We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“elegant slice of history with great attention to detail”
Review of Jacksonville Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jacksonville Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Jacksonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We love our stays at the J'ville Inn. Everything from the décor to the beautiful gardening and flowers beds welcome you. A little bit of a history lesson with every room. The staff, at every level, is most helpful and responsive. Whenever we travel to Southern Oregon - for Shakespeare, Britt, or jazz festivals - we look forward to staying at the Inn. The combination of hotel and great dining can't be beat.

Henry D

Room Tip: Enjoy one of the cottages. They are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 179 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

Great room!!! Very clean. We loved the antique furniture. The fresh flowers gave the room the perfect aroma. The towels were fluffy and the shower was a good size with great water pressure. The morning coffee service was convenient and close.

Room Tip: It's a must. Each room is decorated differently. Go to the website to see them all. It is our go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great service and cottages are awesome with restraunt was perfect jerry takes it personal and bar tended kelsie knows how to make a great cocktails and sue our server at dinner shinned great food and wine

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed in the Peter Britt room on our wedding night. The service was excellent. The location of this historic Inn was perfect as it is situated on the main street through Jacksonville. This provided for short walks to shopping, dining, nightife, and the Britt gardens. The room was nice (the decor was a bit dated). It was clean, quiet, with a comfortable canopy bed. The Peter Britt room had a jetted tub as well.

The wine shop at the Inn has a tremendous selection for fairly reasonable prices. In the evening when the wine shop is closed, guests can order wine/champagne by the bottle in the restaurant at wine shop prices (to be taken back to the room).

The restaurant has rather dated decor. I wouldn't call it historic. Other than that it is top notch - excellent service and fare.

Room Tip: At check-in the Inn may give you an upgraded room at a reduced price or at no extra charge if it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We always look for vintage hotels during our road trips, and this one turned out to be very nice. Even though it was a busy street, the room was quiet and comfortable and we enjoyed our night here. There was a parking lot in the back so parking was easy. The breakfast in the restaurant was really fantastic. Everything was fresh and perfect with attentive service. We only had one complaint/suggestion that would have made our experience at the inn more pleasant. We are used to having some kind of snack or beverage provided in the evening, especially in nicer hotels and where there is no fridge/microwave available in the room. There was nothing here at all...no tea, no coffee, no cookies, not even a bottle of water. We were told that there would at least be coffee/tea in the hallway early in the morning. When we went to get a cup of tea at the scheduled time, the water in the thermos was barely warm so the tea bag did not brew at all. (I can't say whether the coffee was good since neither of us are coffee-drinkers). So the lack of snacks in the evening and tepid water in the morning were disappointments. Otherwise, we had a very nice stay at this inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anameineed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SadieJville, Owner at Jacksonville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

TRIP ADVISOR- "VERY NICE STAY"- RESPONSE

Apologies are extended for not having hot water available for the guests' morning tea. This error apparently occurred because the insulated containers that store the tea water were not adequately pre-warmed. In the 37 years that we have owned The Inn, this is the first time we have ever encountered a problem: and we will certainly make every effort to be sure of never having a re-occurrence. Along with morning tea and coffee, our guests can also enjoy complimentary freshly baked, Inn-made Biscotti.

Since the Jacksonville Inn is a historic property built in 1861, we endeavor to conceal the modern conveniences that customer's desire. Each room has a refrigerator that is concealed in an antique-replicated cabinet. It is likely the guest did not open the cabinet to find the refrigerator. In a similar situation, a few years ago, we had a departing guest express disappointment that the room did not have a television. In fact, the TV was in a concealed cabinet just like refrigerator.

Since we have a wine and gift shop on site that is stocked with snacks, we have always assumed that this availability would suffice for afternoon snacks. The Inn serves lunch at 11 a.m. until 2 p.m. and we begin serving meals in the Bistro Dining Room at 4 p.m.We also have four cottages that have refrigerators and microwaves as well as honor bars that are stocked with beverages and snacks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I am from New York and I wanted to surprise my sister, who lives in Oregon, a surprise "70TH BIRTHDAY". Did a little research and found the Jacksonville Inn. Read the reviews and I was impressed. But you never know. Like I said "I'm from New York."
Spoke to Planton who is in charge of catering and that made my decision. Booked the rooms and had the surprise party right there in the restaurant...So convenient.
The food was out of this world for the party. Breakfast was included every morning in the dining room with a full menu, delicious...Outside my room every morning was tea, coffee, biscuits and the news paper.
The Service was so professional and friendly from the moment that we checked in.
We had two servers. Micah from breakfast to early evening. Whatever we needed, he was right there with a big smile... For the surprise party, which was 20 of us, Cody was our server plus. He handled everything from cocktails to dinner and desert and always with a friendly smile. They all became part of our family.
I WILL PROBABLY HAVE A FAMILY REUNION NEXT YEAR AT THE JACKSONVILLE INN.

The location is great...wineries, Crater Lake, Rogue River and so much more. You can plan a day trip every day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Busy little town, with shops in abundance and lots of bars, restaurants and wine tasting establishments. Has a real gold rush feel about it and the Main Street has retained it's authentic look. Jacksonville Inn is a quaint inn. Seems to have lots of rooms and lots of stairs! Our room was rather small (2) - we had booked one which we thought to be larger (3) since we were touring for two weeks and had luggage. Unfortunately room 3 turned out to be unavailable. Small Queen bed, which was comfortable and excellent spacious bathroom. Breakfast in one of the restaurants downstairs was excellent and the young server,cold not do enough to please. We ate in the Bistro which is either outside or in a sort of basement. Clearly popular with locals, but we found it rather dark. Huge menu. What we had was acceptable. Helpful and attentive service throughout. Fortunately the owner/manager assisted us with our luggage otherwise three flights of stairs would have been a struggle. Tea and Coffee available on the landing in the mornings.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank moses_karibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonville
20.2 mi away
The Lodge at Riverside
The Lodge at Riverside
#3 of 18 in Grants Pass
646 reviews
17.9 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Magnolia Inn
Magnolia Inn
#3 of 8 in Jacksonville
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Country House Inns Jacksonville
1.1 mi away
Bybee's Historic Inn
Bybee's Historic Inn
#4 of 8 in Jacksonville
107 reviews
15.5 mi away
Weasku Inn
Weasku Inn
#1 of 15 in Grants Pass
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacksonville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacksonville Inn

Address: 175 E California St, Jacksonville, OR 97530-9451
Location: United States > Oregon > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville
Price Range: $159 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jacksonville Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in one of gold-rush Jacksonville's early permanent structures, the Jacksonville Inn perpetuates the nostalgic romances of that era. Built in 1861, the walls of the dining area and lounge were built of locally quarried sandstone, and specks of gold are still visible in the mortar. The town is the first in America to be named a National Historic Landmark, and Jacksonville has preserved its 19th Century charm.Located in the heart of this national landmark town, The Inn is an elegant historic bed and breakfast featuring luxurious Honeymoon Cottages. Gerry Frank of the Portland Oregonian named the Inn as the "Most Romantic" lodging in Oregon.As one of Oregon's most acclaimed restaurants, it received the Medford Mail Tribune's "Readers' Choice Award" for five consecutive years as "Best Restaurant." The Wine and Gift Shop has over 2,000 wines and received Wine Spectator magazine's "Best of Award of Excellence," one of 600 in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Jacksonville Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing