We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
John Day
Post
Inbox
Search

“Dinner was amazing!”

Snaffle Bit Dinner House
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in John Day
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed June 25, 2018

Steak was perfect...wonderful choices on potatoes..baked sweet potato was to die for.
Salad so fresh and great choice of dressings...great service and fun atmosphere!
Reservations a good idea!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 88 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

Our meal was great, steaks cooked perfectly, big baked potato, simple salad, but the dinner rolls were hard as rocks.
What really redeemed, it was the caramel apple pie, oh my goodness I would have loved to had three of them to take home.
Service was good, interesting decor, but by the time we left my feet were blocks of ice.
Think, it was because we were in the bar area, felt quite a draft.
Not bad for a small town and everyone we asked said to go there.
Do make reservations...
Cheers

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank 188AndreaR188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

My very favorite restaurant. Order anything off the menu and it’s to die for good! Reservations are a must as this is a small place yet very comfortable and the wait staff very friendly.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Scenic310299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2018

Have only eaten here once but the Rib Eye steaks we had were great. I think they're closed currently for winter but opening in February.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2017

Excellent steaks (especially the tenderloin), salad and sides. Salad was served family style and yet to order. Steaks cooked perfectly over wide range of preferences. Service was prompt and just right. Prices are as cheap as anywhere in Oregon - and few places in the world would charge less. this is a place worth a drive and there aren't any more more of those in Eastern Oregon.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ortsofsorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snaffle Bit Dinner House also viewed

 

Been to Snaffle Bit Dinner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing