We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great, quiet, friendly place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bybee's Historic Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Jacksonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shingletown, California
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“What a great, quiet, friendly place.”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Found this on travel zoo and upon calling found the person on the phone to be so polite and helpful. Upon arriving, the building is beautiful. It's an old home built in the 1800's, but has all the modern updates. One of the owners took us on a tour upon our arrival and is so sweet. The room we had has a large 2 person bathtub with seperate shower, fireplace (gas), sitting area and large comfy bed with a dvd player and tv, if you need it. There is a parlor, dining room, large kitchen and deck with chairs and tables. The refer had a constant supply of ice tea (very good blend of teas) and water. The 3 course breakfast is made fresh daily and changes every day..yum, yum. Also, fresh cookies are made daily, also differ from day to day, and are put out for the afternoon and evening, such as oatmeal chocolate chip and lemon bar cookie. This inn is close to both Jacksonville and Medford, for shopping and eating. This is a beautiful get away and the owners bend over backwards to make you stay the best that it can be. Also, a very, very clean place, and very quiet and peaceful at night.

Room Tip: upon calling, ask to see which rooms are available, some have their own bath, some don't. Some a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forefrnite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    2
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
73
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2012

My husband and I just stayed a night at the charming Bybee Inn. We were driving from Vancouver, WA to Yosemite, California and decided to take a slight detour off I-5 to stay here and visit Jacksonville. What a delightful change of pace. Both the Inn and Jacksonville were charming. The Inn is run by Cousins who obviously have put their hearts and souls into decorating and caring for their home and garden. Everything was immaculate. It was so peaceful, we slept very well and the bed was extremely comfortable. We had champagne and chocolate covered strawberries on arrival. Breakfast was delicious the next morning and we would heartily recommend the Inn and Jacksonville. We ate dinner at the Jacksonville Inn and had a very good meal. The Hills.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillspdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Grove, Oregon, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This was the first night of our highly anticipated vacation. This got us off to a great start. The home and grounds were immaculate and every creature comfort was not only met, but exceeded our expectations. The jacuzzi tub melted away our stresses, the bed was SO comfortable and breakfast a gourmet delight!! We will definitely be back and cannot wait!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2012

My wife and I recently visited the Bybee House in Jacksonville for Valentine dinner. While the ambience, service and company were very good, the food with the exception of the salad was absolutely horrible. They said it was a sirloin steak. It was not, and the piece of meat they did serve was absolutely "hammered". It was more than well done. All six people at the table had the same experience with the meat. Because the conversation and company was so good, I did not want to make an issue of it at that time. When I got up to pay I was not pleased to learn that the food was catered in from some cafe in town. Now if I am going to take my bride out for valentine dinner and drop $100, I have and expectation of the food being prepared by a competant chef and being what was advertised. That expectation does not include catered food. It is a shame with such a beautifully taken care of place and friendly help that the food is so bad. I feel deceived on how they conducted their business. We will never go back, nor can we recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg51920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bybees, Owner at Bybee's Historic Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment. It was advertised as a catered event dinner and we are no longer using this chef for our events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creswell, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We did not want to leave and can not wait to go back. Our new home away from home.
Everything was excellent. Thanks Vikki and Tina

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodygroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

When William Bybee built his home in the 1850's, he couldn't have picked a better location for an inn. Neither could he possibly have imagined that 160 years later, people from far and wide would visit and experience the grandeur of what he alone once possessed.

We have visited quite a few very special inns/B&B's here in the states and abroad, but after staying at Bybee's, we now have a new higher standard with which to measure all others.

Leaving WAS like saying "Goodbye" to family.

Each breakfast WAS a culinary delight, as a gift given and not soon forgotten.

Our room (The Elizabethan Room) WAS elegant, cozy--yes, special! (We recognized the English linens and robes.)

A beautiful Bed &Breakfast being run, by two very special cousins, with creativity, sincerity, loving care, and total passion.

All this for OUR (And Your) enjoyment!

Room Tip: Our first floor room was bright and very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theludwigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Bybee House over Thanksgiving weekend (2011). We were in the Americana room, which is quite large with a lot of room for relaxing during down time. The room is exactly as the photos show, with a large, comfortably sofa, big screen TV, ceiling fan and heater. The bed was large and very comfortable - perfectly firm. I always travel with my own pillow, but theirs seemed to be relatively firm - definitely not the flat pancake pillows that make my neck scream.
The bathroom is accessible for wheelchairs and walkers (not an issue for us, but good to know). The walk-in shower has 2 shower heads and a built-in bench seat. It was wonderful! The toiletries in the room are elegant, first-class items, and complete (shampoo, conditioner, body wash, as well as lotions, shaving kit, shower cap and the works). Everything here was first-class and well-kept.
Now to the food. The first good thing was that we were offered a glass of wine on arrival. What a way to start a holiday trip! We were able to serve ourselves and take our glasses wherever we wanted. On Thanksgiving day, we just wanted to hang out in our room for a while, so Vicki gave us a couple of glasses of wine to take back, even though they were busy preparing their own holiday meal. Every morning, there was a carafe of coffee with cream and sugar ready to take back to our room while we got ready for breakfast. That was a treat as well, as there is no coffee maker in the room (but there is a microwave and refrigerator with tiny freezer). The breakfasts were excellent. Each day started with a fruit course (a poached pear or baked apple, for example). Next came a main course of eggs and meat (baked egg with cheese and peppered bacon for example). Then was a pastry, home-made and very good. I don't recall a 4th course, but it seems there was a dessert-like offering such as fruit crisp. Fruit juice, coffee, tea, and milk were offered each day, and the ladies quickly learned our preferences, but never failed to offer other options as well.
Overall, I must say I enjoyed my stay, and will return again (actually for next Independence Day!). I recommend the Bybee House B&B. This site indicates they do not have room rates, and I believe our room was about $190/night. With a longer stay, the room rate is discounted, so our summer stay is supposed to be about $175/night. Room tax is only 1%, which is a huge bargain in my experience!

Room Tip: The Americana is the largest, but is separate from the main house (requiring a dash across the patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindaintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonville
20.2 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#4 of 18 in Grants Pass
505 reviews
20.0 mi away
The Lodge at Riverside
The Lodge at Riverside
#3 of 18 in Grants Pass
630 reviews
18.2 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Buona Sera Inn
Buona Sera Inn
#2 of 18 in Grants Pass
405 reviews
15.5 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.7 mi away
Country House Inns Jacksonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bybee's Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bybee's Historic Inn

Property: Bybee's Historic Inn
Address: 883 Old Stage Road, Jacksonville, OR 97530
Location: United States > Oregon > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bybee's Historic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bybee's Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing