We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites
Nearby Hotels
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Grande Inn(La Grande)
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Greenwell Motel(La Grande)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
$119
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mingo Motel(Wallowa)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Motor Inn(La Grande)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Inn(La Grande)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveler rating
140
138
53
27
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
140
138
53
27
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrackerswafflesroom was cleanup to dateexcellent stayplace to stayvery nice hotelnice breakfasthot tubpleasant stafffresh fruitconvenient locationeastern oregonfitness centerbiscuits and gravyindoor poolfast food
Filter
Updating list...
357 - 362 of 382 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We spent one night here while passing thru on the interstate. Reservations made weeks in advance. They seem to be full up on a Saturday night in July. Nevertheless, very quiet, no noise from adjoining rooms, corridors, or outside with the window closed. Breakfast not busy at 7:30 AM, everything well stocked: hot eggs & sausage, make your own waffles, pastries, breads, the usual hotel breakfast; I did miss bagels & cream cheese, hot oatmeal, black tea, so those would be nice additions. The staff at check-in was not especially friendly, but I attribute that to lack of training, perhaps they can learn to smile and say hello. I had made a reservation weeks in advance, asking for a high floor. An earlier reviewer complained about not getting a ground floor room without a reservation, so I had the opposite experience, even tho I had a reservation, with a special request for a high floor(I knew it was not guaranteed, but I had never had that happen before at other brands, so it started me out kind of grumpy). Can't leave the window open at night on the ground floor, to enjoy the cool night air. Speaking of windows, everything was clean and in good repair, but the window could use a good wash. Nice to have a little refrigerator. Good wifi. Nice shower. On the whole, perfectly adequate for one night, no major complaints, just me being grouchy.

Room Tip: Try making the reservation directly thru the hotel instead of on the internet, sometimes you can get a better price or more attention. Try calling the hotel the day before or the morning of arrival day to make sure you get your special request. Hotel staff were vague on this issue.
Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank clairdesol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you for posting your review. It tells us what we're doing right and where we need to improve. I will let the desk clerk/s know that they need to be more friendly. I'm sorry that you didn't get your request of an upstairs room, always call the hotel directly as we do try to make all requests happen, but this isn't always possible. If you are ever in the area, please give us another try. We do have oatmeal on the breakfast bar, sorry no bagles or cream cheese. Again, thank you for posting your comments. Have a great day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel numerous times and have always found it to be clean and comfortable. Staff is always very helpful. Would definately recomment for either family or business visits.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krystie y, Manager at Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. This helps us know what we're doing right, and what we we need to improve on. It looks like you have stayed with us many times, we value your repeated business. I hope you have seen the changes we have made over the last few months with the breakfast. Again, thank you for posting your comments. We hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Staying at the Best Western in La Grande was like a bad marriage, We could hardly wait to get out of it. We requested a non-smoking room. Our room, 121 was so “stale smoke saturated” it was like stepping into some cheap bar, the toilet had not been cleaned, the carpet was worn almost thread bare and when I complained to the desk clerk she did not believe me and came down to the room to check it out, she took two steps into the room and grab her nose and backed out. We were then moved to a “better room” 139. We were hungry so we left our suitcases in the new room and went out to dinner, when we returned the window was open (we were on the first floor) so we began checking for what might have been burglarized or if there might be someone hiding in the room, we checked under the bed, in the bathroom, and finally we opened the closet and there was an old large suitcase stashed there, it was about 3ft tall with big wheels, pulling it out we could see it was damaged, in other words it should have been in the dump---which means it was garbage---which means the room had not been cleaned, essentially our room was a dump. We called the front desk and they came and got the suitcase, but not before we had taken a picture of it for evidence. It was very late and we were very tired after a long drive so decided to take our chances that we would not get some disease or bed bugs and started to get ready for bed, the bathroom mirror area was very dim and as we looked up one light bulb was shot out, and then we noticed the light fixture was covered in a coat of heavy dust, the bath room tiles were fifthly, the furniture was stained and worn, this was not a $100 + a night room!!!! The next morning I spoke to the manager about all the issues, she discounted the price a few dollars. The Regional manager happen to be there and I spoke to her, but all she wanted to do was argue. This is a horrible place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krystie y, Manager at Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2012

Thank you for posting your comments, it tells us what we're doing right and where we need to improve. I don't feel that anyone argued with you, but listened to your concerns and took care of your needs as soon as you pointed them out. Again, thank you for taking the time to post your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The Best Western in La Grande is a very good place to stay. We were coming up from Salt Lake on our way to Mount Hood and needed an overnight stop. I am glad we stayed at the Best Western. The room was very clean, spacious, nicely decorated and the staff members were very friendly. The hotel is a 2 story building and the only reason I did not give it a 5 was that it did not have an elevator (which made no difference to me, but might to others) and the continental breakfast that was included was average (which I pretty much expect for hotels anyway). I would recommend this hotel if looking for a place to stay in La Grande!

Room Tip: Request a room on the first floor if you have issues walking your luggage up the stairs.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2-Trekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krystie y, Manager at Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We have recently upgraded our breakfast and have had a lot of good comments about it, so you posting this will really help. We try to ask our guests if they need a downstairs room when they make their reservation and make them aware that we don't have an elevator, as for walk ins, we try to do the same, but sometimes all of our downstairs rooms are gone. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that if you are ever in our area again, you will stay with us. Please do make reservations so we can try to get you downstairs. Again, Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I got snowed in La Grande and had to find a hotel quick. This best western was very ideal and a great find. It soon got completely booked after I arrived. The room was very clean and the customer service was very friendly. There is a pool but considering I got snowed in the last thing on my mind was to go for a swim. The hotel has free internet and the rooms are a good size. Not bad for a hotel in a small town.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lfamily83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krystie y, Manager at Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. It tells us what we are doing right and where we need to improve. One thing you never know is what the weather is going to be like in Eastern Oregon, so I've learned to always pack my swimming suit!! I hope if you are ever in our area again, you will choose to stay at our hotel, I'm glad that you got here early enough to get a room as we do fill up rather quickly, snow or no snow. As I said, thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews