We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, good beer”

1188 Brewing Company
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in John Day
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food, good beer”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Spent the night in John Day and as soon as we discovered there was a local brewery in town, went there to taste their beers. We decided to eat dinner there as to our surprise they offered food. As other reviewers have noted, their pork tacos with the mango salsa are fantastic. I highly recommend them if you like a little spice. We also had the bratwurst sliders which were excellent as well. I'm not sure if the buns were homemade or not, but they were great. I can't forget about the beer. We really loved the porter and amber ale.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rrqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    7
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
1 review
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stopped by for lunch after viewing the Painted Hills. Good beer and awesome pork tacos with mango sauce. Excellent value!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DuckFanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Local Brewery less than a year old”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This place has a great Oregon micro, craft brew sort of vibe to it. Tables and chairs that look locally made and have a funk factor, guest taps and their own craft brews on tap. Food was tasty, hot and a good value. The wings appetizer was surprisingly crispy, spicy and good - pulled pork "street" taco's with Mango salsa and chips didn't disappoint either.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JNJOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Come drink good beer. ”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Where ever I travel I'm always looking for a brewpub so I was delighted when I saw 1188 in John Day. Their in house beers are spot on, very good flavor and mouth feel. We ordered some food which was very tasty I had the caprese panini and a salad with pomegranate vinaigrette totally unexpected for John Day. Trista our server was a hoot and kept our glasses full. So come check out John Day's newest brewpub.

Helpful?
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty food, happy service, great beer”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed at the Best Western and two restaurants on Main Street were recommended, but between those two, I found this gem. I had the Box Car Pale Ale and a Caesar salad with shrimp. YUM! The beer was soooo good! The salad was huge, tasted fresh, and I really liked the shrimp. I paid $6 extra for shrimp; $2 more than adding chicken. I wanted shrimp and have no regrets about paying those $2. Fun place, well decorated in a hip style. Eat here! Open Monday through Saturday; closed Sundays.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winequine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1188 Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to 1188 Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing