We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hosts and Lovely B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bronze Antler Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bronze Antler Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Joseph B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect hosts and Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2007

Our recent visit to the Bronze Antler B & B was perhaps the best B&B experience we have ever had. I could talk about how gorgeous this little corner of Oregon is....or I could talk about the unbelievable view of the mountains from the house (especially from our bedroom, Chief Joseph Room)....or I could rave about the amenities.....every detail taken care of/ most comfortable bed with heavenly down pillows (but they have non-allergenic ones also!)....wireless connection...plenty of electrical plugs.....modern bathrooms with olive oil soap and lotions.....And then there is the food.......Bill is a great cook and his breakfasts are real treats....and will sustain you during the day! BUT, the best part is Bill and Heather. They are the perfect hosts....they really make you feel welcome in their home...as if you were a personal guest, not just a paying customer. They went out of their way to be helpful in everyway! If you are anywhere near Joseph, Oregon ( or make it a point to go there ) be sure to stay here!!!!
The DeMarrs

  • Liked — the hosts
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank truckee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
153
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2006

Staying at this wonderful B&B was such a relaxing and pampering experience. Heather and Bill really understand all the details that make a visit memorable. Their knowledge of the area was so helpful to us as we had never travelled to eastern Oregon before. They gave us terrific recommendations for places to eat and information on various places that we could visit. Bill's breakfasts were delicious and very generous portions. We truly felt as if we were staying at the home of friends and they go out of their way to make your visit special. We were originally booked for two nights but we had such a great time that we added an extra night. This place is a winner and we will be back again.

  • Liked — Bed was so cozy and the living room felt like home! Beautiful views of the mountains.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pmidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2006

A truly great B&B, the bedrooms are impeccably furnished, the breakfasts were wonderful and the hosts make you feel like family and were very helpful as we planned our activities. The Bronze Anther is what a great B&B should be.

  • Liked — Tremendous hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DBreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2006

Host and hostess are perfect for the role as operators of this Bed and Breakfast; so personable. They couldn't have been more accommodating and did everything possible to make us feel comfortable. Very clean. Extra expense on down comforter an down pillows and extra heavy bathroom towels. The house is a 1923 "Craftsman-style." Our bathroom was brightly lighted, full-size. After enduring closet-size bathrooms at other B&B's this was a real plus. Parking was easy and this another plus. The location near the Wallowas Mountains is magnificent. From the dining room window, a person can enjoy the breathtaking view of Joseph Mountain. There was NO street noise. We slept well. Joseph Oregon is an interesting place with a foundry and wonderful bronze art on Main Street at each intersection. A bronze cougar -- full size -- a cowboy rodeo rider -- a woman in a blue dress -- and others. BB has a full-size bronze deer in the front yard. (Deer wander into the front yard at dusk.) Makes for awesome ambience. We did not find a good place for dinner in town so we drove to Wallowa Lake State Park -- just 5 miles down the road -- and ate at the old lodge -- built in 1923.
This was a real treat. Makes for wonderful memories.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank conservationist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
107 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2006

After an outstanding camping trip in the Wallowa mountains of eastern Oregon, we threw a dart at the map and landed in Joseph, Oregon -- a wonderfull small western town that's yet to be really discovered as a destination. After a couple of nights at another (less wonderful) establishment, we were talking with some locals who recommended the Bronze Antler. Since there was a room available, we grabbed it.

Heather and Bill are wonderful hosts and among the most well-informed travel coaches we found. The rooms are warm, inviting and very comforatable (we agree with the comments of others about this) but all of our hosts' recommendations about what else to do, where to eat (and not) as well as some of the interesting history of the area was great information.

Breakfast was great, and I'm sure we'll be back sometime.

If you're within a couple of hundred miles of this place, go for it!

  • Liked — Warmth of hosts and comfort
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sillydg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2006

The Bronze Antler B & B is a little piece of paradise in beautiful, remote northeastern Oregon, well worth the "easy 74 mile freeway off-ramp" from I-84, as jokes innkeeper Bill.

Normally my husband and I aren't big fans of B & B's as they sometimes lack privacy, but we decided to give this place a try, and we were glad we did. The three upstairs rooms are quiet, separated by a door at the top of the stairs to keep the cats out (I never saw the cats), offering additional privacy. There is small amount of traffic noise--the inn sits near the end of the main street through town on the way to the lake, after all--but you only notice it if you choose to. It wasn't a problem.

In fact, we slept extremely well. The beds are cozy in an amazing combination of firmness and softness. Once you climb into these beds you'll sigh and never want to get out. (We want to buy these mattresses now!) The room is decorated in soft, soothing colors.

The bathroom is full of lovely, high-end Restoration Hardware type fixtures. Retro-chic, you could say, with old-fashioned push button light switches. They even have bidets, not something you'd think to find in such an isolated part of the world.

We did have a little trouble with blowing a fuse in the bathroom but Bill cheerfully and quickly fixed it. Later as I showered, the shower light (yes, there was a special light for the shower) suddenly went out, only to go back on later when I used the blow-dryer. My husband thought it might have something to do with the motion-detector lights that they have upstairs, but I don't know. I guess when it comes to bathrooms, I prefer a little more low-tech. But honestly, we were so delighted by the place that these little electrical issues hardly bothered us.

Bill's breakfast in the morning was hearty with very fresh ingredients, including raspberries that could be used in food advertising. Heather was away for the weekend at a music festival but Bill seemed to manage fine on his own. Bill is a gregarious man, easy to talk with, like an favorite uncle you are happy to see again.

Joseph itself is a delightful art community, all within easy walking distance of the Inn. Make sure you take the tram ride to the top of Wallowa Lake while you are there. Great fun and great views with nice trails at the top for a $20 ticket. Bill and Heather keep a small refrigerator stocked with soda pop for their guests and we took a couple drinks up with us for our hike atop the mountain.

Bill and Heather did their research well in making this little gem of an Inn. We will certainly return.

  • Liked — Luxury and warmth
  • Disliked — minor electronic issues
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtistJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, ID
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2006

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Bronze Antler Bed and Breakfast. The Bronze Antler is a restored circa 1920 house. The Innkeepers meticulously researched every minute detail of the recontruction. Everything was spotlessly clean and of the highest quality. It is amazing the difference high quality sheets make! The bed had a pillow-top mattress that was so comfortable, I just wanted to stay in it. The view of the mountains from our room was spectacular! What a wonderful thing to wake up to!

The Innkeepers are perfect for this line of work. They were incredibly thoughtful and seemed to anticipate our every need - even those that we didn't know that we had. Coffee, soft drinks and gourmet goodies were offered throughout the day. They were also a wealth of information about the area. They were free with excellent directions and even offered to make reservations. The 2 breakfasts that we had were out of this world. The food was beautifully presented and excellent.

Before we arrived, the Innkeepers recommended a place for dinner that I have to mention. It was Vali's restaurant. Vali's is a hungarian restaurant that is reservation only. Each night there is only one menu item. On the night that we chose, we were served chicken paprika, dumplings, cucumber salad and apple strudel. This was one of the best meals that I have had in a really long time.

I highly recommend the Bronze Antler.

Helpful?
1 Thank Eliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joseph
6.1 mi away
Eagle's View Inn & Suites
Eagle's View Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Enterprise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
5.1 mi away
Eagle Cap Chalets
Eagle Cap Chalets
#1 of 5 in Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
21.1 mi away
Mingo Motel
Mingo Motel
#1 of 1 in Wallowa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bronze Antler Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bronze Antler Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bronze Antler Bed & Breakfast
Address: 309 S Main St, P.O. Box 74, Joseph, OR 97846-8437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Joseph
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Bronze Antler Bed & Breakfast 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully restored 1920s Arts & Crafts bungalow located in Joseph, Oregon's first Arts and Culture District. Delicious full breakfasts served with organic coffee, teas and juices. Three graciously appointed guestrooms and one over-the-top suite each with en suite bath and many amenities. Perennial gardens with regulation surface bocce court. One affable cat on premises but not allowed in the guestrooms. We're a favorite for anniversary couples, hikers, art enthusiasts, and those wanting a quiet escape from the hub-bub of city life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing