We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite accomadating Inn Keepers”
Review of Magnolia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magnolia Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Jacksonville B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 28, 2009

The Inn is centrally located, charming and very accomadating to our needs. A fifty year re-union of five couples from College days. The dining area was great for us to eat , plan and visit for the start of our day. The Inn Keeper was there to assist in directions and great suggestions as well as making sure the homemade scones and cinamon rolls were accompanied with great Peet's coffee.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snooks01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 185 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2009

The owners of the Magnolia Inn have turned this beautiful structure into a home for the traveler. The surroundings would please royalty and the location is just blocks away from the historic downtown of Jacksonville.... There is a breakfast room located on the second floor where you can meet other travelers or sit on the balcony and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1ponygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

It's sometimes hard to find a B&B with twin beds. We found one in the Magnolia Inn. It was just what I would expect of a good B&B...
a very friendly owner, beautiful house, and lovely gardens. We also liked the breakfast room that was open all day with a fridge to store things in. I'm not a fan of the sit-down breakfast with all the guests so the breakfast at your leisure was just my cup of tea. There was fresh fruit, cereal, toast, tea and hot choc, and fresh pastries available.
Plenty of porches to relax on and everything within walking distance makes this a place we would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huttpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2007

We stumbed onto the Magnolia Inn after deciding to get off I-5 and travel through Ashland. We have traveled the I-5 corridor since we moved to Seattle and my family lives in Southern Calif.
While driving through Ashland, Or. we decided to follow the signs to Historic Jacksonville. My wife went in to check out the hotel and returned stating that "this was the place". I was not sure what she saw that made her decide that the Magnolia was the place. It had a cute facade but I did not see anything special. I assumed she must have been really tired and did not want to check out other places to stay.
I proceeded to check in and found out the basis fro her statement. Robert the co-owner was very personable and sonw to earth. He showed us all the available rooms and they were nicely appointed. T.V.'s were a bit small but adequate.
I will caution future quests to think twice about picking the accessible room downstairs (where we stayed) since there is a waste pipe from the toilet upstairs that is in the wall and sounds like a waterfall everytime someone flushes. You get used to it.
My main reason for rating this Inn as above average was because of the owners. Robert and his wife are very helpful and make you feel at home. It so comfortable that there usually are freshly baked cookies available upstairs along with microwave pop-corn, licorice. There is a large selection of films for the VCR.
There are games and books. Breakfast is continental and if weather permits there is a nice upstairs outdoor deck to have you coffee and muffins.
We stayed two days and told Robert he need not fix the room up but he insisted on sprucing it up.
He also offered to carry luggage. We would recommend a stay at the Magnolia.

Stayed: November 2007
Thank JohnRenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2007

As part of a trip to Southern Oregon that included stops in Jacksonville and Ashland, we decided to stay at the Magnolia Inn. I'm a historic preservationist and enjoy staying in historic B&Bs whenever I travel. Admittedly, I'm perhaps more picky than your average traveller, but I was disappointed that the Magnolia didn't have a much historic character on the inside. It looked very much like your typical hotel on the interior, though pleasantly decorated and quite clean. We were in room #5. I wasn't a fan of the mattresses. Though new (the owner told me), they were much too soft and bouncy for my taste. The bathroom was spacious and we had easy access to the large veranda. The weather was already quite hot when we stayed here at the end of May and it was a little frustrating that our room did not have its own thermostat. We were too hot at night. Breakfasts were nothing spectacular--fruit, muffins, juice and coffee/tea. The inn's location is terrific, but there seem to be many historic inns in Jacksonville, so I would recommend looking elsewere before booking here (though this inn may be one of the cheaper ones in town).

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank EloiseRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2006

Like a favorite dish in a restaurant, I have always returned to the Magnolia Inn since I found it on my first visit to Jacksonville. I am always given the same room where I feel quite at home. The breakfast room is charming, is wonderful place to meet the other guests and the refrigerator is open in case you want to store a something of your own ~ a bottle of wine, for instance. Ambiance is wonderfully appealing here, but the gracious and helpful staff is an even greater asset. Of course, everything is close by in Jacksonville and this street is central to any other attraction whether it be dining, shopping or attenting the annual musical event.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Hubby101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonville
15.1 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.5 mi away
Country House Inns Jacksonville
0.1 mi away
Jacksonville Inn
Jacksonville Inn
#2 of 8 in Jacksonville
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Bybee's Historic Inn
Bybee's Historic Inn
#4 of 8 in Jacksonville
107 reviews
15.5 mi away
Weasku Inn
Weasku Inn
#1 of 15 in Grants Pass
439 reviews
0.2 mi away
TouVelle House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Inn

Address: 245 N 5th St, P.O. Box 1319, Jacksonville, OR 97530-9258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville
Price Range: $138 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jacksonville's Magnolia Inn, built in 1928 and located in the heart of historic Jacksonville, Oregon, boasts nine comfortably elegant rooms, each featuring premium linens, private bath and central air. The boutique Inn has been completely renovated, and provides a unique blend of casual elegance filled with charming hospitality. The lush floral grounds beckon you to relax and unwind in one of the numerous sitting areas, each having wonderful views of several of the town's most historic buildings. Our expansive continental breakfast allows you to wake up on your schedule and dine at your leisure in the dining area or on our picturesque and inviting veranda. Jacksonville's Magnolia Inn is the perfect spot for romantic getaways, vacation and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Magnolia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing