We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No soundproofing in two-story units.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jacksonville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wine Country Inn - Country House Inns Jacksonville
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Sonoma, CA USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No soundproofing in two-story units.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have stayed at this property since it was The Stage Lodge and since it has been called Wine Country Inn.
We have always stayed in the unit with one floor, and if we ever go back, that will be where we stay. Everything started out great--just as before check-in in was efficient and friendly, our room was very clean and it was perfect the first night when no one stayed above us. The second night we were preparing to get a great night's sleep due to a 5:30 AM start to our trip home. About 11:30 or after a group (seems like maybe 4 young "adults") came roaring in, shouting to each other (maybe drunk?) and clomped up and down the stairs several times before spending the next 2 hours "partying" in the room. There is no sound-proofing, and every step evokes a loud squeak from the floor and these people were either stomping or throwing bowling balls--couldn't figure it out--producing loud thumping sounds. Since there is no overnight staff, we were tempted to call the local police dept. to see if perhaps these "guests" could be persuaded to join civilized society and calm down and go to sleep--I think some other guests asked them to tone it down, but the noise in the room kept us awake until almost 2:00 AM.

Compliments to Aaron who checked us in and out (we checked out the night before). But we were promised an e-mail copy of our receipt and have never received it. We stayed the nights of Monday and Tuesday, July 8 and 9, 2013.

Room Tip: NEVER, never stay on the first floor of the two-story buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulainSonoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LydiaInnkeeper, Manager at The Wine Country Inn - Country House Inns Jacksonville, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I also appreciate the fact that you have been a repeat guest with us for quite some time. I hope you do decide to visit us again. Please ask for me when making your reservation so I can offer you a discount and assure you a room in the single floor building.

I understand how important an uninterrupted night of sleep is, especially with a 5:30 AM start time. I am sorry that you were disturbed by a number of instances during the night. Our staff is instructed to provide each guest with a map of Jacksonville that lists our after- hours number on it. If you did not receive this, I do apologize. Although our lobby is not open overnight, I am available to help with any after-hour situations upon calling the number.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to make up for your previous stay. We continue to be committed to providing our guests the highest level of satisfaction possible. If you still have not receive your receipt, please give us a call so that we can verify your email address.

Warm Regards,
Lydia Gibson
Country House Inns Jacksonville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    39
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
23
51
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
portland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the Wine Country Inn over the 4th of July holiday weekend. We stayed in unit 30 which is a small house with three units; away from the motel and in the heart of Jacksonville. It has a king bed, sofa, table and chairs, refrigerator and a small bathroom. It was clean, comfortable and quiet. My main complaints were: 1) street parking which was not easy on a busy weekend; and 2) the bathroom needs updating. The location is perfect for attending a show at the Britt. The town has many shops and restaurants. The room in the small house is a good value. It was a nice touch to receive a $10 breakfast credit for several restaurants in town. We ate at the Mustard Seed Cafe. The food was good, service was slow as they were slammed during the busy holiday weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libbylulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stopped for one night in the very cute, quaint town of Jacksonville. The inn is a motel on a main but not very busy street. We had a room at the back on the first floor which was spacious, clean and comfortable. The hotel is just a short walk from the town. We didn't try the breakfast, but check in and check out was very friendly and efficient

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWelshRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinleyville, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was a pleasant place to stay. Pet friendly (we took our dog so we got a pet room). The two stored facility had me worried as we also brought our grandkids and I didn't want them to disturb people as I was picturing more of an Inn or B&B. I called them and they reassured us they were also family friendly.
Rooms were clean (although we could see evidence of dog scratches by someone who appeared to lock their dog in the bathroom). The woman at the main desk said they were repairing all the damages by pets.
The place was quiet in a quiet location of town. We didn't walk around, but I could imagine that would be pleasant and safe.
They serve a free continental breakfast which consisted of juices, coffee and tea, apples and the most delicious scones. The lobby is small and does not really offer much seating, and I guess that explains why I saw many patrons come in and grab their stuff to go.
There is not pool, but we were out of our rooms for most of the day anyway.

Room Tip: They have designated pet rooms. It's a smaller place, so just about any room would be nice. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CinSav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had stayed at the hotel last year; it was a so nice that when we planned to visit again this year we called Wendy at the front desk to say we were coming up again at the end of April. We were bringing my Mom this time so there would be 3 of us. Wendy suggested we might like one of the several cottages downtown that they offer....king room with a queen bedroom attached. It was very homey...fireplace, comfy beds, clean linens, a front porch on "C Street" - that is one block off the quaint Jacksonville downtown shopping and dining area!!! Not noisy at all-everthing within walking distance. We got a voucher for breakfast with a selection of several places-we chose the Mustardseed both mornings-great food, fun, efficient staff!
We made sure we called Wendy before we left to thank her and we would like to extend our thanks again here...she was wonderful and made sure we were comfortable and had everthing we needed. We were half way home to California and got a phone call that we had left one of our phone chargers-she offered to mail it to us and 2 days later, we had it. We have plans for many return visits...we will always hope there is room for us at The Wine Country Inn...

Room Tip: Ask for Wendy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Konter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Was recovering from a trip down the Rogue river and waiting for our flight out of Medford the next day. Myself and the other survivors weren't looking forward to spending our last day/night in the various uninspired motels near the airport and took a chance at a small selection of places in Jacksonville. We got lucky with the Country House Inn and went for a lengthy afternoon/evening walk through the historic section of town, enjoying a fine evening of walking and dining. At the end, we finished the evening with a bottle of local Moscato on the hotel patio. The next day, we had a nice but unimpressive simple "continental" breakfast consisting of pastries, bagels, coffee, juices, etc. Not anything that required the services of a kitchen staff. Overall, the stay was pleasant, simple, and relaxing.

Room Tip: No swimming pool. No identified need for significant room service unless something in the room is w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diamondtail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for a week in August while attending an art retreat. The town is wonderful...great old buildings with lots of character! The Wine Country Inn is one of a number of properties managed by Country House Inns. Our room was nice, and the beds were very comfortable. It was nice to have a refrigerator too, since it was quite hot during our stay. The continental breakfast was a nice thought, though I was told after the first morning, that the decaf coffee was a "special order" and I'd have to wait for it. We had to be in class at a certain hour, so ended up going up the street to get coffee at a drive-thru. The scones were OK, but there seemed to be some inconsistency in baking...overdone & underdone. At any rate, appreciated the effort. I would recommend this place, since it is clean and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fc646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonville
17.7 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
4.5 mi away
Inn at the Commons
Inn at the Commons
#6 of 35 in Medford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Country House Inns Jacksonville
0.5 mi away
Magnolia Inn
Magnolia Inn
#3 of 8 in Jacksonville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jacksonville Inn
Jacksonville Inn
#1 of 8 in Jacksonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wine Country Inn - Country House Inns Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wine Country Inn - Country House Inns Jacksonville

Property: The Wine Country Inn - Country House Inns Jacksonville
Address: 830 N 5th St, P.O. Box 1316, Jacksonville, OR 97530-9028 (Formerly The Stage Wine Country Inn - Country House Inns Jacksonville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside historic downtown Jacksonville, the Wine Country Inn (formerly the Stage Lodge) is the perfect spot to explore all that Southern Oregon has to offer. Offering 40 rooms and suites, the Wine Country Inn is situated just outside the historic district of Jacksonville, close to all the shopping, dining and attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wine Country Inn - Country House Inns Jacksonville Hotel Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing