We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good German Food”

Frau Kemmling Schoolhaus Brewhaus
Ranked #7 of 25 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good German Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Hidden gem in the Medford area. I travel to Germany several times a year and in my opinion the food at the Schoolhaus is some of the most authentic German food that I have enjoyed in the States. The menu has a great variety of offerings including great desserts and beer. The wait staff is always entertaining and the service is great. I travel to the Medford area several times a year and I always try to dine at this establishment. I recommend the Schoolhaus for a great dinner and great atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    64
    23
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aloha, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Were there for a catered birthday dinner, accomodations had to be made for food allergies, but everything was great. Are going to return with family for another try ala carte next visit...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank foxmedicine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best German Food in Oregon!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is one of the best restaurant experiences in Oregon. It is out of the way if you are travelling down Interstate 5, but it is well worth the trip. The German food is outstanding and the atmosphere is great. There is a wonderful selection of German beer. It is a nice family atmosphere. If you are around for the Holidays, it is very "Christmassy". The restaurant was built in an old schoolhouse.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ducksrule137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding German ambience and cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

After a week of rafting down the Rogue river, my survivors and myself spent a splendid day sampling some of the local vineyards and settling into a B&B in Jacksonville to chill until our flight out of Medford the next day. Jacksonville is a picturesque little town and we enjoyed walking around the historical sights as the afternoon waned. Quite by accident, in the late afternoon, we noticed a few signs indicating that there was a local German restaurant nearby. We eventually found it to be a discrete establishment that had taken resident in a "re-tasked" high school building. Since it was close to dinner, we took a chance, went in and were seated out on the biergarten. It was wonderful, especially after being seated into the pleasant biergarten in the back. The food and beer were excellent, the service was friendly and the ambiance was sublime. It was a jewel and a fine end to a fine day. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diamondtail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A quiet Monday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

It seems the best time for a quiet meal happens to be on a Monday. That's when everyone is mostly at home watching a game and there is not a big crowd at the restauraunt. As usual the kids get chicken nuggets or something and we enjoy our German food. But do request a reservation to guarantee a spot after 6pm.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaimers033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frau Kemmling Schoolhaus Brewhaus also viewed

 

Been to Frau Kemmling Schoolhaus Brewhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing