We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wallowa Lake State Park”

Wallowa Lake State Park
Ranked #3 of 14 things to do in Joseph
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Olympia, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wallowa Lake State Park”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Beautiful. Lovely access to the lake, pretty places to camp, lots of places to picnic. I can imagine the park would be awesome for cross country skiing or snowshoeing in the winter.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LeslieD317537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    51
    14
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grangeville, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place to Visit”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We spent Mother's Day weekend this last year at Wallowa Lake and had an awesome time. We've actually been there many times, sometimes to camp, and others just for the day. We always enjoy our time there. It is so beautiful and relaxing. There are a lot of activities available such as, swimming, boating, boat rentals, fishing, go carts, bumper boats, horseback riding, hiking, or just mulling around in some of the gift shops. During the summer, and on holidays, they do fill up quickly, so it is best to book your lodging/campsite well in advance.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“At the right time of year, good base for area hiking.”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed in a tent in mid Sept and campground was active, but mellow. Mostly RV's with very few tenters. We scored with site A23 one of only 2-3 that have a view of the lake. View is across a parking lot, but at this time of year there isn't any activity in the parking lot especially at night when u r at the campfire. Others might want a site closer to bathroom, but we prefer the view. In general, campground sites are on top of each other and it must be like grand central station in the summer with kids/bikes/boats, etc. Disadvantage of fall is that the area hillsides are brown so not quite the Alps type view of green hills/mts in the spring. Advantage is that all the trails are clear (although dusty) from snow and the colors can make some great photos. Joseph is about 5 minutes in the car so can splurge and eat out instead of camp cooking if you feel like it. Camp hosts kept the campground in great shape and the bathrooms including private showers were spotless. With all the RV's, there was minimal use of the bathrooms.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank alhabitat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful moonlight dear kisses”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

It was a trip remember. Being a caregiver.
94 lady .. wheeling. Her down by lake
A deer came up kissed her ventured on.
Scary. But a memory. I will remember.
Wonderful. Campground clean.

Helpful?
Thank nobodygr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grande, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful place!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My family loves this place! Sometimes we go just for the day. Once, we stayed for a few days in a cabin we rented. We love to swim so we usually go on a nice hot day and the lake is still cold but oh so nice and clean! I would NEVER rent one of the boats again the first one we got the engine died and the second one we had the rope that starts the engine came out and they had no intention of giving us any kind of refund and were rude about it. The gondola however is so awesome. We LOVE to go to the top (although I'm a little scared of the ride up and down). The cafe at the top is a nice place to stop and have some lunch and enjoy the view. The chipmunks are the most fun for all of us. You can buy some chipmunk food at the cafe and they know you are there to feed them! There's a natural spring and lots of trails to walk around and a spectacular view in every direction. Even the drive there is gorgeous. We sometimes go over to Joseph for a little fun shopping too. You can go on pack rides also! We like the go carts and the bumper boats and the resident deer too (don't get TOO close!). All in all an awesome place to go! Of course there are no fees to go here but obviously costs involved with activities such as the gondolas ($25 per adult?).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank curtaincrawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wallowa Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing