We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Very recommendable

Departing every hour until early afternoon the trolley drives through Jacksonville and the very... read more

Reviewed August 26, 2018
eva1500
,
Linz, Austria
via mobile
Great tour

Took the trolley with my 4 year old & it was perfect. I got to learn the history of the town & see... read more

Reviewed July 10, 2018
Ree707
,
California
via mobile
Read all 52 reviews
  
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
36
9
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
9
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews town's history cute town every hour gold rush town historic jacksonville driver overview ride fun wave stories visitors bargain notes
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 50 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

Departing every hour until early afternoon the trolley drives through Jacksonville and the very knowledgeable driver explains the fascinating history of the city and you get to see all the historic buildings and houses and their stories.
Tour lasts approx 45 minutes.

Thank eva1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018 via mobile

Took the trolley with my 4 year old & it was perfect. I got to learn the history of the town & see all the historical buildings while my little one got to hang out on the trolley & wave to all the people. Best $9 I’ve ever spent.

Thank Ree707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018

There were only 2 of us on the early July afternoon when we boarded the trolley so we really got a "private" tour! The Tour Driver was new to his job so he had to pause and consult notes as we went along but he covered Jacksonville's history thoroughly and it was really a pleasant, informative ride. The most surprising part, however, was the new development in town which has been built to strictest, historical guidelines and the home blend in perfectly! Amazing to realize they AREN'T historical!
Overall, the whole tour was much more than worth the tiny cost!

1  Thank OregonJan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018 via mobile

During a road trip from Albany to Sacramento, our family decided to stop for lunch in Jacksonville. We took advantage of the stop to do the trolley tour and are so glad we did! We have never been to Jacksonville and for under an hour our guide took us on a lovely tour filled with history and trivia. He even let our five year old ring the bell at the end of the tour. It was a fun experience for all.

Thank Honey_and_Bunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2018

The Jacksonville Trolley is a great way to discover the people, places, and events that make up historic Jacksonville. The trolley offers five guided tours a day May through October, as well as private tours and rentals. Tickets are very reasonable ($6 for adults) and only sold in person and on the day of the tours. The 45 minute tour is well worth the time - you will learn a lot of interesting history of this gold-rush town. You can also book the trolley for private events.

1  Thank TheGoodHeartedWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile

This was a great tour sharing things about many of the properties we had already walked or driven by. This is such a charming town. Our driver was in town helping out but had done these in the past.

It was entertaining and educational. We even learned about Bozo the clowns childhood home! This 45 minute tour is worth the $6 and your time.

1  Thank PeeDeeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile

Our first visit to this charming historic town! Our guide was friendly and witty and gave us a good overview of the abundance of rich history of this cute town! If it's your first time here, don't miss the trolly tour!

1  Thank munchkin2plump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I took a history tour of Jacksonville. The docent was in costume, very knowledgeable and humorous. For anyone interested in learning a bit of that charming town's history this is a fun way of doing so.

Thank 66dagmarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

Well done and worth the time. True insight into 160 years ago history. Clearly presented and not rushed.

Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

This would be more enjoyable to ride on a cooler day than on the 105 degree day we had. Guide was knowledgeable. I would recommend this $6 tour over walking aimlessly through town. Highlighted homes of prominent Jacksonville residents of the past mostly unknown to us tourists. Most memorable sights were the former home of Bozo the Clown and the stream where gold was initially found. Overall, Jacksonville is a small town that can be visited quickly.

Thank Marvin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews