We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Room Literally Stank”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Northwind Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in King City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pocatello, Idaho
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Room Literally Stank”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The carpet was soaked and the room had a horrible stench. Garbage from previous guests was still on the floor. The staff was unwilling to do anything to anything to offset the experience. All they could say is that they were sorry. I have stayed in backwater Hotels in Southern Brazil that smelled better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 5eagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthwindInn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Northwind Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your loyalty to the Best Western brand and your Platinum status.

As can be seen from all other positive reviews on Trip Advisor & otherwise, this is not how we operate & serve the needs of our valued guests. Best Western Plus Northwind Inn & Suites prides itself in the service we extend to our guests & product we offer. Unfortunately, in your instance, we were not advised of all these issues upon check in which was earlier in the evening or else we would have immediately moved you to another room. Your reservation was upgraded to a spa suite in recognition of your Platinum status. We do inspect our rooms especially all our arrival rooms for the day. Despite all the proactive measures, there are times, where we may need to address the situation if the guests expectations are not met. However we have to know them first in a timely manner.

At check out, we have fewer options unless we were given the opportunity to correct the problem first hand. Regardless, we will be willing to accomodate you next time you are in the area and extend you a room with our compliments for this not so desirable stay you had with us.

Sincerely,


Prashant Gupta, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    231
    70
    11
    21
See reviews for
364
158
48
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The staff was knowledgeable and helpful. The housekeeping was wonderful! My room was clean and looked great every day. The breakfast was pretty good - I usually don't like hotel eggs, but these were tasty. Even my picky dad was satisfied!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stephawe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthwindInn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Northwind Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you & your Dad for this recent visit to BW Plus Northwind Inn & Suites and such wonderful feedback.

We take utmost pride in our hotel & services we offer. we hope to see you again when you are back in the area.

Sincerely,


Prashant Gupta, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EUGENE
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Nice place to stay, good location, well kept facility. Rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast was standard. Comfortable bed. Pillows were way too thick and hard. No choices for size or density. All were the same size.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

OK place to stay ...convenient ; stayed 2 nights
Breakfast was ok - nothing special , but the hot food was nasty.

However, Friday morning when we went down for breakfast at 8:30; the General Manager decides to have a staff meeting right there in the breakfast room... not very professional and we felt so bad for the staff .... this was very inapproprate especially when people ... and it was a full room... are trying to have a decent quiet breakfast
Not sure why he couldnt have his staff meeting in the meeting rooms or wait until the breakfast rush was over.... I think he needs more training in etiquette than the staff does...
The staff in the breakfast area were very nice to us and always making sure there was enough breakfast stuff available.

Also, as I was checking out, I specifically went to the front desk to check out and hand over the room keys... the girl was not that friendly .... and when I asked her for the receipt for the hotel stay ... she said it has been emailed to me ... well... im still waiting for the receipt ... and the reason why I asked for the receipt was sometimes they ask for it at the border for confirmation of our stay...

This is the same girl that checked us in on Thursday ... still not friendly; never mentioned to us about any of the amendities when checking in

The manager in the evening ... was the nicest person during our stay ... our TV was not working in the evening ... and when we called ... he came right away to see what the issue was ...and fixed the problem

Wouldnt recommend the hot tub ... was more like a luke warm tub ... and the sitting area in the tub was cement...OUCH!!!

It was an overall ok stay... first time at the Best Western ...
Would have preferred a 24hr spa area and the 2 hour appie hour that we normally get at another establishment ... but oh well...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank spicymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthwindInn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Northwind Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us & your feedback.

As was apprised to you during our brief interaction in the breakfast room, we opted to conduct this informal meeting to observe & experience breakfast during the hour of operation. We were all taken by surprise when you intervened & expressed your immense displeasure as you left. Had you done that earlier, we most certianly would have left to not cause any displeasure even though we conducted ourselves in the most professional manner contrary to your assessment. Guests who were still there in the breakfast room expressed displeasure about your comments and opinion. They appreciated our intent & we were able to accomplish our objective that morning.

We always seek signatures on the guest folio's unless it is a pre-paid reservation. I will be happy to email the receipt if you could identify the last name associated with this stay. I have sent you another message through this portal.

Sorry, your first Best Western stay was not as pleasant, however I seek your return to serve you better next time.


Sincerely,


Prashant Gupta, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
396 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

we had very nice check in and support from front desk. breakfast is OK, nothing special. Unfortunately they ran out of Earl Grey tea and plain instant oatmeal during our 3 day stay over weekend, so no restocking. also there was a cloying, intense smell of room freshener in the 3rd floor hallway - sickening.
location is good for doing things around Portland and there is large Fred Meyer close by and other convenient stores and bowling!
nice sized pool for laps, but the hot tub surface is like sandpaper, don't use unless you want to scrap your skin/swimming suit. when kids in pool area, very loud. would recommend having adult only swim time. also, they don't open until 9 am, not convenient for those of use who like to exercise in the morning (away from kids)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Suz1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthwindInn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Northwind Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at the BW Plus Northwind.

We value your business and feedback; we will be re-surfacing/grinding our seating bench in the spa very soon. Your feedback has most certainly placed this on my top list of things to do. As for the fragrance, we deploy the best company here in Portland to change our fragrances every month. Possibly, this just got changed out and was too intense for you. We often get compliments about how good the entire property smells in all public areas.

Looking forward to having you stay again when you are in this neighborhood.

Sincerely,

Prashant Gupta, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We alway choose this hotel when we have to stay in Portland. The beds are very comfortable, the room is very clean, and they provide a full tasty breakfast. Their location is central to many of Portland locations frequented by business travelers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a nice hotel that we will probably stay in again. The rooms are nice, up-to-date and comfortable. There is a mini bar area in the rooms with micro, fridge and coffee maker. Breakfast is the typical hotel breakfast-nothing to rave about but free.

The hotel has a swimming pool but we elected not to swim in it since the water was cloudy. To us cloudy means dirty. Also, the carpet in the room was not very clean. A few sticky places grossed us out.

I would probably stay here again because it's a nice hotel and the price was lower than most hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with recently cleaned carpet if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kscAnchorage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthwindInn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Northwind Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay & feedback.

My sincere apologies for the deficiencies you noted on the room carpet & the pool water chemistry. We strive to keep the pool & spa top notch and maintain chemistry throughout the day. Some times, the addition of chemicals will make the water cloudy but it is not necessarily dirty as the milkiness setlles down quickly to give the desired clarity.

We are looking forward to having you stay with us again & be able to enjoy the facility to its fullest.

Sincerely,


Prashan t Gupta, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near King City
3.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Southwest
Comfort Suites Southwest
#58 of 141 in Portland
155 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Hotel At Bridgeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Tualatin - Portland South
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland South - Lake Oswego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Northwind Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Northwind Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Northwind Inn & Suites
Address: 16105 SW Pacific Hwy, King City, OR 97224-3440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > King City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in King City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Northwind Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Northwind Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Northwind Hotel King City
Best Western Tigard
Tigard Best Western
Best Western Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing