We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at the Running Y”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Running Y Ranch Resort
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Klamath Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at the Running Y”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Driving home from Spokane, our goal was to spend the first night of our road trip in Klamath Falls. I came across the Running Y on my Tripadvisor App, and my husband insisted we stay there! We had been through Klamath Falls a few times in the past with kids in tow, and this was our opportunity to stay without the kids. I booked our room over the phone (imagine that!) and the gentlemen was so kind. When I explained we were about an hour out, he said very kindly that our room would be ready and waiting for us. After 10 hours in the car, this is exactly what we wanted to hear. We arrived, were warmly greeted by hotel staff, and checked in quickly and efficiently. Lucky for us, our room was on the ground floor, facing the golf course. It was a huge room, beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean. We chose to have dinner in the restaurant (no more driving for us that night!) and ordered burgers and wine. Those burgers were cooked to perfection, mine without the bun just as I had requested, and with a side of seasonal vegetables (since I don't eat fries). WIne choices were quite nice, and we had a leisurely dinner. After dinner, we asked about walking trails, as we thought a nice morning walk would be great before getting back in the car for the next (long) leg of our journey. The kind receptionist showed us the trails map, explained the different alternatives and was happy to answer all our questions. The next morning, we arose early, grabbed some coffee at the restaurant bar, and took off on the walking path. A great walk, a bit hilly which was wonderful, air so clean and fresh. We were so happy we chose to stay at the Running Y and highly recommend. We would definitely stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick F, General Manager at Running Y Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear JenA, Thank you for taking the time to follow up with us regarding your stay at Running Y Ranch. It is a pleasure to hear after your long drive to the resort, that you were met with a happy smile, comfortable room and warm food. The elevation here at 4300 feet leaves us with low humidity and clean clear air to enjoy a spirited walk or round of golf.
We look forward to your next visit to continue your relaxing ways for all our amenities and services.
Best Regards, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    192
    66
    37
    18
See reviews for
188
256
13
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
SAN FRANCISCO
Level Contributor
71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The running y has beautiful ground and lodge. Located at the center of a community of homes and golf course. Great place for vacation with family, good base to crater lake and other parks. Restaurant is great for dinner. Pool is nice too.

Room is average, nothing to write home about. Bathroom is old and needs updating. The room carpet smells because they allow pets. AC is very noisy.... But otherwise good clean stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCTAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick F, General Manager at Running Y Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear MCTAI,
Thank you for your warm comments about our beautiful resort at Running Y Ranch. You are right that we are a good place to bring families to enjoy all the services, amenities and proximity to Crater Lake National Park.
I apologize that our rooms did not meet your expectations during your stay. We do have plans later this year to upgrade the AC units and features in the guest rooms.
We hope you will return again to enjoy the resort and surrounding property in the near future.

Best regards, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

So I have never written a review and such was our recent 2 night stay over the Labor Day weekend my wife and I had to let everyone who may be considering this place what we thought.
So we arrived from a long drive out of the Bay Area.
These are the things that went wrong.
The rooms air conditioning wasn't working effectively.
The TV wouldn't work
The telephone didn't have a dial tone
We couldn't get into our room at one point due to the key not working.
You may be reading this and asking why did you give it 5 stars and exceptional.

Because the staff were absolutely exceptional in the most efficient and kind way possible, they fixed everything.
They moved us to a better room and nothing was too much trouble.

Ron was an amazing staff member who any company would be delighted to have as their face of customer service.
He was amazing.
George the lady on the front desk was also so kind and helpful.

The location, grounds, food are all wonderful.
The New York strip was so enjoyable I had it both nights something I've never done in 50 years of eating in restaurants.
Their chef certainly knows how to cook steak both nights were done to perfection.

We took our dog (yes, it's a dog friendly hotel).

We've stayed in many places around the world and not many have staff members as great as those that work here.

We'll be going back as soon as possible to either just hike, fish or golf. Or maybe just relax.

Thank you all for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hammers1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick F, General Manager at Running Y Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Hammers, Thank you for your constructive comments regarding your stay at Running Y Ranch. We apologize for the condition of your first room in the Lodge, but truly appreciate your warm, positive comments regarding our staff. We empower our staff to do everything they can to make the guest experience better.
The consistency of the rooms and food are our daily goals. We are thrilled that our staff exceeded your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another great stay.

Best regards, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I live at the Running Y Ranch year round. I have the chance to experience the beautiful property daily. Travelers can utilize the same amenities as I do. First, the restaurant is one of the best in the area. The menu choices are limited but everything on the menu is great. The salmon salad and salmon main course are my favorites. There is a beautiful deck to eat on that overlooks the golf course and the mountain valley and lake. The spa area is also great. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. I like the various massages. The pool is a good size for laps and is always kept very clean. There are also many walking and biking trails everywhere and views are spectacular. The staff always try to provide the best service possible. We are lucky to be able to enjoy this property year round.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonTravelFix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick F, General Manager at Running Y Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Oregon TravelFix,
Thank you very much for pointing out your positive experience of the resort’s beautiful setting and amenities.
Our new chef and his menu is enticing both guests and homeowners to return often. We appreciate your business, and welcome you back anytime.
Best Regards, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
381 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a dog friendly hotel but unlike most motels that allow pets, this is like a 5 star resort with a grand entry stone floor, wood everywhere and lots of sitting areas. The staff even welcomes the pets with dog treats.

The rooms are very well appointed, so clean and fresh. The beds are super comfortable and you get a choice of pillows.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiabloDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick F, General Manager at Running Y Ranch Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Diablo Deb, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Running Y Ranch. We are delighted that you and your pet received such a warm welcome at check in.
Our recent renovation and improved bedding is nice comfort too. We were glad you enjoyed that cozy room experience.
We look forward to your return.

Best Regards, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Pine, Oregon
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Since I stay at this property often for business, I have had the opportunity to stay in everything from a standard studio room to junior suite, full suite and 2-3 bedroom chalet. In each case I received great service and accommodations. As an outdoor enthusiast, I really enjoy hiking, bird-watching around the property. I also take advantage of the golf course, pool and ice rink (in the winter), as often as possible. I couldn't be happier with the Running Y Lodge!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick F, General Manager at Running Y Ranch Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Richard, Thank you for your detailed observations regarding your stay with us for your business trips to Running Y Ranch. We are pleased that the level of service and diverse room types exceeded your expectations. We sincerely look forward to your frequent returns where you can enjoy all the resort amenities and property exploration.
Best regards, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We initially booked a two bedroom vacation home but upon arrival, the home was still being vacated by the previous guests. When asked if there was another option as we were bagged from driving, we were offered a 3 bedroom home for the same price. To say it was lovely is an understatement. Three bedrooms, 3 1/2 baths - and all very beautifully furnished. The kitchen came complete with everything you needed to cook a meal and then some. Each bathroom had a full compliment of towels, toilet paper (they start you off with two rolls in each bathroom), starter soap, shampoo and cream (travel size). Each bedroom had a TV including a flat screen in the living room all the cable channels you want. While we only used two of the bedrooms, both beds were extremely comfortable. The home also had a back deck that opened up to a quiet road (within the subdivision) and trees beyond - very quiet both day and night. The deck also had the added feature of a barbeque grill if cooking outdoors is your thing. The property itself is sprawling - golf course, nice restaurant in the main Lodge (which is Holiday Inn owned), sports center with spa facilities, workout room, swimming pool and bike rentals. There is a small market on site to pick up essentials, but if you need additional items, it's about a 20 minute drive into Klamath Falls (not too much in town) to get to a grocery store (Safeway). All in all, a great stay and I would highly recommend this location. We used it as a base point for trips to Crater Lake (approx. 45 mins away) and would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livetotravelToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick F, General Manager at Running Y Ranch Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Live to Travel,
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay at Running Y Ranch. We are pleased that you enjoyed our fully appointed Vacation Rental Home.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for another fun filled adventure at Running Y Ranch.
Best Regards, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Klamath Falls hotels
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Klamath Falls
8.0 mi away
Olympic Inn
Olympic Inn
#1 of 22 in Klamath Falls
867 reviews
5.2 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Klamath Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Klamath Falls
8.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 22 in Klamath Falls
140 reviews
7.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#16 of 22 in Klamath Falls
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Running Y Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Running Y Ranch Resort

Property: Running Y Ranch Resort
Address: 5500 Running y Rd, Klamath Falls, OR 97601-9153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Klamath Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Klamath Falls
#3 Family Hotel in Klamath Falls
#4 Romantic Hotel in Klamath Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Running Y Ranch Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Running Y Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Running y Ranch Hotel Klamath Falls
Running y Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing