We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to enjoy the view”
Review of Steamboat Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idleyld Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Steamboat Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Idleyld Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
174 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“What a great place to enjoy the view”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

While returning from a trip over the Cascades through some of the most scenic beauty in all of Oregon (Crater Lake, North Umpqua River valley, highway 139), we happened upon this road stop. There is little warning so be on the lookout for this lovely facility perched along the edge of the river. It is a veritable oasis between the tall mountain peaks to the east and I-5 corridor to the west. We enjoyed a tasty, unique and tasty brunch. The staff was pleasant, relaxed and helpful. We met one of the owners who explained some of the history of the area and the facility's highlights. If you are looking for a true hideaway for a few days or a rest-stop to excite the senses, stop here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elgreco251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    37
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
68
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
178 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The inn's main accommodation is a series of cabins and a gracious adjacent building with restaurant, café and sitting room/library. The riverbank site slopes steeply to the water's edge and, seated on decking outside the cabins, you look through the leaves of the trees to the bubbling river below. The sound of the water made a pleasant night-time background. There are paths on which you can scramble the short distance to the river's edge to admire the rapids, or to fish. Our room itself, in one of the Streamside Cabins, was comfortable and warm even though the temperature outside fell sharply in the night. There was a wash-basin in the bedroom and an adjacent bathroom.

The fixed price, fixed menu dinner was communal, seated on a bench at a long table, as in a college at Oxford or Cambridge (or Hogwarts School!). Pre-dinner drinks (wine of several types) were served in the library with canapés in a cocktail party atmosphere. People were happy and friendly, and the talk across the table was lively. The meal was well prepared and served (drinks with the meal cost extra). Breakfast was the usual and well prepared.

We left thinking that it would have been good to stay for a longer time. It is a remote location and I doubt our journeys will take us that way again, but I would certainly want to stay again if I could.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Exquisite natural riverside setting, lovely, cozy, private room with deck and spectacular river view, splendid gourmet dinners, with chef who graciously accommodated my food allergies, all in close proximity to waterfalls, swimming holes, fishing spots, lakes, and more. We'll definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great one-night stay with delicious hearty meal. Staff treated us like we were staying forever, friendly, accommodating, helpful. We had a riverside cabin, it was very comfortable and lovely river sounds all night. Would definitely go again. Also, the breakfast was the best we've ever had outside our own kitchen.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baltomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Nearby swimming hole for those who want to swim and a wonderful stop when visiting Crater Lake, A Fly Fisherman's heaven
They even have wi-fi in the main building!
Dinner was a delight, steelhead salmon, and for a young man Mac and Cheese...and of course wonderful region Pinot's red and white! Breakfast sends you off well fed.
We enjoyed others company in the library at the Inn.
A brilliant memory to take home

Room Tip: Enjoy the sound of the water from your porch and in your room.....there was no AC in cabin #2 but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Be sure and ask for a riverside cabin. Such scenery and tranquility! Well appointed room; deck off the room that looks through the woods to the beautiful river. We stopped at lots of waterfalls along the N. Umpqua Highway. Enjoyable community wine hour and dinner. One dinner seating with everyone eating at table together. They made us a delicious sack lunch to take with us upon our departure. Definitely worth a stop, especially for fishermen.

Room Tip: Be sure and ask for a riverside cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rub14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here in a River Cabin with a group of friends. The cabin was a former forest service property that had been converted in to a 3 bedroom vacation rental. The kitchen was fully equipped, which we made good use of. Overall, the property was immaculate and very private. The lodge staff were also very conscientious and welcoming. I have to agree however with the other reviewers about the extremely overpriced dinner. The food was properly cooked, but unexceptional. The "fine dining" description on the website did not fit our evening menu of corn on the cob, beef with bbq sauce, garden salad and some memorably good foccacia bread. This was preceded by some buffet-style appetizers and followed by a cobbler dessert. The meal was rustic but perfectly fine, except for the $50 price tag. I have heard very good things about the food at the lodge and was startled by how basic the dinner was, given what they were charging. And I appreciate that they have to truck the food in from a considerable distance. Maybe we were just there on an unimaginative menu night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texas73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Idleyld Park hotels
27.6 mi away
Lemolo Lake Resort
Lemolo Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Idleyld Park
56 reviews
13.8 mi away
River Vista Vacation Homes and Lodging
13.8 mi away
IdleYld Lodge
IdleYld Lodge
#3 of 4 in Idleyld Park
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steamboat Inn

Property: Steamboat Inn
Address: 42705 N Umpqua Hwy, Idleyld Park, OR 97447-9729
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Idleyld Park
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Idleyld Park
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Steamboat Hotel Idleyld Park
Steamboat Inn Oregon/Idleyld Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing