We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Inn on Beautiful River!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Steamboat Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idleyld Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Steamboat Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Idleyld Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice Inn on Beautiful River!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights here and really enjoyed it! The Inn is pretty remote and sits right on the North Umpqua River (very beautiful). We had the Falls Suite and it was a great room with a stunning view over the river. Our very private balcony was a great place to retreat with a glass of wine after a tough day of fishing. ;-) We had dinner one night in the dining room. There were 57 guests for dinner that evening and we think the staff was a little overwhelmed. Even so, the food was very good and very plentiful. Be aware that there is no cell phone service, no TV, and only occasional (and very slow) wifi. Excellent if you want to go off the grid! The staff is extremely attentive and friendly. We will certainly go back!

Room Tip: The Falls Suite is very private, quite large, and has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maupinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    36
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
67
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I went with a group of friends to the inn on a weekday for lunch. The menu is very nice. I had a sandwich to die for called Millie's Mess. The food, service and atmosphere were all very good. It's about a 35-40 minute drive from roseburg, but the scenery is worth the drive. After eating lunch, we walked in the garden a while. It was all good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tworoadtrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

The place is as promised... Isolated, beautiful, back to nature.

It was a welcome stop on our road trip. Though pricey, it lived up to our expectations! however. I found the whole dining experience to be rather pretentious and expensive!! I would NOT recommend eating there with children under the age of 30! Or be prepared to pay 70 dollars for two mac and cheese! In spite of the place being special, this left a bitter taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weezy1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in a cabin- fairly secluded, beautiful setting. Ate dinner there one night and breakfast for 2 days. Good food and service. Took three hiking trails with waterfalls that were close. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a wonderful retreat from the world. The river and the food are both soothing and nourishing. We are in the Maple Ridge suite and the balcony has a better view than most of the waterfall/park attractions nearby. We stayed 4 nights and met several wonderful people at the inns dinners.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boots4Walkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was a getaway for Alice's birthday on Sunday, but when I discovered that there was a wine-maker dinner scheduled for Friday as well as Saturday, we extended the trip, arriving Friday afternoon and leaving Monday morning. Ours was one of the creek-side rooms, with a covered porch overlooking the North Umqua. We spent a lot of the weekend on the porch, reading and watching the Oregon Spring - sun, blue sky, fluffy clouds, rain squalls, hail, thunder and lightening, all to the tune of fast running water.
A wine-maker dinner isn't just a wine maker (we have hundreds), but is a pairing with a guest chef. They jointly plan the menu to match the food and wine, from hors d'oeuvres through dessert.
The setting, the service, the food and the wine combine to make the Steamboat Inn world-class and it's in the back of beyond, so getting there is scenery of a very high quality. Crater Lake. We don't fish, but most of the guests were repeat visitors because of the fishing as well. If you can stand to be unplugged from your electronics and don't freak out if/when a storm takes out the electricity for a few hours, then this place will help you reset and recharge.

Room Tip: For the best experience, stay creek-side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

A perfect stay on one of the most beautiful parts of the Umpqua River! Returned again this year to find it as wonderful as I remembered. Take the short walk down the rocky terrain to the edge of the river - you can sit for hours just watching the river move by. Cozy clean rooms - a perfect stop on a road trip into some of the most serene landscape in the country. No TV, no mobile phone service - no problems. FYI - the room tax is unusually low, so you actually get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Stayed in room #1 - it has a window you can open at night to get fresh air and listen to the river w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idleyld Park
14.2 mi away
River Vista Vacation Homes and Lodging
27.3 mi away
Lemolo Lake Resort
Lemolo Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Idleyld Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
38.5 mi away
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Crescent Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
IdleYld Lodge
IdleYld Lodge
#1 of 4 in Idleyld Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steamboat Inn

Property: Steamboat Inn
Address: 42705 N Umpqua Hwy, Idleyld Park, OR 97447-9729
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Idleyld Park
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Idleyld Park
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Steamboat Hotel Idleyld Park
Steamboat Inn Oregon/Idleyld Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing