We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog-Friendly Cabin in the Mountains”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Joseph
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wallowa Lake Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Joseph
Reviewed June 24, 2010

My husband and I brought our very active -- but very well-behaved -- dog with us to Wallowa Lake Resort. It was $10 extra per night to have him with us, but it was worth it. The cabin we stayed in was clean and convenient, and the perfect size for two people plus a dog. The staff gives each dog a care package with treats, poop bags, and a sheet to toss on the couch or bed, if the dog's allowed on the furniture.

Our cabin had a fully stocked kitchen, with dishes, cups, silverware, cooking utensils, a decent set of knives, stove, oven, microwave, coffee maker ... and on and on. The only thing we needed to buy was a set of tongs. And, of course, our own food. Wi-fi was available at the resort office, but cell phone reception was non-existent for our Sprint phones (and my Kindle!). It is a "resort," so there are restaurants, a pizza joint, horse rides, and similar activities in walking distance.

There was a trailhead two miles up the road that led to several hikes of varying lengths and beautiful scenery. The town of Joseph was five miles away, and had everything we needed, including brew pubs and an outdoors store where I bought hiking boots.

The proprietors were sweet, helpful, and on top of everything. I'm hoping we can do this every year.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank khg2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 108 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2010

Cutest little town on Earth with some of the nicest people you'd ever want to meet. Everyone waves as they go by, except maybe us big city tourists who aren't used to that kind of consideration. Just a few miles outside town is Wallowa Lake, I honestly didn't want leave! Rented a cabin from Wallowa Lake Resort, www.wallowalakeresort.com. Great rates, on site and awesome! Totally helpful and again friendly folks. Cabins are very clean, well stocked and have great rates. If you are considering a vacation this is one of the best places on earth!

4  Thank WashingtonTina_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Easy to find, and secluded location. The office staff was very friendly and helpful. We went for a 5 day trip, going out during the day for hikes through the Eagle Cap Wilderness. They recommended hikes for us, which was helpful since it was our first time in the area. The cabin was much bigger and cuter than expected, after viewing the pictures on the website. It was very clean, with everything we needed and a comfortable bed. The hot tub was secluded and really nice.
If you're interested in hiking, a few trail heads are only a mile down the road from the resort. And, about two miles down the road the other direction is the cute, small town of Joseph, where everyone is extremely friendly.
Great stay overall, and we'll definitely stay here next time!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheldanOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

we stayed in a small little cabin that had a room with a queen bed and a living room/kitchen. I think it was called heidihaus. It had a small dishwasher and good sized frig. Our 3 yr old slept on one of the day beds. It had a VCR. There were plenty of free tapes you could borrow. My husband and I thought the queen bed was a little soft, but otherwise it was fine. We could not see the river or lake from the cabin, but both were not far. Lots of deer near the lake.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cynkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

Our family took a late vacation this year. This is our second trip to the Wallowa Lake (Joseph, OR) area. We stayed at the Wallowa Lake Resort. Our stay was in the "Hatch" #18, cabin and was very well stocked with kitchen & bath items. Clean throughout the cabin. Only had to bring food and charcoal for the BBQ. Our dog was welcome and we were able to leave him in his crate for trips into town without any problems. Management was accomodating and prompt to any requests. We were extremely pleased with our stay at this establishment and will return for more! The quiet atmosphere and milky way stars at night were excellent. Watch out for the local deer they are very friendly! Sockeye salmon were in the river spawning at this time of year September 19th thru the 24th. The only dissapointment with the town of Joseph was that Mutiny BrewPub was not brewing their own beer yet, they were open but serving Budweiser, etc., and Stein Distillery was a work in progress. We enjoyed bowling on Tuesdays. It was red pin strike(free game) and $1 per game. Ember's Restaurant had excellent food and features beer from Terminal Gravity Brewing located in Enterprise, OR.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pagesteigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

First off, the website is immeasureably helpful for planning with a large group. We were able to see where all the houses were located and get several close together and one needed to allow dogs which was no problem. The office staff and cleaning staff were super nice and helpful too. There were no surprises with the houses, they were all as pictured with the furniture & space as shown. All were clean and fresh and stocked well with kitchen supplies, towels and toilet paper etc

We went Memorial Day weekend and had to book about a year ahead but it was very easy on-line. Lots to do in the "village" for kids - tram, mini golf, bumper boats, horses, race carts, arcade etc. There were 2 excellent cafes also. Everything is walking distance from most houses. It was very quiet and peaceful even on a holiday weekend.

What a beautiful part of the country to spend a week in. The mountains, river, lake & forests provide endless entertainment. Hells Canyon and Snake River could be a day trip from here but we did not go. Even in late spring there was still snow up high but contrasted by wildflowers everywhere. The water is very very cold this time of year so be careful. We rented a boat for a day and had a picnic on a floating dock. We also visited nearby Joeseph, and the other little towns in the county, all very charming. It was refreshing to not see a Costco or a McDonalds anywhere. The deer and wildlife here are fearless and friendly.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
4  Thank HappyNorthwesterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

We stayed in one of the cabins and everything was perfect. We were right in the center of all activities, and we were able to walk to all of the attractions. The staff is so friendly and the cabin was fully stocked with everything we needed. The area is absolutely gorgeous and everyone we met and interacted with was very friendly. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joseph
10.9 mi away
Eagle's View Inn & Suites
Eagle's View Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Enterprise
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eagle Cap Chalets
Eagle Cap Chalets
#1 of 5 in Joseph
94 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bronze Antler Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wallowa Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallowa Lake Resort

Address: 84681 Ponderosa Ln, Joseph, OR 97846-8184
Location: United States > Oregon > Joseph
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Joseph
Price Range: $65 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide fully furnished luxury rental homes and cozy cabins at Wallowa Lake. Amenities include an outdoor hot tub, wireless internet, king beds, Cable TV, wheelchair accessible units and lake/mountain/river views. Many cabins are pet friendly. Open year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wallowa Lake Hotel Joseph

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing