We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative, fresh food and nice server/owner”

The Pink House Cafe
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: http://willamettelive.com/story/Pink_House_Cafe_offers_big_time_elegance_in_a_small_town144.html
Monmouth, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Creative, fresh food and nice server/owner”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

After a long day at work, and in a brief interval before attending a play at WOU, my husband and I had dinner at Pink House Cafe. We were immediately greeted and seated in a room in the front part of the house. After about 10 minutes of listening to the people at the table next to us carry on a conversation with a another loud and gratingly voiced diner across the room, we got up to leave. Paul, who may be the owner, very quickly and kindly seated us in a different room so we could dine in peace. The food is quite good. I had the chicken and butternut squash ravioli which Paul said was his favorite (and also said he created the butternut squash sauce). It was delicious. My husband had the pork ribs and raved about them. I had eaten lunch here once before and enjoyed the curry chicken salad on greens. The lovely, quaint setting and friendly and efficient service contributes to the quality of the experience. This is a great place, especially for small town America.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RhetoricRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    24
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Chicken Paprikash and Willamette Valley Pinot on the patio”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Pink house is really pink and little. We went to the movies in Independence then walked across the street for dinner. Menu was wonderful. Choices included grilled salmon, short ribs, pasta, sandwiches, a great looking burger and my chicken paprikash. Salads and a small bit of fruit were the accompaniments. Nice wine list......lovely dessert selection. Very reasonably priced for the quality. We loved it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NMGIRL78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not many options”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I wasn't a huge fan of the food. Not very many options at all, and I didn't like what I order, and my friend did love hers either

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank LMT1431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philomath, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Casual elegance”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Independence OR is home to a number of historic buildings in its downtown core. Among them is the well-hidden Pink House Cafe. Had a friend not mentioned it, we would not have known about this pleasant eatery. The short menu offers a number of tasty choices, ranging from several sandwich items (we lean toward a half sandwich with soup or salad) and Mount Angel sausages to regular dinner items. Sometimes we've splurged and shared a milkshake or have ignored the calorie intake for one of their dessert items. Often we opt to take home a dessert and a couple of scones. Seating is limited, so reservations might be a good idea, but not required.
The cozy atmosphere provides privacy, yet sometimes conversations have been known to reach from table to table. Our most recent visit proved to be a reunion of sorts as our waitperson was one of my former students. The cafe is easy to find as sign boards on the highway leading into town point the way. Or you can find the movieplex located across the street from the Pink House. Bon appetit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtFromPhilomath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So yummy!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We enjoy our visit to the charming Pink House! My personal favorite is the curry chicken salad. A bed of field greens with a large serving of FRESH fruit . I must not forget about the curry chicken salad! Perfectly amount of curry , nuts , dried fruit & Chicken! It is the always a friendly , quaint & cozy atmosphere .

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pink House Cafe also viewed

 
Independence, OR
 

Been to The Pink House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing