We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean place to lay your head”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Motel Hood River
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I found this motel to be clean, but not a destination motel. The owner takes pride in his motel and maintains it well. Safeway across the street, many restaurants within walking distance. Nice place to lay my head for tonight.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 115 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

Pros: Surprisingly well-appointed interior based on modest outward appearances. Clean, dark tones, clean, bright bathroom. Nice comforter and pillows. Fairly quiet even with window open. Nice mountain view. Black-out drapes. Overall, a pleasant surprise! I'd def stay there again.

Cons: Springy bed that bounces and wakes up a light sleeper when partner turns over. $120 for a night kind of steep (booked through Booking.com) but I suspect you can get a cheaper rate booking directly with motel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldlyGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We scored the last room here on a busy Saturday night in H.R. and were thrilled. Price $119; 2 Queen beds. Upstairs. We were three very tired Mt Adams hikers in need of a good night's rest and a shower - and we got it - with a view across the Columbia looking back at the Mtn. The gentleman who checked us in was very friendly. The room was very clean and well-appointed. Quiet motel. Only complaint was no HBO.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We've stayed at the Sunset several times, as the hotel situation in Hood River, especially during the tourist season, is very tight. We always ask for a 2 queen bed room on the top floor (no elevator). This last time we stayed there we got a room next to the stairway and had a wonderful view of Mt. Adams across the river. The beds are new and very comfortable. The rooms have upscaled products for your use, coffee, flat screen TVs, WiFi that was easy to log on to, refrigerators and microwaves. The only downside we found was that the carpeting could use better cleaning. We like this motel for its ease to downtown and the mall across the road, and the quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

the check-in person was glum- not friendly at all.
the room was excellent- very clean, nice furniture, microwave and fridge, desk and chair, comfortable bed, satelite tv with 70 channels, large window that opened., very quiet. good lighting at the desk for reading.
room rate was similar to that of other motels in the area thatwere not as nice as this one.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I was charged a night that I wasn't there and they claimed was a double charge but billing was for two separate days? Check your credit card statement or pay in cash.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you dont need a lot of room. I would highly suggest to call the motel to get prices instead of reserving online, much cheaper if you call! Great place, nice people, good deal! Room was fully loaded with micro, fridge, coffee, iron, hair dryer. Would come back to this motel.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hood River hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
198 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
343 reviews
1 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel
Columbia Gorge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hood River
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel Hood River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel Hood River

Address: 2300 Cascade Ave, Hood River, OR 97031-1075
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range: $85 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Motel Hood River 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Motel Hood River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel Hood River Hotel Hood River
Sunset Hotel Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing