We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Painted Hills Day Trip”

Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in John Day
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kirkland, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Painted Hills Day Trip”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

One of the most beautiful views in Oregon. It is great destination for a day trip. Stay in Oregon Hotel in Mitchel, OR. Spend morning hiking and making pictures among Painted Hills. Go fossil hunting with small kids in the afternoon.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Poisik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    77
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Painted Hills of Oregon”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Spent a couple of days here on a trip from Seattle to San Francisco. The whole area is amazing. Started at Clarno and did various trails round the Blue Basin and in the Painted Hills. The rock colours and formations are stunning. The visitor centre really helps you to make sense of the fossils and to understand geology, especially when you see it in real life on the trails. What was surprising was how few other people there were - you had the place to yourself. We stayed overnight at John Day. If you have time, it's an interesting town to use as your base to see this area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank fxluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“out of this world scenery...”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We visited all 3 "units" of the monument. All 3 were great examples of the local geology. The paleontology center has some great exhibits. Most of the trails are very short and easy walking. My favorite was the painted cove trail - a boardwalk through some of the smaller "painted hills" that gives you an up-close view of the scenery.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Breathtaking place to visit. We spent over an hour visiting the area and taking pictures. No crowds. We had the place to ourselves. We would highly recommend this area. Too beautiful for words.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spray
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spectactular”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We are actually pretty lucky that we live nearby. We have brought our kids here many times and now we do so with our grandkids. I always recommend this area to visitors. If you want to go for a hike or just have a picnic lunch it's a great place to visit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Day Fossil Beds National Monument also viewed

 

Been to John Day Fossil Beds National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing