there was a tremendous draft from the door, so if you slept on the bed by the door you were cold, and on the bed by the heater you were hot. They brought us a portable heater that slightly improved this situation.
The door did not have a dead bolt. I think this should be required for a place along a major highway.
The door of the shower stall was leaky, but they mopped up the water every day and replaced the rug on the bathroom floor.
The WiFi signal was extremely weak in the room we were staying. Maybe it would have been better closer to the office.
On the positive side, the room was well equipped. Coffee maker, small fridge, microwave, hair drier. Also, it's right next to a convenience store, and a supermarket and restaurants are all within two blocks.
Overall, very good for the price.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zioshech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Pine
0.2 mi away
Best Western Newberry Station
17.3 mi away
Woodsman Country Lodge
Woodsman Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crescent
83 reviews
23.0 mi away
WorldMark Bend - Seventh Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
No photo provided
Circle Four Ranch Cabins
#3 of 4 in Sunriver
4 reviews
14.3 mi away
Sunriver Resort
Sunriver Resort
#1 of 4 in Sunriver
2,137 reviews
5.7 mi away
DiamondStone Guest Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Motel & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Motel & RV Park

Property: Highlander Motel & RV Park
Address: 51511 Highway 97, La Pine, OR 97739-8957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > La Pine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in La Pine
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlander Motel is family owned by Brian and Jeannine Earls. We have three different types of units the first being a one-bed unit that sleeps 2, a two-unit that sleeps 4 or 5 people, and a full kitchen unit that sleeps up to 6 people. We pride ourselves on being clean and friendly. Also, we have been updating rooms with modern furnishings like flat screen TV's and newer furnishings. We look forward to providing you with a quality room at a great price. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highlander Motel & RV Park La Pine, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing