We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware if you book on Hotwire!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Northwind Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in King City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We had the misfortune of booking this hotel on hotwire for a three night stay. After a 13 hour drive, we arrived at the hotel exhausted and ready for our room. We were told that the hotel was completely booked and the only room available was a smoking room. We walked into the room and the smoke was unbearable. There was no way we could sleep in that room for one night, let alone three.

We went back to the front desk and asked them for a different room. We were told again that it was the ONLY available room and there was nothing they could do.

We left and checked expedia online for a different option. We saw a non smoking room at the Best Western Northwind for that very night. I called the hotel again and asked them if they would let us have a non smoking room. The lady at the front desk told me we could if I booked on expedia and double paid for a room. She was the same person who had just told us that there were no other available room. Ridiculous.

The lady at the front desk was completely unhelpful and didn't seem to care that we couldn't stay in the smoking room and wouldn't be able to get a refund.

My husband and I understand there aren't guarantees when you book on Hotwire, but this hotel is completely unwilling to work with you even if they have the ability to solve the problem.

We ultimately ended up staying at the Phoenix Inn in Lake Oswego and were treated with respect and had a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank scarletknd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthwindInn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Northwind Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Regret this delay in responding to your concerns with the Hotwire booking. I must assure you of our excellent services, however there are some restrictions on sites such as the Hotwire where the room type is not guranteed especially during the summer months where the hotel has very diminished inventory to make changes upon arrival of the guest despite every intent to help.

We are always willing to make accomodations in every respect to provide the utmost guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

912 - 918 of 930 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2011

From the moment we checked in, after 12 hours on the road, the front desk person, Kathy, made us feel welcome and comfortable. That's a special talent.

We loved: the spacious, bright room, REAL glasses and coffee mugs, the new, flat screen TV and the pillowtop bed. Excellent guest laundry at reasonable rates. The window opens and looks over a pleasant view of suburban roof tops in this very green suburb.

We were less fond of the desk that was too high for the chair. It was like working with your elbows around your ears. The fridge was just okay (no freezer compartment). There were no recycling containers in the room. Also management could be a little more generous with the towels. Only 2 were provided. I have long hair and a hand towel simply isn't adequate for that first stage of drying. On that point alone I've marked them down to simply 'very good'.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthCountryWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel with a small group of friends. We were visiting Oregon to go wine tasting in N. Willamette Valley. This Best Western had the best customer service I've received in a hotel. We typically stay in 4 star hotels. We tried the Best Western because it had a Wine and Stay package that sounded like fun. We were so impressed with the staff!! Shortly, after checking in we all rec'd a courtesy phone inquiring about our rooms. We had a friend coming in at 9am the next morning. The hotel got a room ready for them and let them check in early. The breakfast was good for a continental bfast! Free Wi-Fi!! Free parking! The rooms were nice and clean!! Apparently, they are getting new beds and linens in the next year....so that will make it even a nicer place to stay. We had lots of fun touring the wineries. We ate dinner an Irish Pub within walking distance of our hotel each night. Overall, a great experience. We will definitely stay at this hotel the next time were are going Pinot tasting in Oregon!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracyjac34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Quiet place to stay. Rooms are large and clean. Vanity outside of BR with sink and large mirror. Fan in bathroom. Micro/fridge/coffee in room. WiFi was not the greatest. Complimentary breakfast is make-your-own waffles, biscuits/sausage gravy, fruit, danish/bagel/muffins, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, juice, coffee. More than adequate. The only negative was the extremely hard beds. These were so horrible that we laughed. All in all, a pleasant stay.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
Thank LittleBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

We have stayed at this location three times. Have relatives in the area so visit them and then enjoy sightseeing around the Portland area. Nice having the well stocked breakfast bar in the morning, indoor pool and spa are also nice features. It is an easy drive, about 30 minutes, to the McMinnville Evergreen Aviation Museum. Beautiful area and great museum that houses the Spruce Goose. Take the free docent tour...well worth it. Also has an IMAX theater. We will stay at the Northwind Inn and Suites again next year on our trip to the Northwest.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carmelsands967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

The reception and check in was not done professionally - attire and manner not up to BW standards.
The breakfast area was OK but the servers were not happy when asked for something to be provided.
This was very different to our good experience about 3 years ago, which was why we returned to this particular place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deejay2789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

Easy location to find south of Portland. 6 miles to excellent shopping at Washington Square Mall (way better than downtown Portland and Lloyd Ct). 2 miles to Bridgeport Village for more excellent shopping and restaurants. Very disapointed in the Woodburn outlets.Tullalip in Washington state alot better we thought. Albertson's across the street and pub at corner not bad if you can stand the cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kristine61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near King City
3.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Tualatin - Portland South
2.3 mi away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tualatin
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel At Bridgeport
4 mi away
Comfort Suites Southwest
Comfort Suites Southwest
#58 of 144 in Portland
169 reviews
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Portland Tigard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Northwind Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Northwind Inn & Suites

Address: 16105 SW Pacific Hwy, King City, OR 97224-3440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > King City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in King City
Price Range: $93 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Northwind Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Northwind Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Northwind Hotel King City
Best Western Tigard
Tigard Best Western
Best Western Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing