We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from this place”
Review of IdleYld Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IdleYld Lodge
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stay away from this place”
Reviewed October 25, 2009

We have traveled the US for 5 weeks and I have to say this place was definitely the worst we have stayed during all that time.
The house is totally run down and so are the rooms. Our room had two calendars hanging on the wall: one from 1978 and the other one from 1975. This is indication enough how well this place is maintained - NOT. I reckon the beds must have been about the same age as they did not smell nice at all.
Breakfast was included which sounded fair as 55 bucks is not that cheap after all for a place like this. Stayed in youth hostels for a lot cheaper and much nicer rooms, in cities and got a lot more value than that. When we saw the breakfast, I was so grossed out and decided not to touch a thing. The bread had expired a month ago, the cereal 1 (!) year ago, and the butter had expired 2 months ago. I asked the owner whether she actually has got anything that is fresh and she said 'No'. She only buys expired food as this is a lot cheaper. And in 10 years apparently nobody had complained, and it had not made anyone sick, so she was wondering what I was worried about. It felt like a comedy.
Obviously I did not touch a thing - she then threw USD5 on my table and said it was compensation for the food.
Pretty ugly. What an unpleasant expreience !

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldcitizen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theprune, Owner at IdleYld Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2010
The calenders are VINTAGE, part of the rooms decor, showing kids fishing! NOT ment to be used as current!! The beds are as clean as any other motel in this area. I showed you when you left the dates on the food were "SELL BY" dates NOT expiration dates and that you read the cereal box wrong and it was not to expire until NEXT year. I also explained to you that I purchase large containers of fresh margarine and put it into smaller ones so it is more convenient for the guests. The guests are welcome to see the larger container for dates if they want. The $5.00 was to make up for your disappointment. You went ahead and posted this negative review anyway, THANKS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    19
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
25
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2008

If you maintain a sense of humor, this is a reasonably priced place to stay in this beautiful area. If you like kitsch, this is definitely your place to stay!

The place has real potential and it appears the owners are plugging away at improvements, but if you're used to metro chic, go elsewhere. This is an historic log lodge that needs some upgrades, but it was clean and the hosts were pleasant.

The kitsch is priceless. I note the replicas of birds nests on the top of our bed posts and the doll clothes strung on a mini clothes line as part of our room's decor.

The lodge is adjacent to a pretty run-down trailer park and the owners offer one of the trailers as a nightly rental also. I do not recommend the trailer.

Expanded continental breakfast was included in the reasonable rate. Don't expect a waffle maker here, but there was an assortment of danishes, muffins, and cereals, with some hard boiled eggs and fruit. Coffee and hot water for other beverages were also served.

There is a store across the street selling gas, convenience items, liquor, and deli food.

Their website is a pretty accurate depiction, but they don't tell you they have cats.

Just maintain your sense of humor and look forward to enjoying the outdoor activities in the area. The waterfalls are a day's adventure in themselves.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank windwomyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idleyld Park
18.4 mi away
Windmill Inn of Roseburg
18.6 mi away
Best Western Garden Villa Inn
16.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.4 mi away
Lemolo Lake Resort
Lemolo Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Idleyld Park
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Vista Vacation Homes and Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IdleYld Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IdleYld Lodge

Property: IdleYld Lodge
Address: 23834 N. Umpqua Hwy., Idleyld Park, OR 97447 (Formerly Idleyld Park Lodge & Restaurant)
Location: United States > Oregon > Idleyld Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Idleyld Park
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your IdleYld Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
IdleYld Lodge Oregon/Idleyld Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing