We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average Chinese Food”

Tin Sing Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
San Diego, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Average Chinese Food”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We have eaten here twice and both times my wife and I have thought the food was average at best. If Trip Advisor used a scale of 1-10 I would rate 4 not 5. None of the food we had was bad, but nothing to put smiles on our faces. The quantity was large. Prices were moderate. Flavors are, well average.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cudahy WI
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Only wish we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stopped here for a recent lunch while our RV was being worked on by a local shop. We both ordered lunch combo specials. Our orders came up quickly, the food was still hot (temp), the spices were right for the items ordered, the portions were more than ample.

I was a little surprised by two things.
First, the egg rolls that came with our combo meal were different from any I have ever had. It was as if the egg rolls had been rolled in some sort of fried chicken coating and when you bit into them the crust flaked off like fried chicken. Different but nice.
Second, the hot & sour soup (which compared to other hot & sour soups we've had in OR) did have a little zing but the flavor of the broth was distinctly different from what I would normally expect and there seem to be little of the dried kelp or mushrooms that one would normally find in this dish. The final product was was nice, tasty, and satisfying -- just different.

Unfortunately we were called to return to our coach just as our meal arrived -- so we didn't get to dawdle and enjoy the food as much as it deserved to be enjoyed -- but you can't have every thing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A little off the beaten path, but well worth the side trip”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Haven't really found an Asian restaurant in Eugene that delivered, so we ventured out to Junction City to have a meal at Tin Sing. We arrived on Sunday about 7PM and the place was still very busy. A good sign, but not 100% positive especially in a small town.

We ordered a simple family style meal for two, so that we could try several different dishes. The hot & sour was above average for both spice level and consistency, we didn’t try the egg flower soup offering. Next up were the egg rolls and BBQ Pork. We’ve had some abysmal egg rolls at other restaurants in the general area, but these were excellent. They looked a little different from the outside, but were crisp, flavorful, and not greasy. Some of the best I’ve had outside of restaurants in SF Chinatown.

The main courses consisted of: Fried Shrimp, Chicken Pea Pod Chow Yuk, Sweet & Sour Chicken, Pork Fried Rice; all were nicely done Amer-Chinese dishes. Well above the standards of the local area, but perhaps Americanized a bit too much.

Dinner for two with a nice tip was only $23; a bargain by anyone’s standards. Clearly a restaurant worth driving the extra miles based on quality and value. It’s not an iconic restaurant, but is clearly an exceptional value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junction City, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Large portions, fast service”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Above average food, great soup & huge portions. Staff is very friendly but we did have to stay on top of our waitress, she forgot our soup, sauces & drink refills, she seemed really nervous so maybe she was new? Other than that it was a really nice experience.

Helpful?
4 Thank quackerbabe78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junction City, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We love this place!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Always great service and good food, this place is family-friendly and reasonably priced. The staff is so nice. We've never had a bad meal, and we go here often!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tin Sing Restaurant also viewed

 
Junction City, OR
Junction City, OR
 

Been to Tin Sing Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing