We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun on the river”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River Vista Vacation Homes and Lodging
Reviewed November 2, 2008

this was the best weekend of my life,the views where spectacular and the fishing was great. the houses where very clean and comforatable.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank adriejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 45 of 45 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2008

This place is simply beautiful and the homes are so nice. We stayed in the Madrone and didn't want to leave after 4 nights. The houses are set up wonderfully with many nice welcoming touches. The homes are on a beautiful section of the river. We slept with the windows open all night listening to the water run over the rocks.

The houses, though close together, were designed so that you felt you were by yourself when sitting on the deck. Even though we had noisy neighbors that we could hear from the driveway, we couldn't hear them when we were sitting outside facing the river.
The beds were comfortable, the kitchen and living room were roomy. We will definitely schedule every trip to Oregon to include staying at the River Vistas.

Idleyld is a very small town but it is centrally located for exploring the river, lakes and the Roseburg area. The convenience store next to the houses has a good selection of basic food and a good selection of wines and alcoholic beverages.

We ate at the Illahee Restaurant in Glide which was excellent. It's more than a "family" restaurant. It has a large selection of great menu items, wines, and a "to-die-for" bakery. The only other place we ate in the area was the Steamboat Inn for lunch and we weren't too impressed with that.

To sum up our recommendation for the River Vista Homes, if they are booked up on your first choice of dates, try to reschedule so you can include a stay here on your itinerary.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank HarvestMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2007

The Rver Vista Homes are on the most beautiful spots on the North Umpua River. We have stayed in the Maple and the Fir and both were equally beautiful. The views from the porches are stunning. An outstanding amount of thought and consideration have gone into these vacation homes. The kitchens have everything you need for preparing meals. And throughout the Houses are little things to make you comfortable..from a Bottle of wine to little chocolates next to your bed. We saw an enormous amount of wildlife right from the porch while sitting at the table and chairs provided. Everything was very clean and well thought out. We have an amazing time everytime we visit these private retreats....and plan on visiting as often as we can.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lucia42182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2007

What a delighful surprise to find this gem. River Vista is truly a magical place. While it is located right off Highway 138, once you drive down to the homes you literally leave the world behind. Besides the well appointed houses, the thing we liked most was the feeling of privacy. The decks on each house are situated so each one has it's own view of the river and not of the other decks. Brandi and Randy are warm and gracious hosts, and as long time residents have great info about the surrounding area and what one can see and do. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank riverlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River Vista Vacation Homes and Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Vista Vacation Homes and Lodging

Address: 138 River Vista Ct, P.O. Box 62, Idleyld Park, OR 97447-0046
Location: United States > Oregon > Idleyld Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Idleyld Park
Price Range: $166 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Vista Vacation Homes and Lodging 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short drive from I-5, River Vista is located on the Rouge Umpqua Scenic Byway, Highway 138 East, called the "Highway to the Waterfalls," and the road to Crater Lake National Park. Our vacation homes offer spectacular views of the North Umpqua River. Spacious, full kitchens and private decks with river access await-ideal for families or romantic getaways. Why rent a room, when you can rent a river. Daily and weekly rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your River Vista Vacation Homes and Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Vista Vacation Homes And Lodging Oregon/Idleyld Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing