We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the Best” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Outpost

The Outpost
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in John Day
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fox Island, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Probably the Best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is probably the best place to eat in John Day, but don't expect too much. It is casual dinning. We sat in the bar, where the atmosphere was nicer. Dinning room seemed a little to much like a Cracker Barrell. Service was good, but food was so so. We split a very good salad, and split the entree, which was called Alice's Chicken. Not what we expected and sort of bland. Would eat there again, but order something different for the entree.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank walkersandlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    69
    24
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good American food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

The waiter was excellent, very attentive to our needs. Very helpful with selecting items off the menu. Very friendly staff. The apple crisp was out of this world

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Huge menu, friendly service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Burgers, pizza, meal type salads (to which you can add organic spring greens for an extra price). Good beers on tap. Best apple crisp pie I have ever had, deserts are all made on site. YUM. Big gift shop has lots of kitschy stuff to consider.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tasty fatty carby cheesy bbqy pizza with a cold beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The waitress was a bit brisk. I think she was pretty busy.

The bbq chicken pizza (with added jalapenos) was tasty and hit the spot. The personal was polished off easily by this pizza addict but was filling enough. The local Bend beer on tap was goooooood. My partner's salmon looked anemic especially since it was hold the creamy sauce but he enjoyed it. It came with loads of steamed broccoli and a little slice of garlic bread.

The place is friendly and warm and the food is solid. It ain't no fancy shmancy place...very American big portions and straight salty or buttery or cheesey or all the above type flavors. But well worth it if you're staying overnight in the area,

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erinkimsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outpost”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Right next door to our motel, Dreamers. Wide choice on the menu with some vegetarian food. Good value. Characterful place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank fxluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Outpost also viewed

 

Been to The Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing