We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great clean, reasonable priced hotel @ La Grande”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Sandman Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in La Grande
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We took sone furnature to our college aged son at EOU. we stayed at Mr Sandman/America's Best Calue.
We found the parking very easy. The room was clean. The bedding is of good quality, and is better than most of the other motels in La Grande.
The beds were made the same way that all the Major hotel brands make their beds.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thx1138Molly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm.silg, Manager at Americas Best Value Sandman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you like and your suggestions on what to improve on, you are helping us to deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 104 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

I've read a number of reviews for this property, and it's my opinion that the negative reviews are likely due to a travelers unfamiliarity with La Grande. People traveling from Seattle to Salt Lake and have no understanding of this region will not have their lodging needs met at any property in this town.

I have lived in LA, San Francisco, Raleigh, and a number of large cities with truly five star properties. No property in La Grande will ever compete with upper end hotels in urban communities.

However this property has a number of positive things going for it. For staters, the beds were very comfortable. My dad, who is 80(ish), and I both have issues with our back and traveling generally takes a significant toll on us. We both slept very well, and woke each morning well rested and pain free. We stayed for three nights.

Additionally the pool and spa are clean, well maintained, handi-cap accessible, indoors, and open 24 hours a day. Parking is very easy. The room was clean. The bedding is of good quality, and is better than most of the other motels in town. There were no "bedspreads" that collect DNA and dirt from one guest to the next. The beds were made the same way that all the Marriott brands make their beds.

The staff was great. First, the maids were all white, English speaking women who were friendly, thorough, and nice on the eyes. The front desk staff were friendly at check-in, and attentive. Additionally, they proved to be very capable in an emergency. On the second day of my stay I woke to discover my dad not breathing. I hit "0" on the phone and asked them to get me an ambulance and I then tended to my dad. In less than a minute the front desk staff appeared at my room with a cordless phone talking to the 911 operator and updating them with our progress. In short order my dad was breathing on his own, and not more than three minutes after my call went to the front desk the La Grande EMT's were in our room taking over the evaluation and care for my father. (On a side note, La Grande EMT's are based not more than 6 blocks from this property. Also, they do not charge for calls that they do not provide transportation. This saved me about $800.)

Now, let's get to the brass tacks of managing your expectations. This is a blue collar, hunting, fishing, camping, and trucking kind of town. All the properties in this community reflect that fact. Frankly, the Best Western is not a value at $110 per night. This Property and the neighboring Super 8 aren't a value at $89.00 per nigh. There is not a property in La Grande that should feel right about charging over $69 per night. However, these three properties are your best options, and your hands are tied.

Due to the nature of the guests who stay here and the activities that bring them to La Grande this motel fights the battle of trying to get mud stains out of the carpet, and guests will need to be prepared to see a stained floor in both the halls and their guest room. It's obvious that the carpets are regularly cleaned and vacuumed daily, however some stains just remain.

The rooms have a nice sized refrigerator. The handle on our fridge (room 123) was broken, but I was not terribly surprised that this wasn't repaired or replaced.

The breakfast and juice were standard for nicer motels. The breakfast room is somewhat cramped, however the selection and room were adequate for our needs.

The Free WiFi was easily accessible, but a little slow during peak hours.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ConstanTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm.silg, Manager at Americas Best Value Sandman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about our hotel. We do have a nice continental breakfast, large rooms, an indoor pool and hot tub.I'm very glad you chose o stay with us when you have so many other choices. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest while visiting LaGrande.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Needed 2 rooms while passing thru. Both queens. This was formerly a Sandman as the big sign says, but is now a America's Best. It is an older property in need of some updating - but functional. We had no problems in our rooms. The breakfast area is cramped and selection is quite limited.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne064_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm.silg, Manager at Americas Best Value Sandman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope that you will come back and see us again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed one night with family while travelling back to Portland from Utah. Rooms looked well and were actually comfortable. The sink unit was in the main room as opposed to being in the bathroom - a little odd but no issue. I would stay again if passing through La Grande.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm.silg, Manager at Americas Best Value Sandman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope that you will come back and see us again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

BEDBUGS and worst customer service ever!! Found infestation in bed, under mattress and behind headboard after wife was bitten. Staff had no idea what to do (we found out they had no training) and ended up making things worse. Gave us misinformation and had us deal with our belongings in ways that risked spreading bugs inside the motel, into our car and potentially our home. After weeks of trying to get management to respond to impacts on us, the end message was that they’re not liable, so our needs are not their concern.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BLT627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm.silg, Manager at Americas Best Value Sandman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2015

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review for our motel, all of the staff enjoy reading all reviews to give us our guests opinions about our property, so we know what it is we need to work on! Thank You again for choosing ABVI La Grande for your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a nice hotel for the value. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was good size and very comfortable. Continental breakfast was OK and fruit was out all night. The pool and jacuzzi was a welcome treet sense it was -16 deg.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm.silg, Manager at Americas Best Value Sandman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your say and took the time out of your schedule to write a review for us!

Thank You,
Americas Best Value Sandman Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

When I looked at the photo of the building, I expected the it be like a newer Comfort Inn or something similar. I certainly didn't expect luxury (especially for the rate), but it did appear to be built in the last couple decades, or updated in that time frame. However, other than the bathroom having been renovated in the last few years, the place looked like a motel 6 from the 1970's -- complete with the same bedspreads, sheets, and mattresses. The continental breakfast room had long folding tables and a few cereal and sweet options. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTinPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krystie y, Manager at Americas Best Value Sandman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. It tells us what we're doing right and where we need to improve. We will be changing our bedding package in the near future. I'm sorry that you won't give us another chance. Again, Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Grande
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn La Grande
Rodeway Inn La Grande
#7 of 8 in La Grande
89 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Grande Travelodge
La Grande Travelodge
#6 of 8 in La Grande
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 LaGrande
Super 8 LaGrande
#2 of 8 in La Grande
353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Motor Inn
Royal Motor Inn
#3 of 8 in La Grande
83 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Mays Place Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Sandman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Sandman Inn

Address: 2410 E R Ave, La Grande, OR 97850-3948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > La Grande
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in La Grande
Price Range: $111 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Sandman Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Sandman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Sandman Hotel La Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing