We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unfriendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in La Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“unfriendly staff”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

keys did not work, staff anoid when asked to fix. Still didn't work. Never had enough towels and roof repairs going on. Staff did not appear to care about things working or not. Overheard another guess having issues and they basically told them too bad deal with it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krystie y, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. I'm sorry that you had problems with your keys not working. We weren't aware that the roofers were going to start as early as they did but once we said something to them, they started at a later time. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    125
    45
    26
    22
See reviews for
113
84
15
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our stay was very comfortable. Quiet and clean - We had a slow draining sink in the bathroom, but not enough to call for maintenance. The room was facing the freeway, but couldn't hear a peep. Never heard the people coming and going, nor any noise from the rooms next door. Breakfast was eggs, bacon, waffles, cereal, juices and rolls. We were there at 6 and the food wasn't all that warm. The employees at the front desk, checking in and checking out were friendly and helpful with places to eat. We would not hesitate to visit here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Podunct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krystie y, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back in the future and see us again soon.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

While the Rama Inn & Suites is not a truly great motel, it remains by far the best that
La Grande has to offer. The rooms are spacious, quiet, clean and air conditioned, and include a flat screen TV. Also, an indoor swimming pool and spa pool is available. A much appreciated aspect of the motel is the single story construction. No stairs makes handling of luggage easy.
The Rama Inn has a well appointed breakfast room offering fresh waffles, scrambled eggs, cereals of various types, yogurt selections, pastries, etc. An attendant keeps all foods available, and makes sure the tables are cleaned for the next guest.
All in all, a very pleasant place to stay, even for an extended period.
I spent three nights at the Rama Inn recently as a beginning point for a driving tour of the Wallowa mountains and Hell's Canyon. I recommend Rama Inn as a visitor to La Grande.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, but it's helpful to choose a room that is close to one of the several e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ridgefieldrmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krystie y, Manager at Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for writing your review on Trip Advisor. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope that you will come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

On a recent trip, we had to change plans last minute and the folks at Best Western treated us with the utmost care. They were willing to help with a birthday party that we wanted to throw the next day and did everything they could to make our stay exceptional. The rooms were clean, though a bit dated. There aren't a lot of choices in this town, but from what I have seen this is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krystie y, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. We strive for the best in customer service as well as clean rooms. We're glad that we could help you out with your birthday party. If you're ever traveling through La Grande again, we hope that you will choose our hotel again.
Again, Thank you for writing your nice comments on Trip Advisor.

Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

If you must stay in La Grande, this is your place. Right off 84, I didn't experience much road noise and had a good night sleep. We were there for a mtg so we had Govt. rates which earns the 5 for value. I've stayed here before years ago and don't recall it being worth writing about, but I diid this time. The rooms are big and well-equipped with micro, new coffee makers, and fridge that aren't stuffed away in a cabinet. The rooms are well lit and the beds comfy. Indoor pool, hot tub and a small workout room. We ate at Mamacitas based on other TA reviews and all 8 of us were happy with the choice. Vegetarian and gluten-free options too. You're close to EOU for a few laps around the track for a workout. Safeway and Starbucks are close too. Starbucks and Dutch Brothers are your best options got coffee. Great desk staff Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnyvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krystie y, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The suite was expensive, cramped and in need of renovations. Old building, not up to usual BW plus standard. We were to spend 4 nights, but found nothing in the immediate area for good restaurants or any shopping, so we left after 1 night. Not pleased. Would not return.
While the hotel was average, the whole experience was poor.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krystie y, Manager at Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. You did mention that your room was small, we do have a much larger suite that you might have liked better, I'm sorry that you felt cramped. We do live in a small community but there are lots of things to do, it just depends on what you like to do. We have beautiful mountains with lots of hiking, skiing, fishing and hunting very close by. And there are quite a few stores to shop at downtown.

Again, Thank you for review on Trip Advisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very quiet. The room appeared to have been recently updated; it was spacious, too. The furniture in the lobby was very sparse, but who spends much time there anyway? The breakfast could have been better.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the back of the inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldfinger13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krystie y, Manager at Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for writing a responce on Trip Advisor. Your positive comments are very helpful in letting us know what we are doing right and where we need to improve. We are in the process of renovating our lobby and are waiting for our artwork to get approved, so the next time you travel through our area, please stop by for a cup of coffee and see if we are done with our renovations.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Grande hotels
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Sandman Inn
0.7 mi away
La Grande Travelodge
La Grande Travelodge
#7 of 8 in La Grande
203 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn La Grande
Rodeway Inn La Grande
#5 of 8 in La Grande
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 LaGrande
Super 8 LaGrande
#2 of 8 in La Grande
324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Motor Inn
Royal Motor Inn
#3 of 8 in La Grande
81 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quail Run Motor Inn
Quail Run Motor Inn
#4 of 8 in La Grande
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites
Address: 1711 21st Street, La Grande, OR 97850-3919 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Rama Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > La Grande
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in La Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Grande
La Grande Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing