We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for a refund; don't bother, will not happen”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Joseph
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wallowa Lake Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Joseph
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I checked into Cabin #3 on Sept. 17 and paid for a two night stay. We took a short motorcycle first night we were there. We rode down to the OR state park near by and while we were there my husband had to make a fast stop with the bike and we dropped it. We both fell off the bike, actually, I was thrown off the bike and hit my head and back side rather hard. We got some immediate help from the rangers and passerby, then got back on the bike, rode up to a restaurant , had some dinner and back to the cabin. The next morning I was in a lot of pain and we decided that we had better head for home, a couple of hundred miles away and not stay another night.
I asked if we could have a refund for that night and was told that they could not give us a refund. I told the person at the desk what had happened the night before but he said that he could not give a refund and would have the owner give us a call. NO Phone call was made and no message was left on my phone.
The person at the desk said that no refunds were allowed even if their was construction noise,
yes I understand that but no refund for a night after an accident and you need to get back home and to some medical care.
In other words, people, DO NOT, go to this place for a vacation or a visit if you are going to put up for more than a day because if something happens and you need to leave you have lost all your money. Our bill came to $201.40, $95.00/ night. Evidently not worth the risk of paying in advance for a two night stay or for a longer stay.
REMEMBER FOLKS, NO REFUNDS FOR ANYONE REGARDLESS OF WHAT HAPPENS TO YOU

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougInJoseph, Owner at Wallowa Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

In remember, this situation very well. I also spoke to the front desk in regard to your motor cycle accident. To be honest I looked at your motorcycle and yourselves and could not see any noticeable signs of an accident. However, some injuries are not visible and we should have followed up with you the next day.

Our rental agreement says we do not provide refunds for early departures; as you could imagine we have requests for early departures now and then for a variety of reasons.

We have provided refunds or gift certificates in the past for major injuries and/or families emergencies.

Thank you for the comment and I will be sure to follow-up with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 108 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We recently stayed in the alpine garden condo #31 and had a great time! The condo was super clean and very comfortable! It was just my husband and I and our 8 month old but there was plenty of room that we could have brought our 5 year old and the grandparents and still have had room. We will definetly be staying here again in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We just returned from spending 3 nights in a cabin at the Wallowa Lake Resort.The property sits across the street from the lake and next to the state park. There were many gift shops and a couple of restaurants and other activities within walking distance.The town of Joseph is maybe 4- 5 miles away and has lots of shopping and dining options and it's a beautiful scenic drive there and back.

The owners and staff of the Wallowa Lake Resort were very friendly and accomodating. There are many cabin types to choose from here. The web site is very informative and easy to navigate. There are photos of all the cabins and a map of their locations. Many of the cabins are dog friendly so you can bring the family pet if you choose to.

We chose a two bedroom cabin ( # 11) and shared it with another couple.The cabin is roomy and perfect for two couples or a small family. This unit has a king bedroom with it's own a TV and a 2 queen bedroom. There is a jack & jill doorways situation between the bedrooms that open to the full bath.The 2 queen room has a half bath as well. The bed comfort was ok and there was decent bedding, plenty of pillows and we slept fine.

The kitchen and living room share an open space with a doorway that opens out to a large deck that spans the width of the cabin. The cabin was clean, nicely decorated and the furniture was comfortable.There is a small gas fireplace and a TV in the living room.
We enjoyed the kitchen with full size appliances and also a coffee pot, toaster, microwave and plenty of dishes, cookware and cutlery.
Out on the deck there was a gas BBQ, a large deck table and plenty of chairs as well as a picnic table for our use out in front on the lawn.

Cabins 1-11 have the use of a nice hot tub in a private setting but we didn't use it this time.

Our cabin sat back from the road in the trees. We could see the road and the activity of the people out and about but it was very quiet and with very little road noise. The cabins are fairly close to each other but we didn't hear our neighbors much at all.The resort is very well tended and clean.

There is a lot to do here even after labor day. The tram to Mt Howard, mini golf and the go cart track were a short walk away and still up and running. The super friendly and plentiful deer population was unexpected and enjoyable.

We love the Joseph area! We truly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend visiting this area and making a lodging choice at the Wallowa Lake Resort!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harleytravelerx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Two months prior to Labor Day, & having never been here I specifically asked for a quiet, secluded location, pet friendly. Many were available, but was given suggestion of #24 or #12. We rented "eidelweiss".
Here's what we got (remember, YOU ultimately choose which property you rent, so research and ask around if you've never been here):
The king bed provided the worst sleep ever. Very worn out, lumpy, with rubber sheets that provided a thorough sweat. The sleeper sofa was marginally better, per our 13y/o son. The 5/6 sleeping arrangements were two foam cushions on a plywood platform that also served as couches by day. Good enough for our 9y/o son, as he said, at least its not the floor...
I hated the mini golf being next door. Its open all day to 10 pm. Its loud and brightly lit. You have a perfect view of it & the rv park from the porch. I had hoped that "quiet and secluded" meant the same thing in Richland as it did in Oregon...not so.
On the bright side, the toilet plugged up solid the second day. Luckily enough, the renter next door complained to the mgmt that our family dog was next to her porch at the same time the toilet ran over. So they were prompt to fix it since they were already on their way here to deliver us 'notice'. They are serious about leashes here. You cant let ur dog out even if the property you rent is nearly 2 acres. And we didnt get the 'pet welcome pack' others referred to.
Everything here is way overpriced. So with that in mind, we got a 'cheap motel quality' cabin. No biggie. Just wished they were more up front with the overcrowded-ness and proximity to high traffic/noise areas. I think it'd be fair to include these 'attractions' on the cabin map for us uneducated visitors to consider.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heathersflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougInJoseph, Owner at Wallowa Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide comments on “#24 Edelwiess”. You booked on 7/21/12 and you arrived on 8/31/ 12. Your booking was one month and 10 days before your arrival and at that time we had 5 openings out of our total cabin inventory of 40.

I spoke to the person that booked your reservation and they have never told anyone #24 Edelwiess is secluded. It is next to the mini golf which we publish on the web site. Reservations should have also told you it was next to the mini golf. Absolutely, ask as many questions as possible when renting a vacation cabin. What do you see from the front door? What do you see form the deck? It is near a main road or highway? For our part we are updating our online maps to include locations of mini golf, restaurants, the tram and as many landmarks as possible.

In regard to the king bed it is pillow top and 2 years old. We have never received complaints about the bed. In addition, we equip our cabins with nice linens which are tossed if they get to worn or become stained.

The cabin’s sleeping arrangements are published and communicated on your confirmation and our web site. This cabin is $140/night and sleeps 4-6. It is fully furnished with a complete kitchen, an outdoor BBQ and free WiFi. Wallowa Lake cabins which sleep 4-6 during Labor Day weekend are priced from $130-$260/night. Higher priced cabins are generally newer, larger and have more bedrooms and standard beds. Be aware staying in a resort area will always be pricier for the same accommodation in Richland Washington or in a city.

In regard to the toilet and dog, I personally went to the cabin and unplugged the toilet and mentioned the dog. The guest staying in a cabin 50 yards from your cabin told our office that your dog continued to come onto their porch. We love our 4 legged guests but so everyone has a sense of privacy we have a leash rule (though it is seldom enforced unless a dog does not stay close to their family or cabin).

When I arrived I fixed the toilet and provided new towels since your existing towels where wet from the toilet over flowing. You asked me about places to hike so I provided hiking maps and a recommendation on where you could go to let your dog run free. I hope you found the map and directions where helpful. Sorry about the pet care package. The housekeeper likely missed leaving one in your cabin. Our office is always ready and willing to provide whatever you need for your pet including pick-up bags, sheets, towels and of course treats.

Thank again for your helpful comments. If you decide to book in the future talk to me personally. I would be happy to make your next stay as enjoyable as possible.

Doug Buska
Owner Wallowa Lake Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The condo we had was #28 and for 4 people it was perfect. Our cell phones didn't work in the area and the condo had no phone. There was good Wi-Fi service. Was on the dead end highway.
Many deer passed by the deck morning and night. Had problems with raccoons knocking garbage cans around at night . very close to the tram, horseback riding, go-carts, miniature golf and all the action. Very clean.

Room Tip: we were on the lower level and there was some upper level noise. However, there was no partying in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrandmaGoldwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We rented cabin #34 and loved the cabin. The woodwork and simplicity of the cabin made it all so warm and welcoming. Small front deck with table and chairs to enjoy the evenings on. Sits away from the resort activities so is quiet and peaceful but close enough for a short bike ride or walk, which we did numerous times! Our kids are all over 20yrs old and stayed upstairs in the open loft. We got the comfortable room downstairs. The cabin had all the amenities one would need! The game cupboard is full of great games to play, flat screen TV, BBQ, washer/dryer and so much more. The only downfall of this cabin is that it has a steep driveway, not a lot of room to maneuver and little "yard" area. Some also may not appreciate the create angles in the shower but we managed just fine with these minor issues. Would stay here again and was perfect for our family!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riverhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed in trout view and the patio suite. We had a small family gathering. Grandma and Grandpa took the patio suite with their dog. One bedroom and bath with small living room that connected to the upstairs. The rest of us stayed upstairs (6 adults and 6 kids). We had 4 bedrooms and 3 baths lots for room to spread out! The kitchen was so well equipped that we even made homemade ice cream in the maker that was provided! The kids had so much fun feeding the fish in the pond and the deer that came right up to see what you had! The patio was big enough to gather for a BBQ and the small side yard worked for a game of washers or frisby. The kids enjoyed the swing out side and the games provided inside. The laundry room was spacious and the dinning room had great seating with 2 big tables and a sideboard for buffet style serving. We had a fireplace in the living room and wood to have an evening fire. The parking for the boat was a little challenging, as you had to back in from the main road, but we managed fine and enjoyed having ample parking at the cabin. This cabin was not updated. It was very well equipped, clean, a lot of storage, and very comfortable for us. We could walk to go-karts, mini golf, bumper boats, and horse back ridding! It was close to the boat launch at the state park. They even had bike rentals! We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joseph
10.9 mi away
Eagle's View Inn & Suites
Eagle's View Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Enterprise
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eagle Cap Chalets
Eagle Cap Chalets
#1 of 5 in Joseph
95 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bronze Antler Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wallowa Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallowa Lake Resort

Address: 84681 Ponderosa Ln, Joseph, OR 97846-8184
Location: United States > Oregon > Joseph
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Joseph
Price Range: $65 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide fully furnished luxury rental homes and cozy cabins at Wallowa Lake. Amenities include an outdoor hot tub, wireless internet, king beds, Cable TV, wheelchair accessible units and lake/mountain/river views. Many cabins are pet friendly. Open year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wallowa Lake Hotel Joseph

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing