We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful lake, very basic accommodations”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Klamath Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake of the Woods Resort
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Klamath Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake, very basic accommodations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Nice clean cabins, but very small and very basic accommodations. I would have liked to have a wash basin and a mirror for my morning shave. Not much to ask for $150 per night. Telling the customers to clean the cabin or pay an extra $50 for clean up is silly.

Too bad, the lake and the forest are beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    53
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
102
52
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redington Shores, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

"If you decide to leave early, you will still be charged.". That was the first thing the girl at the check-in desk told us when we arrived for our mandatory two night stay in Cabin 6 at Lake of the Woods Resort. Or in other words, "When you see what your cabin looks like and decide to run screaming from the Resort, we will still charge you". That should have been our first clue....

I would like to suggest that the pillows on the beds be replaced once a year rather than, never???Absolutely awful. Also, while the size of the bathroom was shocking, even worse was the constant dripping of the shower and the leaking toilet that left water on the floor and the smell of mildew in the air. The windows are all practically painted shut and let little or no air into the cabin. I would also in no way consider this cabin clean. The floor was dirty and there were cobwebs everywhere.

All this for over $150.00 per night?? We just stayed at the Westin Hotel in Denver (a four star hotel by the way), for $109.00 per night.

Luckily, there are other things that are good about this Resort, but the cabins are not one of them. Save your money and buy a tent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebekkahperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowoffice, Owner at Lake of the Woods Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
It is unfortunate that the guest who wrote this review did not even take the opportunity to come talk with a manager or one of the owners.
Cabin #6 is one of the oldest cabins at the resort not to mention the Lake. The resort has 8 of the vintage cabins and many very happy people who like the simple rustic nature of the cabins. If the rustic experience was not to their liking then I suggest that they should have chosen one of our newer cabins. The resort has everything from the most basic accommodation,to very nice new cabins that were built in the last 2 years. Cabin # 6 was built in the 1920's and was remodeled in 1999. Cabin 6 is slated to be remodeled again in the near future.
If the guest had brought any of these concerns to our management team during the stay , we would have made every effort to make them more comfortable, or switch them to a different cabin if one was available. Our 34 cabins are all very different in price and the type of accommodation. It is not our policy to refuse to refund to a guest that is not happy with the cabin they rented. We make every effort to meet peoples expectations and in this case it seems we did not. We are in the hospitality business and do our best to provide a good experience to our visitors. We are sorry if we failed to do so in this case. I suggest taking a look at your cabin at check in time and speaking to a manager or one of the owners if you are not happy with your selection for lodging. We really do try to make every guest happy. Thank you
Lake of the Woods Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, OR
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

The cabins and resort have a very 60's family getaway feel. I took my kids up to the resort and we had such a great time! They had a movie night, live music, a bonfire, a bbq at night, a great little store, and lots of water activities. If you are looking for a relaxing weekend getaway, this is a wonderful place. The cabin was a 'park model' with loft. My kids loved the loft area, though we had to be cautious because the railing was only about 24" tall with no barrier and could have been easy for them to fall over it to the level below. Use caution if you have small children. The kitchen was well stocked and the entire cabin was very clean. It was a bit expensive for the size however I knew that going into the reservation and chose to rent it anyway....plus it's all disclosed on the website what you get and they even offer virtual tours so you can see exactly what you are renting.

Room Tip: Be aware of the campground. Cabins on that end tend to be louder as the campers stay up a bit later...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonovrmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed in Cabin 14, a newer 1 bed/loft with a great view of the lake from the deck (also one of their designated pet friendly cabins). Equipped with a kitchen (full size range, refrigerator and microwave), living room, flat screen/dvd & sound system. The unit has ample kitchen equipment for people (like us) who actually like to cook. Can't comment on the electronics as we never turned them on. We were looking for a quiet, romantic weekend away from the noise and bustle, and a tv just doesn't fit into that. There IS a selection of board games, which is a lot more fun, and really fits in better with the whole setting. At first glance, everything looked outstanding - the furnishings were new, the cabin was well appointed, and the setting was gorgeous. There is a large deck that wraps around 2 sides of the cabin with a picnic table on the side and two chairs facing the water. Next to the cabin, there is a fire ring and 4 chairs along with a park-style hibachi. Very nice.

First the good: The setting is wonderful. The grounds are meticulously maintained - they even run a water truck over the dirt roads in the afternoon to keep the dust down. There is are two restaurants on the property, if you don't feel like cooking. A seated restaurant serving three meals a day, and a pizza parlor at the marina. We had breakfast at the restaurant, and it was reasonably priced, tasty and satisfying. There is a full bar where you can enjoy your favorite adult beverage indoors or out on the deck (great place to enjoy the sunset. Plenty of activities, particularly if you enjoy the water - swimming, boating and fishing on the lake, and lovely hiking around the lake. Coming from the Lake Tahoe area, we found their rental rates VERY reasonable.

We stayed in mid-September, and the General Store was closed for the season, so I can't comment on that. The shop in the marina had all the usual necessities, and while it wasn't grocery store cheap, they weren't gouging either. Obviously, they're pricing for families, and they are very fair, considering there really aren't any facilities nearby.

Then comes the not so good....

There are a bunch of what I call irritation level things.

The owners work very hard to create a homey-lived in feel for the cabins. Clearly, lots of care has gone into decorating the cabins - my husband and I got a good chuckle of the framed photo of the guy fishing on the nightstand - we kept giving him different family names during the 4 day weekend. The downside is that it's cramped. EVERY surface (table/countertop) has cute things sitting on it. Where to put the suitcase? Excellent question - there's about 18 inches of walking space around the bed, so the knick-nacks went into one of the cupboards so we could keep the suitcase on the only shelf.

The bed was TERRIBLE. The springs were loud, and you could feel them snapping around every time you moved. We are also tent campers, so our expectations were not astronomical. I can honestly say that our air mattress would have been far more comfortable.

There's a table and chairs in the kitchen for dining - which is fortunate, as in the fall it can get quite cool in the evening, along with a significant bug population (hey - it's the woods! Get over it!). It's one of those rough log table and chairs - fits the decor nicely. Unfortunately, it doesn't actually fit sizewise in the cabin. There isn't enough space between the chairs and the refrigerator to get the chairs out to sit. There's a full size kitchen trash can (nice idea) that sits between the chairs and the fridge (bad idea, but there's no other place for it), which has to go somewhere else if you need to seat more than 2 people at the table. These things are irritations, but not a reason to go to management and complain.

On Sunday, it got quite cold and rainy. Hey, it's September, and it's Oregon weather happens. No worries, as they advertise on their website, this unit has a furnace. Well, maybe it has a furnace... there is a thermostat, but the furnace has never actually been hooked up. There is an electric fireplace that works as a space heater, but certainly not sufficient to heat the cabin (or the living room, for that matter) . There were 2 coil type space heaters in the closet, presumably to address this, but because of all of the stuff in the cabin and the short length of the cords, there was no place they could be operated without creating a fire hazard. Using the 'fireplace' we were able to get the temperature up to a cozy 60 degrees. That extended a little beyond irritation.

It's also worth mentioning that we had a conversation with the couple staying in cabin 15, and they called it the cabin from hell - no heat, no stove, hot water was hit and miss.

We liked the bar - with the cool evenings, it was nice to be able to order a Manhattan, and sit on the deck, watching the sun set. First night, great! Second night, I fished a half dozen fruit flies out of my drink, and four out of my husband's (no, I'm not exaggerating). My guess is the cherries got left out overnight uncovered. Yeah, I know it's camping, but it's also professional food service, and in a building, not a tent. Went back in to show the bartender, but he was MIA, so we just went back to our cabin.

It seems like the owners are trying hard, but can't keep up with maintenance, and aren't willing to take cabins out of service when they need repair.

The REAL downer of our trip was the fact that a new cabin was being installed next door during our stay. I understand that work has to be done, but starting at 7:30 in the morning? Literally under our bedroom window - three guys yakking about their Friday night under your bedroom window tends to spoil a quiet, romantic Saturday morning. Friday and Mondays - I get that - those are workdays. But paying to be forced awake on the weekend by workman and power tools before their own posted quiet time is over? If we'd been warned when booking or at check in that we would be dealing with that, we could have made other arrangements. As it was, when my husband spoke with the owner/manager, he did apologize and offer to refund one night's stay, but that hasn't yet appeared, and seemed to have slipped his mind.

On balance, had we been paying the full summer rate of $299/night, I'd be really upset. At winter rates, it still not great, but not hugely awful. Given the little problems, we'll probably bring our tent next year, and camp at the state park next door.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rremde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salem
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

This was perfect for my family. A small camp ground with everything. We rented most of the boats and did a lot of swimming. The lake is so clear and beautiful. I wish it wasn't so far away. I'd go there every weekend if I could. I also want to add that the staff was so super nice despite how busy they all were.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mindy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We have stayed in cabin 13 twice. It is just amazing. A new modu
Ar unit with great furnishings, sound system, flat screen. It has a great wrap aroumd deck with excellent views. The management is superb. Great fishing and kayaking. A really great inexpensive getaway.

Room Tip: Cabin 13 is in a great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jw550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

Having stayed at many lake resorts from coast to coast, we have found that Lake Of The Woods Resort is overall a fantastic experience and value.

They have a variety of cabins there ranging from the more contemporary style to the ones we love the best...those with old-fashioned charm.

From what we have experienced, their rental rates during "high season" are very fair considering you are staying amidst a bit of paradise surrounded by a variety of pine trees and a beautiful lake. Their "off season" prices are incredibly good...and they periodically extend offers and specials that are definitely appreciated by this couple during these tough economic times.

Yes, they ask that you sweep the cabin before leaving. From the many places we have stayed, this is not an uncommon practice and honestly, we feel it's a tiny price to pay in exchange for such a peaceful, relaxing experience.

We have dined at the restaurant on multiple occasions, not just when staying there, but also when we've just driven up for the day, etc... Whatever the time of day, whether breakfast, lunch or dinner, our meals have always been delicious.
That's not to say that other guests may always have the same experience, but after getting to know some of the management and staff over the years, we know, whole-heartedly, that IF we ever had a problem with anything, they would take care of things to our satisfaction.

They hold delicious BBQ's, build great bonfires, offer a variety of live music and even hold movie nights under the stars. All things wonderfully suited for friends, family and loved ones to relax and enjoy.

They have an old-fashioned General Store which is just plain cool. The best collection of old-time games, toys and candies we've seen in a long time. Of course they carry other things of necessity that you might forget to pack, as well as souvenirs.

The Marina Pizza Parlor offers a different menu than the restaurant and we've been happy with our food there as well. And free wi-fi is available here even though we didn't need it.

Whether you chose to hike or bike the gentle trails, to fish from the banks or from the middle of the lake on one of the rental boats available or to simply sit and "be", Lake Of The Woods, in our opinion, fits the bill each and every time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wyzetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klamath Falls
26.0 mi away
Olympic Inn
Olympic Inn
#1 of 22 in Klamath Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
25.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Klamath Falls
23.3 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Klamath Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Maverick Motel
Maverick Motel
#6 of 22 in Klamath Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
27.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 22 in Klamath Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
21.9 mi away
Green Springs Inn
Green Springs Inn
#7 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake of the Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake of the Woods Resort

Property: Lake of the Woods Resort
Address: 950 Harriman, 14700 West HWY 140, Klamath Falls, OR 97601-8518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Klamath Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Klamath Falls
#7 Romantic Hotel in Klamath Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Oregon's Playground and Vacationland!The perfect getaway! This high mountain historic lake resort sits beside one of the clearest natural lakes found in the Southern Oregon Cascades. One can enjoy cabin life, comfort food, the wonders of nature, and a variety of outdoor recreational activities... summer fun abounds! The Resort offers 2 Restaurants, A General Store and a full service Marina. Add in our spectacular lakeside location and you have the perfect place for a family vacation, retreat or reunion ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Of The Woods Hotel Klamath Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing