We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would love to spend more time here”
Review of Steamboat Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idleyld Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Steamboat Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Idleyld Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This Inn is in the middle of nowhere- wonderful! We chose this as our base for our trip to Crater Lake National Park, rather than the overdeveloped Klamath Falls area. We were so pleased, but should have planned more time to just crash here. They have a fully stocked and comfortable library which would be great for a rainy day or late evening. They have a lovely dining area for a delicious breakfast or the gourmet family-style dinner. Fresh flowers from their gardens are at breakfast every morning. The staff are friendly and helpful. The food is scrumptious. (the berry sauce was amazing on the stuffed french toast!) The cabins are well-maintained. The porch is shared, which was only a problem when we would have liked to sleep with the door open to hear the river and let the breeze in. The view is tranquil, wild and beautiful. The room is decorated in a rustic way, but was comfortable and met all of our needs. The chocolate toffee at our bedside was a delectable treat! We did splurge for the group dinner and recommend it highly. The wine and hors d'oeuvres and the entire meal were delicious. We would return here if we could.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MichinMaine1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 134 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2014

We just got back from a lovely stay at Steamboat Inn staying at Maple Ridge Cabin. This place is truly a special find in an area that is full of beautiful nature alongside the Umpqua without much else to offer outside of camping. The views are top notch from the cabin and the sounds of the river at night, amazing. True to the reviews, the overall cost is expensive ($300/night+ for the cabin) but the Inn provides a true "home" like stay with cabins that have all the amenities needed to cook a quick meal, to stretch out and relax, and the staff is very friendly. The interior of the cabins are unpretentious and cozy. Some of the furniture like the couches a bit worn and the bed not as comfy as we had hoped. We enjoyed that the location was in between Crater Lake and Roseburg and the fact that there were no TVs or cell service. They said they had WI-FI in the library but never worked, so plan on being off the grid. Food was also very delicious and efforts made to accommodate food allergies/dislikes were appreciated. The owners very much care for the place and the people that stay there and it shows. Recommend!

Room Tip: Opt for a room on the river and with a private patio - better views that you don't have to share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hawaii_chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

In a rustic setting and with rustic décor, the Steamboat Inn has an elegance that is surprising for first time visitors. we stayed in one of the streamside cabins overlooking the Umpqua river with Adirondack chairs on the common veranda. The room was nicely appointed with fishing décor but modern amenities including granite counter and washerless faucets. the room was a bit small for the $195/night rental but the whole resort is small with perhaps 15 cabins/rooms. There are trails along the river for fishermen or nature hikes.There is also a fully stocked fly and souvenir shop in the dining room. Wifi is available in the library and dining room but there is no cell service.

For guests and the occasional "outsider", dinner starts at 7 pm in the well stocked library with appetizers and wine, and you get to mingle with the other guests. Twice we've met new friends by having dinner there and always a good mix of people. Sitting at the long log slab tables invites conversation during the Gourmet dinner that is served family style. The meal is always different and there are no menu choices so if you have special dietary needs, let the staff know when you make your reservations. The apps were a crostini with a marion berry creamy spread and black bean and cheese Quesadillas. The apps were each good on their own but I did not think they went with eachother. Dinner started with a green salad with broccoli raab followed by a creamy bleu cheese polenta. The entrée was roast duck breast which was cooked perfectly but could have used a bit better crisp to the skin. The wine kist is varied with offerings from affordable to very nice.
The next morning we had breakfast at the Café which opens at 8AM from May to October. I would have liked it to open earlier especially since the fishing starts about 5:30AM in July. During the day, the faire is more conventional with all of the usual breakfast offerigs. The coffee was good.
All in all I would recommend the Steamboat Inn be put on your “bucket list” as a must stay there AND have dinner.

Room Tip: quiet guests, but the river is always in the background. There is not a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

A lovely, well tended property! We stayed in a creekside cabin and really enjoyed hanging out watching the stream. We came for a wine maker dinner and had a fabulous dinner! The staff was mostly friendly and we really enjoyed our stay there. Would highly recommmend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janeqe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

the north umpqua is a special place and accessible to all. there are trails along the river and parking and camping and occasional places to stop eat and rest. the steamboat inn is one of the best. for a hot breakfast or lunch it's hard to beat and very reasonable. dinner and cabins are not inexpensive, require reservations and are a good value. the trails and the river are not to be missed and the steamboat a gracious host. often in the area and never disappointed.

Room Tip: can't imagine one that isn't
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edmund c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was the second time we brought in the New Year at Steamboat Inn. The setting is warm, peaceful, scenic. The group gathered for the food and wine was a wonderful mix of interesting people. We spent the day hiking to several of the nearby waterfalls. When in our wonderfully appointed room, we read by the cozy stove, listening to the river off our deck. Breakfast was a high point each day as well. This is our second time for the celebration, but our fourth visit, overall.

Room Tip: All the riverside cabins are centrally located and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APB314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My weekend stay at the Steamboat was one of my favorite trips ever, as we stayed here on our trip to Crater Lake! It is so beautiful and romantic. The Inn is near the Umpqua river and the noise of the water is so relaxing. Dinner was good and seating is family style at a large table. Before dinner hors d'oeuvres are served with wine in the library which allows you to get comfortable with other guest you will later be eating with. This is a good ice breaker. Wine is free in the library but if you want wine at dinner you have to pay. If your lucky like my gf and I someone you meet may share their wine :)

The rooms do not have TV or internet. Wi fi is available in the dinning area and in the library but it is slow. We did not feel we really needed these luxuries because we were so tired from our outdoor activities. We hiked 10 miles at Crater Lake. The lake is about an hour away if I remember but it is a beautiful drive. I hope to come back in the future!

Room Tip: Choose the stream side cabins as you have a shared porch that looks over the river and the sound of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Idleyld Park hotels
13.9 mi away
River Vista Vacation Homes and Lodging
27.5 mi away
Lemolo Lake Resort
Lemolo Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Idleyld Park
59 reviews
13.9 mi away
IdleYld Lodge
IdleYld Lodge
#3 of 5 in Idleyld Park
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steamboat Inn

Address: 42705 N Umpqua Hwy, Idleyld Park, OR 97447-9729
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Idleyld Park
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Idleyld Park
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Steamboat Hotel Idleyld Park
Steamboat Inn Oregon/Idleyld Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing