We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“out of this world scenery...”

Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in John Day
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“out of this world scenery...”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We visited all 3 "units" of the monument. All 3 were great examples of the local geology. The paleontology center has some great exhibits. Most of the trails are very short and easy walking. My favorite was the painted cove trail - a boardwalk through some of the smaller "painted hills" that gives you an up-close view of the scenery.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    77
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Breathtaking place to visit. We spent over an hour visiting the area and taking pictures. No crowds. We had the place to ourselves. We would highly recommend this area. Too beautiful for words.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spray
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spectactular”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We are actually pretty lucky that we live nearby. We have brought our kids here many times and now we do so with our grandkids. I always recommend this area to visitors. If you want to go for a hike or just have a picnic lunch it's a great place to visit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful area and well-done museum”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

These sites are fascinating and the viisitor center does an excellent job of explaining the significance, the finds and the layers of geologic and paleantological interest. My friend and I were sorry we didn't have our kids with us but they're long grown. The country is beautiful and surprisingly varied. Go to all the sites in this area--they are quite different and the landscape keeps opening up.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AllMimsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Journey through time”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Really cool historical sight at The Cant Ranch, beautiful geological formations and excellent visitors center.
Very peaceful and remote. A terriffic way to get out of the busle of the city (3+ hours away from Portland)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank troadtripgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Day Fossil Beds National Monument also viewed

 

Been to John Day Fossil Beds National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing