We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed my stay and the attention to the needs of my dog”
Review of Crystalwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crystalwood Lodge
Hansville, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I enjoyed my stay and the attention to the needs of my dog”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

If you are a traveler who counts their dog as part of the family then the Crystalwood Lodge is a great place to stay. The beauty of the area and the proximity to Crater Lake make this a wonderful destination for those wanting to explore the area. You will need to bring your own food for your stay and enjoy the fully equiped commercial kitchen to prepare meals. I suggest stopping in a larger city to pick up grocery supplies before you reach the lodge as there are no supermarkets nearby. There are restaurants in the area but sitting on the deck with a glass of wine and a simple dinner is more enjoyable. This is a lodge not a hotel and the rustic interior is appropriate to the area and your dog will love it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris8480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    6
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
9
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bryan, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Twenty members of our family rented Crystalwood Lodge for five nights and were very pleased with the facility. Ranging in age from 2 to 78, everyone found something fun to do during our stay, whether it was visiting on the decks, canoeing in the clear stream, birding, hiking, reading in the comfortable chairs in the living room, cooking in the great kitchen, or playing hide and seek! The house was very clean, and while the rooms were small, the beds were very comfortable. We really enjoyed visiting with Liz and two of her sled dogs, and hearing her stories of the Iditarod. Liz was helpful in suggesting nearby trails to hike and giving advice on Crater Lake. It was a very enjoyable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle5408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I was taking a road trip with my 10 year old dog, Cleo, through Southern and Central Oregon last week when I stumbled upon Crystalwood Lodge. Liz was very welcoming and accommodating with my last minute call to see if she had any rooms available for that evening.

The lodge is in a wonderful location--so peaceful and serene. Liz suggested several hikes for Cleo and myself as well as a visit to the nearby Fort Klamath museum. We had so much fun we ended up staying an extra night. Plus there is so much to do right there at the lodge--canoeing, hiking, visiting with other guests, and hearing Liz's amazing stories of training for and sledding in the 1150 mile Iditarod race across Alaska.

This lodge is not only a dream vacation for people, but a paradise for dogs. And Liz has thought of everything for the people guests as well as the dog guests. I will be back again and hopefully with more time to spend exploring this beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DosDocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed here for a family reunion. It was lovely, clean and super relaxing. We will be staying again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Humkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Our ladies hiking group voted on visiting Crater Lake. I found Liz and her accommodations on line. What a splendid surprise to find that our dogs were all welcome and the place was way more than anyone expected! It was like being at an out door amusement park! From watching Liz prepare the teams food, watching the team race across the property to actually feeding them meals. Having Brick the old loving sled dog walk with you on the property was my favorite. He just brought a peaceful Balto feeling to the place. He had stories to tell! The house is great with it's many rooms to chose from. Plus the kitchen is fun to cook and make gourmet meals in for the whole family. A family reunion is in order! That's when I plan to go again, there are enough rooms for my entire family! I am hoping that we will have the honor of Liz at dinner again and all those great stories about her adventures in Alaska when doing the Iditerod.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloedog123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Great to see the 11 late teen/early twenty somethings have a blast out in the country with fishing, canoeing, hiking, biking, and Crater Lake. Kids loved the sled dogs and hanging with them. The kitchen was large and useful for feeding the 13 of us. The entire week was peaceful and a joy. Highly recommend for large families or gatherings that want to be active outdoors.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bmoyer05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

My family rented the entire Crystalwood Lodge for a Labor-day weekend reunion, and it was the most memorable and relaxing vacation we've ever had! The lodge met all our needs - we used all 7 bedrooms and baths for 15 people. The rooms are charming - each named for a stop on the Iditarod Trail (the owner and her team of dogs participated and finished in the Iditarod in 2008). The rooms were clean and well appointed. The kitchen was magnificent for cooking all our meals - large, well equipped and stocked (even spices for guest use!) and with a huge walk-in cooler for all our food. Coffee was provided as well. The grounds are beautiful, and there were canoes available for a reasonable fee to go out onto the marshlands and lake. We enjoyed a float trip, and were treated to a family of raccoons fishing along the water's edge. Perhaps the greatest treat was watching the owner, Liz, and her team of sled dogs as they exercised in the mornings. She hooked the team up in their harnesses for a run, pulling Liz on her ATV, and off they went, tails wagging and with the excited yipping of 18 enthused sled dogs. We were given an interesting account of their Iditarod race and our grandkids LOVED petting the dogs. Crystawood Lodge is pet-friendly and there are nice touches for our four-legged friends (pet bathing area, doggy biscuits, clean towels, etc.). We did not bring our dog but next time we will. The lodge is very clean and there is no doggy smell or shedding hair to contend with. However, I would caution anyone with a true dog allergy that this might be a problem for you. Crystalwood Lodge is very close to Crater Lake, but we didn't go because we are locals and go there frequently. Instead, we hiked around the area and took a two mile hike up to Puck Lake. There are at least 5 miles of hiking trails right around the lodge itself. Our reunion was such a hit that we are determined to go back every year with the whole family. Liz made us feel so welcomed, and I can't say enough about her and her "fantabulous" lodge.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandmaWen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Klamath Falls hotels
30.2 mi away
Olympic Inn
Olympic Inn
#1 of 22 in Klamath Falls
875 reviews
27.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Klamath Falls
30.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Klamath Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.7 mi away
Maverick Motel
Maverick Motel
#10 of 22 in Klamath Falls
739 reviews
26.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Klamath Falls
30.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#16 of 22 in Klamath Falls
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystalwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystalwood Lodge

Property: Crystalwood Lodge
Address: 38625 Westside Road, P.O. Box 1117, Klamath Falls, OR 97601
Location: United States > Oregon > Klamath Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Klamath Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside the south entrance to Crater Lake National Park, Crystalwood Lodge provides year-round family friendly and pet-welcoming accommodations for the perfect in-the-mountains vacation. We offer both Lodge exclusive vacation rentals for your family reunion, retreat, workshop or event, or by the room-night rentals based on availability.Our non-smoking Lodge features comfortable rooms, free WiFi, fully outfitted commercial kitchen for guest use, healthy fresh mountain air, easy access and breathtaking views. Local recreation includes world class birding, fly-fishing, canoeing, hiking; biking and trail riding, dog sledding, snowshoeing, X-C skiing, snowmobiling, stunning fall colors, and more...then there's the unique grandeur of nearby Crater Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Crystalwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing