We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding meal”

Jacksonville Inn Dining House
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Located in the center of Jacksonville, a historic town in Southern Oregon that got its start as part of the gold rush back in the 1850s, stands the Jacksonville Inn. It’s an elegant bed and breakfast housed in a building built in 18961 complete with walls made of locally quarried sandstone (specks of gold are still visible in the mortar). The historic hotel rooms blend distinctive 19th century décor with the necessities of a connected digital age, including a variety of modern comforts and amenities. Whether or not you are staying in the unforgettable rooms, you will love dining in the superb restaurant with its distinctive menu and impressive wine list featuring over 2,000 wines. The restaurant is known for its attention to detail and personal service and has a passion for building connections with its customers. The Jacksonville Inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It has served three U.S. presidents and has provided lodging for a U. S. president and First Lady.
Ashland, Oregon
1 review
“Outstanding meal”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The meal and service were outstanding in a great outdoor setting. We had reservations and arrived late but they were able to fit us in. We are planning to go back and take advantage of their dinner menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    79
    28
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Fine Dining in Southern Oregon!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This message has not been sent.Whether you're looking for a romantic atmosphere for dinner or a fine place to join friends & family for Sunday Brunch, Jacksonville Inn is the place to go! They have something for everyone. The Sunday Brunch is delightful! The servers are extremely attentiveDraft
This message has not been sent.ActionsClick here to continue working on this message.
Thursday, July 18, 2013 11:30 AM


Whether you're looking for a romantic atmosphere for dinner or a fine place to join friends & family for Sunday Brunch, Jacksonville Inn is the place to go! The food is absolutely scrumptious and the portions are perfect! They have something for everyone, from light refreshing salads to the most delectable prime rib you've ever tasted. Even their desserts are "to die for," (especially the chocolate mousse pie). There's a wine to match any meal perfectly & their coffee can't be beat! The Sunday Brunch is delightful! All the servers are extremely attentive and friendly, especially Cody and Micah. They treat you like family! There's even live music performed by Rod, a fantastic guitarist and entertainer! If you've never visited Jacksonville Inn, you MUST give it a try. You won't regret it!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDutra3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“HIstoric, romantic dining”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Chose this on the recommendation of several people we talked to while in the area. Wasn't disappointed! Started with the highly recommended Rogue Creamery Blue Cheese creme brulee for our appetizer and it was delicious! We both chose the rosemary grilled pork for our entree and it was delicious. Meal includes sides as well as choice of salad. We brought our own wine and paid the $15 corkage fee. The wine list is a complete 60+ page book!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debskalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“This is One of the Best Dining Experiences Ever - !”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Jacksonville Inn can hold its own with any restaurant in NYC! I've been in many NYC restaurants prior to joining Trip Advisor but, they are not recorded for comparison. As for the Jacksonville Inn, the culinary skills of the chef need a tremendous mention. For example, an order for lunch is preceded by complimentary champagne and pastries and then, the lunch you ordered is served - ! For dinner, when I asked about the Chardonnay wines available, I was given a taste-test of 3 that were available; this is a first in any restaurant. We ordered the halibut and were so happy with our selection -! The Creme Brulee is among the best also. Waitress service was over the top and the interior ambiance of old brick walls, plank floors and low lighting was not lost on our dining experience. This building dates back to the mid-1800's. It was such an exquisite dining experience!!! An added note: My friend sat in the same chair as "G-Dub," our 41st President. If you want a special place to go for an occasion with over-the-top food and atmosphere, this is it - !!! Absolutely awesome! It is important to know that they also offer on-site parking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoCalMare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALEXANDRIA
2 reviews
“Dining with Paul”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Paul, our waiter, saved the day. With great attention and care, he brought us excellent food despite some kind of snafu in the kitchen. The pear and walnut salad and the frittata were terrific choices for lunch. The warm bread was a wonderful indulgence and the coffee was memorably good. Perhaps the secret was with cream. We met Paul the waiter in July when he had only been working at the restaurant for two weeks. The day we had lunch was the first day of work for a new hostess. They worked diligently and graciously, trying to overcome some problems in the kitchen triggered by an overflow lunch crowd. Job well done!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHARON H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacksonville Inn Dining House also viewed

 

Been to Jacksonville Inn Dining House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing