We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn John Day
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in John Day
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean and comfortable”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed here twice over the summer with groups of UK motorcyclists and a really good motel to stay in. Staff are very helpful and importantly It's motorcycle friendly. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and great value. The pool is a nice extra but the spa didn't seem to work too well. Good food outlets close by. Will be back to stay next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    34
    27
    9
    11
See reviews for
26
38
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We decided to stop here for the night to head towards the John Day Fossil Beds Monument. The hotel is not bad at all, reasonably priced and is pet friendly. Our room is spacious and the a/c works great. The hotel also has a pool and is next to a nice little creek (I think it is :P). It is located in a nice little town. Would stay here again :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

There are few hotels in John Day, Oregon. The Best Western was $95, with numerous discounts, which just seemed like too much for this little town. The only other AAA rated hotel was a one-star and a dive from the outside. However the Americas Best looked nice and clean and neat from the highway. Their discount rate was $65 (with no breakfast) and the room was large and clean. I would certainly stay here again. It looked about the same as BW, but 2/3's the price!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainSailors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Let's begin by saying we spent ten days in Oregon, traveling with our Black Lab. That said we need a pet friendly hotel. But even our dog wasn't sure he wanted to enter the room. He is not used to staying in places that smell like dog, stale cigarette smoke and who knows what. All three of us (dog included) wanted to run. Yep, room 123 was scary!
The adventure began with the phone call to the motel to secure the room as we knew John Day was going to be the stopping point that evening. The woman on the phone was scattered to say the least. My first thought was I hope we have a room when we get there. Maybe we would have been better off without one! Check in took twenty minutes...same scattered woman! Enough said.
Upon driving in one could see that the place needed work. The pool they advertised said it was under repair. I noticed over a year ago in the reviews it was too. Maybe the scattered woman at the desk is in charge of repairs?! The restaurant attached to the motel is in the same state...closed!
Parking in front of room 123 didn't aid the picture! There is a gaping hole in the overhang between floors and it was dripping something quite foul. Opening the door only added to the foulness. Our room smelled of smoke and pet urine. The carpets were NASTY! The first thing found was a bug in the bathroom. Wonder what was lurking where we could not see. The bed covers were old and did not smell clean. Thank God we travel with the dog's sheet for the bed, which I know was cleaner then theirs and our own blanket!
After shuttering a bit we went into John Day and had dinner at the Outpost Trading company. Three large martinis later we were ready to brave the room. Neither one of us even thought about showering the following morning. I know we were cleaner than the shower!
This was a last resort as the Best Western was full...but for the price I bet we could have paid someone to borrow their room and it would have been more comfortable!! Run don't walk away from here!!

Room Tip: Just say NO!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccinchico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these John Day hotels

pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Had numerous small problems during our stay and the front desk manager didn't seem particularly interested in fixing them. Two burned out light bulbs, poor internet connection and a balky heating unit. I suspect the manager is cranky cause they spend their entire day dealing with all the problems that come with an aging property.

Bed was OK, but sheets very thin and scratchy.

If you need a place to crash for the night while passing thru, this place will do.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadrzeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Level Contributor
187 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My son, a friend of his, and myself stayed here for a weekend while playing in a golf tournament. I booked the two-night stay getting the advanced pay rate of $148 for the two nights which included tax. On reason we had booked this hotel was because of the pool and hot tub they have which we thought would be refreshing after each day of golfing. Unfortunately, both were under repair which was a real "downer." This hotel is somewhat outdated but clean. The sink did look like it could use a pumice stone, however. The beds are very comfortable. The front desk staff was also very accommodating. Always, looking to save a buck, it was also nice to have the $1.00 off coupons offered by the hotel per each meal for the Squeeze Inn Restaurant across the street where we had a great breakfast each morning. An additional tip I received from a fellow traveler staying at the hotel was that one is better off booking with the hotel directly for the best price rather than on the internet or calling Americas Best Value Inn reservation line. Over all, we were happy with our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank durf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie S, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn John Day, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate your comments. We use your comments to evaluate our Inn and plan any needed future renovations and to provide additional training for our staff.

We are taking appropriate steps to correct the conditions that you describe and we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced while staying at our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

This place isn't realy awful, but it lacks a lot of the things you take for granted at a real hotel. The light over the sink in my room would only work at night (figure that out!), and the plumbing was hooked up backwards there so until you figure that out you get lukewarm water when you're expecting cold. If housekeeping remembers to get to your room (they didn't make it every day) there was a good chance one of the doors to your room would be left open. Outside the hotel there's some random junk and belongings of long-term residents. There's a sign in the lobby proclaiming the pool and spa to be temporarily out of order, but it was framed and looked less than temporary. But then one day I walked by and some people were in there. It never felt unsafe, just unpleasant. If you're in John Day and desperate for lodging it'll work but there are better options that understandably fill up first.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramblindog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie S, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn John Day, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your taking the time to post them. We have reviewed your comments and our staff has corrected the items that you have noted. We apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced while staying at our facility and hope that you will again stay with us when next in the John Day area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn John Day? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn John Day

Property: Americas Best Value Inn John Day
Address: 390 W Main St, John Day, OR 97845-1074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > John Day
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in John Day
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn John Day 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn John Day reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn John Day Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing