We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Weekend with Friends on the Umpqua River”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Vista Vacation Homes and Lodging
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Weekend with Friends on the Umpqua River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

Randy greets you with a bottle of local wine and tips about what to do and where to go to see the areas renowned waterfalls and hikes. The Umpqua River is just right out the door down the hill, with a huge rock to fish for trout or salmon, depending on the year. Kids love it here, they had plenty of games and cable tv to keep them busy if the weather is less then ideal, but if the weather is nice, there is so much to do and see here you need tons of time to experience it! The houses are very clean and well stocked with every convenience you can think of. Just bring your suitcase, your hiking boots or your fishing gear for a memorable weekend. I have stayed her twice-once with girlfriends and once with our family and both times were awesome. Randy has done a great job with these cabins...I will go back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank statsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern Oregon Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

We are so lucky to have found this place! Nothing in the area compares to River Vista and we can't wait to go back. It truly is paradise and we couldn't have asked for a more beautiful and romantic spot to spend Valentine's Day. The homes sit directly above the breathtaking Umpqua, with private access to several fishing/swimming holes (we will be back this summer when it warms up). The homes are tucked away in a quiet nook and even though all three homes were occupied, we felt like we were the only ones there. The house had everything we needed to prepare a huge meal and it was easy to pretend it was "our" home, even just for a night. Randy, the owner, is delightful and very knowledgeable about the area. Looking past River Vista would only be a waste of time - believe me, I searched for hours. It is the best!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — That we had to leave.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LexCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahwahnee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2008

Our family stayed at River Vista in late October & I must say I slept better there than at any other lodging place I've ever stayed.
Shortly after our arrival we were greeted by Randy the owner
who gladly shared a wealth of helpful ideas for adventuring in and around the area. The Home had all the amenities a family of four could ask for. A good deal of our evenings were spent on the deck nestled in the auburn leafed Maples overlooking the N. Umpqua river...... Priceless.

  • Liked — The river, the bed, & the view!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Yosemitebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adriejim
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2008

this was the best weekend of my life,the views where spectacular and the fishing was great. the houses where very clean and comforatable.

  • Liked — the view because this time of year the leafs are turnig color and its absolutly beautiful
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank adriejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concho, Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2008

This place is simply beautiful and the homes are so nice. We stayed in the Madrone and didn't want to leave after 4 nights. The houses are set up wonderfully with many nice welcoming touches. The homes are on a beautiful section of the river. We slept with the windows open all night listening to the water run over the rocks.

The houses, though close together, were designed so that you felt you were by yourself when sitting on the deck. Even though we had noisy neighbors that we could hear from the driveway, we couldn't hear them when we were sitting outside facing the river.
The beds were comfortable, the kitchen and living room were roomy. We will definitely schedule every trip to Oregon to include staying at the River Vistas.

Idleyld is a very small town but it is centrally located for exploring the river, lakes and the Roseburg area. The convenience store next to the houses has a good selection of basic food and a good selection of wines and alcoholic beverages.

We ate at the Illahee Restaurant in Glide which was excellent. It's more than a "family" restaurant. It has a large selection of great menu items, wines, and a "to-die-for" bakery. The only other place we ate in the area was the Steamboat Inn for lunch and we weren't too impressed with that.

To sum up our recommendation for the River Vista Homes, if they are booked up on your first choice of dates, try to reschedule so you can include a stay here on your itinerary.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — We didn't have enough time to stay longer.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank HarvestMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2007

The Rver Vista Homes are on the most beautiful spots on the North Umpua River. We have stayed in the Maple and the Fir and both were equally beautiful. The views from the porches are stunning. An outstanding amount of thought and consideration have gone into these vacation homes. The kitchens have everything you need for preparing meals. And throughout the Houses are little things to make you comfortable..from a Bottle of wine to little chocolates next to your bed. We saw an enormous amount of wildlife right from the porch while sitting at the table and chairs provided. Everything was very clean and well thought out. We have an amazing time everytime we visit these private retreats....and plan on visiting as often as we can.

  • Liked — the cozy rooms and thoughtful ammenities
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lucia42182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2007

What a delighful surprise to find this gem. River Vista is truly a magical place. While it is located right off Highway 138, once you drive down to the homes you literally leave the world behind. Besides the well appointed houses, the thing we liked most was the feeling of privacy. The decks on each house are situated so each one has it's own view of the river and not of the other decks. Brandi and Randy are warm and gracious hosts, and as long time residents have great info about the surrounding area and what one can see and do. We can't wait to return.

  • Liked — It is right on the river and it is and absolutelybeautiful setting.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank riverlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idleyld Park
18.4 mi away
Windmill Inn of Roseburg
18.6 mi away
Best Western Garden Villa Inn
16.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hartford Lodge -  Sutherlin / Roseburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Roseburg
18.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Roseburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
41.4 mi away
Lemolo Lake Resort
Lemolo Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Idleyld Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Vista Vacation Homes and Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Vista Vacation Homes and Lodging

Property: River Vista Vacation Homes and Lodging
Address: 138 River Vista Ct, P.O. Box 62, Idleyld Park, OR 97447-0046
Location: United States > Oregon > Idleyld Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Idleyld Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — River Vista Vacation Homes and Lodging 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short drive from I-5, River Vista is located on the Rouge Umpqua Scenic Byway, Highway 138 East, called the "Highway to the Waterfalls," and the road to Crater Lake National Park. Our vacation homes offer spectacular views of the North Umpqua River. Spacious, full kitchens and private decks with river access await-ideal for families or romantic getaways. Why rent a room, when you can rent a river. Daily and weekly rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your River Vista Vacation Homes and Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Vista Vacation Homes And Lodging Oregon/Idleyld Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing