We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room smelled like smoke and shower & tub looked disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western John Day Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in John Day
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Room smelled like smoke and shower & tub looked disgusting”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This motel should be up to a higher cleanliness standard for a Best Western. We had to buy a can of Febreez to spray the room. It was supposed to be non-smoking room so either people are smoking or it needs renovations to remove embedded wall smoke. The tub and shower needed a proper scrub with a proper cleaner. It was all streaky where previous cleaners were just left to run down the sides without removing all the dark dirt. Disappointing!

Room Tip: Try to see and sniff a room before paying and staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    115
    40
    14
    6
See reviews for
75
93
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pendleton, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for a little league tournament. We had a room with 3 beds, one in a separate room. It was very clean, and the staff were all very helpful. The beds were very comfortable, and the towels were nice and thick and comfy. I hate thin, small towels! And there were enough towels for all of us; I have noticed lately that if I reserve a room for 4, and tell them there are 4 of us, I still get to the room and find 3 towels. That just annoys me! The workout room was small, but well appointed, it had everything you would need. The wifi was not great in our room, but that was not a big deal to us. All in all, this was a great place to stay, and we will stay there whenever we go to John Day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmonkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhall
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Modern - Clean - Overpriced - Overpriced - for the area..
There are other modern nice motels for less but not knowing the area or town who knew.. So spend 40 dollars too much for this motel and eat at McDonalds..

Town closes at sunset - eat early - McDonalds IS open late.. Nice area.
Old logging town.. Interesting history..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank MrHelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I have to admit I was a little skeptical at first going staying here. But, I have to admit they exceeded my expectations. I've stayed at a lot of hotels due to my job and this one competes with some of the big chains. It is nicely decorated with granite counter tops. The beds are amazing! The bedding was nice clean white, and the flat screen tv made the other half happy. He was more happy about the biscuit and gravy for breakfast. They even let my furbabies stay (with only a $15.00 charge). Check out was at 11:00. I wasn't over charged, and my specific floor reservation was held despite having a full house. If you are going to the big JD and need someone where to stay you have to stay here! Oh and one last thing the Kcup coffee machine with Kcups for morning ROCKED!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in 112 and couldn't have been happier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, CO
Level Contributor
251 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is the only place to stay in John Day in my opinion. It was very clean for being somewhat dated, the beds were comfortable and the shower never went cold in the morning even though the hotel was completely full. Parking is a bit cramped as the spaces are narrow and limited. We had to make a last minute reservation the day before our arrival and consequently paid a higher price had we booked earlier...our two queen room was $124 with tax which was high considering location in the middle of nowhere...but with limited accommodations, not surprising. The front desk staff were friendly and I was able to use the personal computer and printer available for guests to printout needed travel documents. We were on the second floor which was nice but all rooms face the parking area so that we could hear the early guests leave in the morning. Breakfast was the standard fare but served in a rather small cramped room that was overly warm with many guests eating. One last note was that the non smoking room smelled of smoke and it appears that guests smoke outside and the air is then drawn into the rooms when the a/c units are running. It was not pleasant and yet there seems little that can be done.

Room Tip: Our room did not appear to be any different than others located around the parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triumph1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Point, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

This hotel appears to be the nicest hotel in town. It was an average room with average accommodations. It was $100. A night which I found to be a little steep for a midweek room of that quality. The other hotels in town also appear to average but at half the price.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kcacres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Western John Day Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western John Day Inn

Property: Best Western John Day Inn
Address: 315 W Main St, John Day, OR 97845-1028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > John Day
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in John Day
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western John Day Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western John Day Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western John Day Inn Oregon
John Day Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing