We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic charm, great food and beautiful lake!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Klamath Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake of the Woods Resort
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Klamath Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Having stayed at many lake resorts from coast to coast, we have found that Lake Of The Woods Resort is overall a fantastic experience and value.

They have a variety of cabins there ranging from the more contemporary style to the ones we love the best...those with old-fashioned charm.

From what we have experienced, their rental rates during "high season" are very fair considering you are staying amidst a bit of paradise surrounded by a variety of pine trees and a beautiful lake. Their "off season" prices are incredibly good...and they periodically extend offers and specials that are definitely appreciated by this couple during these tough economic times.

Yes, they ask that you sweep the cabin before leaving. From the many places we have stayed, this is not an uncommon practice and honestly, we feel it's a tiny price to pay in exchange for such a peaceful, relaxing experience.

We have dined at the restaurant on multiple occasions, not just when staying there, but also when we've just driven up for the day, etc... Whatever the time of day, whether breakfast, lunch or dinner, our meals have always been delicious.
That's not to say that other guests may always have the same experience, but after getting to know some of the management and staff over the years, we know, whole-heartedly, that IF we ever had a problem with anything, they would take care of things to our satisfaction.

They hold delicious BBQ's, build great bonfires, offer a variety of live music and even hold movie nights under the stars. All things wonderfully suited for friends, family and loved ones to relax and enjoy.

They have an old-fashioned General Store which is just plain cool. The best collection of old-time games, toys and candies we've seen in a long time. Of course they carry other things of necessity that you might forget to pack, as well as souvenirs.

The Marina Pizza Parlor offers a different menu than the restaurant and we've been happy with our food there as well. And free wi-fi is available here even though we didn't need it.

Whether you chose to hike or bike the gentle trails, to fish from the banks or from the middle of the lake on one of the rental boats available or to simply sit and "be", Lake Of The Woods, in our opinion, fits the bill each and every time.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wyzetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 216 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2010

We booked a cabin for two a year early for 4th of July. We thought a cabin would be fun. WRONG.

If the cabin (at about $200 a night) was 200 square feet, I would be very surprised. There is room for a double bed, two TINY nightstands. There is a SMALL table with two SMALL chairs. The "kitchen" was one TINY refrigerator, 3 SMALL burners and a little sink. We got one cup, one fork, one knife, one plate each and had to go ask for drinking glasses. Have I been able to convey just how little the cabin was?

The bathroom had a toilet, SMALL shower, NO sink, no towel racks or hooks. We had instantly hot water in the shower, but only for about 5 minutes, so shower fast people. And I mean FAST. And you get to brush your teeth in the kitchen sink.

Now this was a problem as we had brought food and clothing for three days. The room had NO closet or chest of drawers, so we had to live out of our suitcase. We had to store our coolers out on the TINY front porch. But the kitchen was so small that we couldn't really cook or even move in it and finally gave up and ate at the restaurant, adding another $80 to the travel cost.

They clean your cabin before you arrive, but after that, you're on your own. When you leave, you are expected to wash the dishes (of course), sweep the floor (really?) and put your towels into a bag (they can't even do THAT??). If you don't, expect another charge to your card of $50. Did I mention that we had to pay fully in advance?

The bed was hard and the sheets were rough but I did sleep pretty well. I didn't expect WiFi, but of course, there wasn't any.

We did find the staff friendly and very responsive, especially when someone parked their boat trailer in our cabin parking space. The restaurant and marina people were also very nice. And the lake is beautiful but is never going to be really warm as they are at 5700 feet in elevation.

Come for the day? Yes. Stay in the RV? Perhaps. But a cabin for two? NO WAY! BE WARNED!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FoodGroupie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowoffice, General Manager at Lake of the Woods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2011

I will acknowledge that we do offer 6 smaller cabins at very reasonable rates for the value minded guest. It's unfortuante that the experience related here is ranked so high. We are currently going through a very large renovation of the property and are under new ownership. Our main focus has been to improve the facilities through out the resort. I did notice that the guest did rank our staff highly for service and I appreciate that very much. I don't normally get to meet every guest who stays here and I am sure this person probably won't visit again due to their experience, I did get get to meet at least one of these persons when the trailer was parked and blocking their parking spot. It was just one more item to add to his list of dislikes and even though it was not our fault that another guest had parked in the wrong place, I appologized and tried to get the trailer moved for him.
I agree with the guest that they had a poor experience here and that is unfortunate because 1000's of other people come here every year and have a truly great experience. In this instance we failed to meet their expectation for the value of the cabin they rented. Our rustic resort may not be for everyone, we try to offer a unique experience and something different at our pristine lake, we now have two swim beaches with all new pea gravel so it's easier on the feet and at our actuall elevation of 4985 feet the water is brisk in the early summer and warmer low to mid 70's by mid July.
20 of our 28 cabins feature on demand water heaters so you never run out of hot water. The review makes note of that and true about our smallest and least expensive cabin. I believe from the reservation information I reviewed that cabin was our last availble cabin for our most popular week of the entire year. The Marina is our Wifi Hot spot and I greet many people there every morning who sit on the patio and sip their coffee while checking e-mail, it's one of the best views on the property.
All we ask when a guest checks out is that they leave the cabin in approximately the same condition as when they check in. Our note in the cabin say's
In an effort to help control costs please wash your dishes and sweep the floor. In addition we ask the guests to place their dirty towels in a laundry bag. We don't expect the guest to actually clean the cabin. We have a very nice property and we try our very best to keep things clean for everyone.
Thank you
George Gregory
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We went for a family reunion with family & friends. It is way over priced and not maintained properly. They need to have people clean the cabins. They specify that you must clean the cabins or be charged $50.00 +. We left the cabin in better condition than when we got there. No Wi- Fi.
The food at the restaurant was awful & cold & slow. The restaurant staff was not very friendly. The store was overpriced. The cabins are way overpriced even with the discounts. The cabin is not like the pictures they posted. They took the pictures in positions that make it seem bigger. That definitely fooled us. Too many rules!
I can say I LOVED the LAKE!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FamilyPerson_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowoffice, Owner at Lake of the Woods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2010

The Resort Makes every effort to satisfy our guests comfort, safety, and meet their expectations. It is unfortunate if a guest does not bring something to our attention while they are here on the property. If in fact they had a bad experience or meal here we would have made every effort to rectify the situation. As for our pricing and quality, we have actually reduced many of our prices in response to the economy. During the month of June we offer rates that are less than half the price of our high season rates. We only ask that guests sweep the floor and do their dishes when they check out of a cabin. It is an expectation of most resorts that when guests check out they leave the accommodations, cabins in our case in a reasonably clean state. The resort has a small placard in each cabin that explains this policy.
Thank you
Lake of the Woods Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

We drove up from Ashland, which is only an hour, but we felt like we were a hundred miles from home. The setting of the pristine natural lake surrounded by pine forest is exquisite.

The price is great. We got our cabin for half price (a week out of season!), but at full price (200 bucks) it would be less than you'd expect to pay for a nice motel room in a similar setting, and the little cabin was much more comfy than a motel room.

The newer cabins like the one we stayed at are sort of 'faux rustic' , but reasonably attractive and very comfortable and clean. Ours had a sleeping loft (comfy, but not for claustrophobes), a sitting area and well stocked kitchen, a bathroom, a private bedroom and a nice porch with Adirondack chairs facing the lake. It would hold as many as eight people, but I'd recommend it for one or two couples.

The food is better than you expect at a resort--nothing you'd write home about if you had it in SF or Seattle, but very palatable and a good selection. Some of the younger staff is a little green, but all were friendly and helpful.

Very pet friendly, both in policy and in setting. Our dog's already nagging us to go back.

There's lots to do--you can fish, rent all sorts of motorized and hand-propelled craft, play horseshoes, and all that usual lake stuff. We mostly just walked around the lake, threw sticks into the water for the dog, slept, ate, and relaxed. I swam once, and it wasn't quite like bathwater but it didn't make your teeth chatter either. Very clean water and no mud around the edge.

Great sunrises and sunsets. There are private homes on the other side of the lake but they're nearly invisible from the resort, so it feels very unspoiled and natural.

If you haven't been here, you owe it to yourself.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaysOffAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

It advertises itself as old fashion getaway with vintage magazines in the cabins and board games you can use. The cabins are very basic and the bathrooms are the extremely small.

It is staffed mostly by teenagers and you may have to go searching to find someone.

The first night the restaurant was all booked with reservations that were made the day before. That was sort of problematic since it’s the only restaurant option for miles.

They claim that the water temperature is “like bathwater” but at that elevation I doubt that it ever is. All of the beaches are rocky so bring your water shoes if you have them.

Stayed: August 2007
3  Thank Cole_Valley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2007

Nice place, very relaxing. Cabin was a little pricey with little "resort" amenities. Peaceful surroundings nonetheless. The older staff were very nice, very helpful. The younger staff were not as nice or helpful. Sometimes rude. When all was said and done, nice couple of days here even though we didn't catch fish!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CrazyinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2007

This is about the Lake of the Woods Resort in Oregon off the 140. We were looking for an ideal 3 days in the woods with peace and quiet, we were told there would be some resort maintenance, it turned into a nightmare of bulldozers, fallen trees, land movers, and told to get out of the cabin so we won't be harmed in case a tree fell on the cabin. Owners would not return our calls, and ignored our complaints. We left in a hurry the 2nd day and will never go back. What a waste of time and money.

7  Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowoffice, General Manager at Lake of the Woods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2011

This was during the previous owners operation and we would like it removed, We took over operations in May of 2008 and have embarked on a full property restoration since then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Klamath Falls hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Klamath Falls
0.8 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Klamath Falls
2.5 mi away
Olympic Inn
Olympic Inn
#1 of 22 in Klamath Falls
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Klamath Falls
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#15 of 22 in Klamath Falls
190 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cerulean Hotel
Cerulean Hotel
#13 of 22 in Klamath Falls
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake of the Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake of the Woods Resort

Address: 950 Harriman, 14700 West HWY 140, Klamath Falls, OR 97601-8518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Klamath Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Klamath Falls
Price Range: $99 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Oregon's Playground and Vacationland!The perfect getaway! This high mountain historic lake resort sits beside one of the clearest natural lakes found in the Southern Oregon Cascades. One can enjoy cabin life, comfort food, the wonders of nature, and a variety of outdoor recreational activities... summer fun abounds! The Resort offers 2 Restaurants, A General Store and a full service Marina. Add in our spectacular lakeside location and you have the perfect place for a family vacation, retreat or reunion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Of The Woods Hotel Klamath Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing