We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made my wedding perfect!”
Review of Jacksonville Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jacksonville Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Jacksonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2010

My husband and I traveled from Phoenix to have our wedding in Jacksonville near my parents. We had heard wonderful things about the Jacksonville Inn, and we were not disappointed. Jerry Evans, the owner, was extremely attentive to our wishes and even recommended fantastic wine at a very reasonable price. We had a lot of out of town guests, and our closest relatives stayed at the inn or in the honeymoon cottages and were very pleased with their stay. The surrounding area is also beautiful, and our guests enjoyed sight seeing in the area and in historic Jacksonville. We had the rehearsal dinner and wedding dinner catered by the Inn and both meals and the service were excellent. We also stayed in a honeymoon cottage on our wedding night and the accommodations (including champagne) were very comfortable and romantic. Now whenever we visit my parents, we make sure we get a meal or two (or three) at the Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ETrayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 179 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2010

After reading wonderful reviews of the Jacksonville Inn, we chose to stay there for several days while seeing the sights and visiting Crater Lake. We chose Cottage #11, and while it was clean and spacious, it definitely could use some redecorating. All the pictures were old and faded, the front curtains were coming out of the window frame, and the fake floral decorations looked like they had been in the room since the seventies. The best word we could come up with was that the room looked 'tired'. Also, there was a sour smell in the shower area.
The restaurant was excellent, breakfasts were very good.
We expected the cottages to be a little more up to date considering what we had to pay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

This is our second time staying at the Jacksonville Inn, and once again it was an incredible experience. We stayed in Cottage #9, which is conveniently located just one block up from the main street. The weather was beautiful while we were up, and the attached garden with seating area was very welcome.

I love the steam shower here – I dream about it when I return home – and the other amenities (fireplace, canopied bed, whirlpool tub) make it just about as cozy as it could be.

The staff here is helpful and knowledgable, and the attached wine shop is a huge benefit! The selection is outrageous, and the focus on Oregon wines (especially Southern Oregon wines, which are almost impossible to find in Northern California, where we're from) was great.

The restaurant is famous for good reason. The included breakfast is delicious and unique – well above the fare at most bed and breakfasts.

We come up to the area twice a year to visit the Shakespeare Festival, and are always torn between the Jacksonville Inn and the Winchester Inn in Ashland. Although being walking distance from the Festival is great, Jacksonville is a really incredible town in its own right, and the drive to Ashland is not bad at all.

We had the good fortune to be in town on the day of its 150th Anniversary, and the parade went right by our cottage! The character in this town is fabulous, and the Jacksonville Inn definitely builds on that character.

I would recommend staying here heartily to anyone coming up to taste in the Rogue Valley or Applegate Valley, to take in the sights of Jacksonville, or to see shows at OSF.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendanmcguigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised upon our arrival to be upgraded to one of the lovely cottages as the innkeeper was aware of our celebrating Dave's 60TH birthday. The cottage is extremely comfortable and private with a canopied king size bed, large jacuzzi tub, steam shower and fireplace. Every morning we had breakfast in the inn's restaurant (just a block away from the cottages) and could order ANYTHING from the menu and the food was wonderful! We also dined in the restaurant the first night and had an amazing meal and dined the subsequent 2 evenings in the bistro with also fabulous cuisine - the dungeness crab cocktail, crab cakes and Caesar's salad with crab were just LOADED with crabmeat and the desserts were fantastic - especially the huckleberry strudel! The town has some very cute and unique shops and we were lucky enough to be able to attend the 150TH anniversary parade and festivities, the innkeepers and staff were so very friendly as was the townspeople - what AMERICANA is all about! We ventured out to CRATER LAKE (about 2 hours) and were rewarded with beautiful vistas and also enjoyed walking along UNION CREEK (just before CRATER LAKE) We will DEFINITELY return to the Jacksonville Inn! The inn's wine shop is very well stocked with extremely reasonable prices!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4EverLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed in one of the Cottages one night and one of the regular rooms the 2nd night. Both rooms were adorable and romantic. They have this skylight over the spa tub in the cottage that was incredible. The service was friendly and helpful, We had dinner in the room next to the bar and the food was great . If you are a wine lover like us, I suggest you tour the wine room.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fun4nickee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We booked a cottage and had high hopes with our first visit to the Jacksonville area. We loved the town and had some great meals there (including a dinner at the Jacksonville Inn). However, our cottage was tired and grubby. Stains on the carpet and on the sofabed. There was very little natural or other light, so the whole place felt dark and dingy. It was not particularly clean either, with worrisome brown spotting on the bathroom walls. The bed was extremely uncomfortable -- with a dip in the middle into which I and my partner rolled continually. Every time one of us moved, the whole bed creaked and groaned. The cottage backed onto a major road, and the traffic trundled by loudly not 20 feet from the headboard. We checked out early. We will return to visitJacksonville, and also hopefully dine again at this inn's restaurant. However, we will not stay overnight at this inn, which (at $300 per night) was incredibly over priced. On the plus side, the hotel staff was extremely friendly and food at the restaurant was very, very good.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theronware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

My fiance and I really needed a get-away weekend and Jacksonville was our destination. Our stay at the Jacksonville Inn was delightful. The history of the town itself is intriguing and we spent the better part of a day walking along the historic streets, stopping in the various shops and talking with the local merchants. My favorite part of the trip was exploring the local pioneer cemetery-so much history there! The meal we had for dinner at the Jacksonville Inn was one of the best I've ever had. I don't know who the chef is, but the smells coming from the kitchen were intoxicating and the butternut squash soup was the BEST soup I've ever had. The caramelized onion and BBQ chicken pizza appetizer was to die for. The rest of the meal was impressive as well. We were seated next to the piano player and she played beautifully - a nice touch. The bartender (Brandi) made the tastiest lemon drop martinis (with a raspberry!) yum. We stayed in Room #1, which was quaint, comfy and close to everything. The complimentary coffee and biscotti in the hallway each morning were a total plus! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisasparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonville
20.2 mi away
The Lodge at Riverside
The Lodge at Riverside
#3 of 18 in Grants Pass
644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magnolia Inn
Magnolia Inn
#3 of 8 in Jacksonville
182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Country House Inns Jacksonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bybee's Historic Inn
Bybee's Historic Inn
#4 of 8 in Jacksonville
107 reviews
15.5 mi away
Weasku Inn
Weasku Inn
#1 of 15 in Grants Pass
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
TouVelle House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacksonville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacksonville Inn

Address: 175 E California St, Jacksonville, OR 97530-9451
Location: United States > Oregon > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville
Price Range: $175 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jacksonville Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in one of gold-rush Jacksonville's early permanent structures, the Jacksonville Inn perpetuates the nostalgic romances of that era. Built in 1861, the walls of the dining area and lounge were built of locally quarried sandstone, and specks of gold are still visible in the mortar. The town is the first in America to be named a National Historic Landmark, and Jacksonville has preserved its 19th Century charm.Located in the heart of this national landmark town, The Inn is an elegant historic bed and breakfast featuring luxurious Honeymoon Cottages. Gerry Frank of the Portland Oregonian named the Inn as the "Most Romantic" lodging in Oregon.As one of Oregon's most acclaimed restaurants, it received the Medford Mail Tribune's "Readers' Choice Award" for five consecutive years as "Best Restaurant." The Wine and Gift Shop has over 2,000 wines and received Wine Spectator magazine's "Best of Award of Excellence," one of 600 in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jacksonville Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing