We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Area. Hard to Access Lake.”

Wallowa Lake State Park
Ranked #3 of 14 things to do in Joseph
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Area. Hard to Access Lake.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Multiple people had told me Wallowa Lake was a must see area. It was in fact beautiful. Lots of hiking trails and the campground was incredibly well thought out - no site was far from water or restrooms. The campground was crowded. If you want privacy, it looked like the C-loop was the best as it backed up against a mountain. The most disappointing part was the lake. If you did not have a ski boat, it was very difficult to use. The lake access was either disgustingly muddy or you had to traverse down steep boulders. There was no place to just sit and relax comfortably around the lake. We even canoed around the lake and couldn't find a good spot to relax and go swimming. My friend had a 5- and 2- year old and it was almost impossible to get them into the lake easily. There are some public docs, but they're hard to get to if you don't have a ski boat. While we loved the area and enjoyed our trip, we'll be looking for a more accessible lake for future trips.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank hmgoldilocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    51
    14
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect get away”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were here the end of August, a great time as school has started and there are less people. Good showers and fantastic views. The wood is pricey, so pick some up on the way into town if you can. There are small restaurants within walking, and the lake is right there too; you can rent a variety of boats too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kimmielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to visit! This isn't the place for privacy.”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The lake is beautiful and has a large beachfront. Lots of hiking areas. The facilities are nice and clean. the only problem is that the campsites are packed on top of each other. It was sold out in August. I would recommend getting you summer reservations a year early and picking a site on the outside edge.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RhondaAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

It is a beautiful lake. The fishing is good. Rent a boat and have fun traveling around the lake. We hired a guide and the guys caught several fish. He told them about the area. They really enjoyed it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HeidiS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“over crowded”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Obviously a popular spot for it's scenic beauty . I think maybe a limit on how many families can share one spot or perhaps bigger camping lots are the answer. I just felt like we were right on top of each other.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scott k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wallowa Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing