We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a plus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in La Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not a plus”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

When I made the reservation I was informed this was a best western plus. This it is not. The front desk staff was nice enough, that is not the issue. The hotel is in bad shape and in need of renovating if it is to qualify as a plus. The carpets were dirty, the beds broken down, the spa jets did not work, only two of the 5 lamps did not work and only two outlets worked. At least the sheets were clean. This is probably the worst best western I have stayed in, much less a plus!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynettecr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krystie y, Manager at Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. I hope that you called the desk clerk and asked for help concerning your outlets, as some of them work off of the light switches. Again, thank you for letting us know what we did wrong so we know what we need to fix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    125
    45
    26
    22
See reviews for
113
84
15
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We liked this place well enough to be return customers and once again had a very pleasant stay. The rooms are reasonably updated, beds comfy, linens crisp and clean, staff friendly and professional and the price is competitive for such amenities. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank posibility409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krystie y, Manager at Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I see this is at least your second time visiting our property. If you have any suggestions on what we might be able to do to make your stay more enjoyable, please let us know as every guest views things differently. Again, Thank you for the positive feedback. Have a wonderful day !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed one night, passing through on a road trip. The location is good, not too noisy. The decor is a strange mix of old & dingy with new items (ex. newer furniture in rooms but ratty old unmatching carpet in the halls?). We paid cash and didn't receive a receipt when we asked for one which can be perceived as dishonest and did not leave us with a good feeling. It worked out fine but left an unsettling impression. There is no elevator so watch out if you get an upper room and have heavy bags! The air conditioner blasted polar cold air (no matter what we set it on) but using just the fan left the room very stuffy. Not the best night we've had in a hotel. The breakfast was good, the lady working there was going above & beyond to make sure everything was filled & stocked, and she was very nice. It was an "okay" stay but definitely not worth the price they charge.

Room Tip: If you must stay here beware the lack of elevator if you have heavy bags, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsRW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krystie y, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor. It tells us what we're doing right and where we need to improve. I will let the desk clek know that they could print you a reciept saying that you did pay cash for your room. Again, thank you for posting your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

...I'd give it a star more. But the absolutely sad breakfast setup (especially when "full breakfast" is prominently featured in the hotel's ads) was a next-morning bummer:
At 8:30AM on a Sunday, the place was out of warm rolls or bread, the juice jar was empty, and what food there was left (the usual bottom-line industrial egg mishmash, sausages, sweet cereal...) was as low quality as you can get away with without causing a riot. No cups or silverware, just styrofoam cups for your tea, and bending plastic forks. There were too few tables in the small breakfast room, so I and other guests had to take their stuff into the lobby. Can we aspire to a bit more at $120.- a night per person? Can we maybe try a bit harder to show the folks we care, at least a tiny bit?

The rest of the place was quite adequate for a mediocre chain hotel: clean, quiet room, fast wifi, commercial-only TV programming on old-fashioned TV.
Oh, and did I mention the indoor swimming pool? Three strokes in 3 feet of water, and it's time to turn.

Room Tip: Try a room away from the freeway, facing the big field behind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krystie y, Manager at Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. It tells us what we're doing right and what we need to improve on. I'm sorry you didn't like our breakfast. If you are ever in our town again, I might suggest that you go use our public swimming pool, as all of the other hotels that have swimming pools will have about the same size pools, and the public pool is much larger. Again, thank you for posting your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Nasty & RUDE is putting it politely when it comes to the staff! This hotel is suppose to be the best in town. The rooms are update but 1 of our 2 rooms had not been vacuumed prior to our arrival. I asked for our 2 rooms to be next to each other as we have 3 children - our 2 daughters were in a room several rooms down the hall. When I explained why I was told, "Tough!" Then they charged up twice for 2 rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BWitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krystie y, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. You didn't state if you had prior reservations or not, but we do try our hardest to honor your resquests, but we have been full and can't always do this. I might suggest in the future that you get one of our suites that has a room with 2 queen beds and a hide a bed, as this room sleeps 6 people, this would save you money as you wouldn't have to rent 2 rooms. Again, thank you for posting your comments and I'm sorry you din't enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We spent one night here while passing thru on the interstate. Reservations made weeks in advance. They seem to be full up on a Saturday night in July. Nevertheless, very quiet, no noise from adjoining rooms, corridors, or outside with the window closed. Breakfast not busy at 7:30 AM, everything well stocked: hot eggs & sausage, make your own waffles, pastries, breads, the usual hotel breakfast; I did miss bagels & cream cheese, hot oatmeal, black tea, so those would be nice additions. The staff at check-in was not especially friendly, but I attribute that to lack of training, perhaps they can learn to smile and say hello. I had made a reservation weeks in advance, asking for a high floor. An earlier reviewer complained about not getting a ground floor room without a reservation, so I had the opposite experience, even tho I had a reservation, with a special request for a high floor(I knew it was not guaranteed, but I had never had that happen before at other brands, so it started me out kind of grumpy). Can't leave the window open at night on the ground floor, to enjoy the cool night air. Speaking of windows, everything was clean and in good repair, but the window could use a good wash. Nice to have a little refrigerator. Good wifi. Nice shower. On the whole, perfectly adequate for one night, no major complaints, just me being grouchy.

Room Tip: Try making the reservation directly thru the hotel instead of on the internet, sometimes you can get...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank clairdesol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. It tells us what we're doing right and where we need to improve. I will let the desk clerk/s know that they need to be more friendly. I'm sorry that you didn't get your request of an upstairs room, always call the hotel directly as we do try to make all requests happen, but this isn't always possible. If you are ever in the area, please give us another try. We do have oatmeal on the breakfast bar, sorry no bagles or cream cheese. Again, thank you for posting your comments. Have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed at this hotel numerous times and have always found it to be clean and comfortable. Staff is always very helpful. Would definately recomment for either family or business visits.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krystie y, Manager at Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. This helps us know what we're doing right, and what we we need to improve on. It looks like you have stayed with us many times, we value your repeated business. I hope you have seen the changes we have made over the last few months with the breakfast. Again, thank you for posting your comments. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Grande hotels
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Sandman Inn
0.7 mi away
La Grande Travelodge
La Grande Travelodge
#7 of 8 in La Grande
202 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn La Grande
Rodeway Inn La Grande
#5 of 8 in La Grande
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 LaGrande
Super 8 LaGrande
#2 of 8 in La Grande
324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Motor Inn
Royal Motor Inn
#3 of 8 in La Grande
81 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quail Run Motor Inn
Quail Run Motor Inn
#4 of 8 in La Grande
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites
Address: 1711 21st Street, La Grande, OR 97850-3919 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Rama Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > La Grande
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in La Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Grande
La Grande Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing