We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not helpful”
Review of Super 8 LaGrande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 LaGrande
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in La Grande
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I booked my 2 nights using Super8.com, but I needed to cancel the second night. The clerk wouldn't cancel the night because I booked it online. Online wouldn't cancel the night because they said it needed to be done with the clerk. Neither were helpful and I ended up paying for a night that I didn't use.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank SARAH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontDeskAssociate, General Manager at Super 8 LaGrande, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at our hotel. Guest who book online have many rate plans available to them. One of the more popular plans is the one that involves a minimum length of stay of 2 nights. If you booked this rate plan and did not notice the requirement, I am sorry you were unconvinced by the inability to cancel the second night. My front desk staff tries to accommodate all guest requests. Not all guest requests can be accommodated, such as yours.

I appreciate the feedback you have given our hotel regarding your experience. I use guest feedback to improve our customer service. If you have future lodging needs, please keep us in mind.

Sincerely,

Sherry Talbert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 362 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank BETH A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The pool was really nice - the rooms were nice and clean - just needed a little updating - but we will definately stay there again when we travel thru LaGrande

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank LORI B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontDeskAssociate, General Manager at Super 8 LaGrande, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Lori,

Thank you for taking the time to share the positive experience that you had at our hotel. I am pleased that you had a good time using our indoor pool and hot tub. I will pass on to our housekeeping staff the comment you made regarding the cleanliness of the guest room you occupied. It is nice to hear when we have done a good job. Our goal is to provide our guest with a clean comfortable room, at an affordable price and that our staff is friendly and helpful.

Thank you again for taking time out of your busy day to comment on your stay. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Sincerely,

Sherry Talbert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

When we arrived at the motel, we were greeted by 2 signs on the door stating "Check in time after 3 pm" and "No Early Check-In Available". We had already made reservations for 2 nights, so we waited around for a couple of hours until the posted check-in time. The room was nice sized, but the carpet was in bad need of cleaning and/or replacing. There was a sticky spot right next to one of the beds. The linens are in poor condition. The towels felt like sandpaper. One of the wash cloths had a 3"x3" hole in it and the bath mat was unravelling. We were gone all day and when we got back late in the afternoon, our room had not been cleaned. I asked the desk clerk about it and she said it must have been because we had the "Do Not Disturb" sign out (we did not) or our stuff must have been strewn all about the room ( they were not). She could give no other explanation for why it was not cleaned. ( I don't think she really cared ). The continental breakfast was acceptable...cereal, oatmeal, pastries, yogurt, waffles, coffee, juice and fruit.

We used to stay in Super 8s a lot when we travelled because they were usually a good value and nice rooms, but it seems like the quality has declined lately and you never know what kind of an experience you will have.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emerald94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontDeskAssociate, General Manager at Super 8 LaGrande, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at our hotel. I am sorry that you were unable to check in until after our posted check in time of 3pm. We do our best to accommodate early check in requests; however, there are times when this simply is not possible.

Second, I apologize for my housekeeping staff not cleaning your guest room. I am not aware of this being a problem in my housekeeping department. We do our best to clean an occupied room so that it is as clean as the day a guest checked in. This is not possible if a guest has a do not disturb sign on the door or if we have to move guests belongings to clean. You indicated that neither of these were the case. I will be following up with the housekeeping staff to try to determine what went wrong and make necessary changes so this does not happen again.

If you have plans to travel to our area in the future, we hope you will choose our hotel. We would like the opportunity to share with you the improvements we are making.

Sincerely,

Sherry Talbert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Wyndham traveler
VANCOUVER
1
Reviewed October 10, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FrontDeskAssociate, General Manager at Super 8 LaGrande, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Beds were hard. Hot tub was cold. It would of been better not arrive and counter person not right out side the front door smoking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank KATHRYN O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontDeskAssociate, General Manager at Super 8 LaGrande, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

To our valued guest:

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. The feedback that we receive from our guests is very important to us. I understand it is not pleasant to arrive at a hotel and find the desk associate outside of the lobby area smoking. This is an area that we are working on and based on your comment we need to find a alternate area for our desk associates to smoke. Again, thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Everything was fine, with no issues. Did not use any of the extra ammenities such as pool, free breakfast or workout room - did not rate them.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank JOEL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Grande
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Rama Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Sandman Inn
0.8 mi away
La Grande Travelodge
La Grande Travelodge
#6 of 8 in La Grande
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn La Grande
Rodeway Inn La Grande
#7 of 8 in La Grande
91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Motor Inn
Royal Motor Inn
#3 of 8 in La Grande
83 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Mays Place Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 LaGrande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 LaGrande

Address: 2407 E R Ave, La Grande, OR 97850-3948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > La Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in La Grande
Price Range: $102 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 LaGrande 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 LaGrande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Lagrande Hotel La Grande
Super 8 La Grande
Super Eight La Grande
La Grande Super 8
La Grande Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing