We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Frills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Motel Hood River
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No Frills”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

This is not the place to come if you want to be pampered. It is clean and comfortable, but there is no dvd player, no pool, no exercise room, no tea, hot chocolate or continental breakfast, and no washer or dryer to use. Only some of the surrounding streets have sidewalks, and the property is not walking distance to downtown or the heights neighborhood.
The manager says to keep your dog on a leash at all times, but their dog runs around without a leash in the parking lot. I would say this would be good for business trips only.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pacificnw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    37
    21
    9
    12
See reviews for
19
54
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meridian, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I read all sorts of reviews about this motel, I was a little nervous but finances were tight. This place is great! So much better than I expected. We are traveling with 3 young children. The room is great, clean and amazing for the price! It is right in the middle of town, right across the street there is a bank, safeway and McDonalds! I thought we would be off the beaten path, not at all! We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2011

My family and I stopped at the Sunset Motel on our way to a family reunion on the Oregon coast. We reserved three rooms but eventually needed four rooms. Margaret Craft, the manager, was gracious and accommodating from the first contact. Would we stay at the Sunset Motel again? ABSOLUTELY YES!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I had to go and retrieve some equipment, the trip was not planned, but I got online and found this motel on short notice. We had stayed in Hood River before, but the hotel we had stayed in was full, so I looked for others and came up with this little hotel. I made the reservation, and we kept our fingers crossed. We were coming in about 11:00pm, so we hoped it wouldn't be hard to find. It wasn't. And we hoped that it would be decent - It was great! Directions given were very adequate and very easy to follow. The manager was very nice, even for late in the evening. We went to our room, which was very very clean, nothing fancy, but nice. The room had a nice big flat panel TV in it, but when my husband turned it on, nothing happened. We called the manager, she came straight away to see if she could get it going. She couldn't, so she just moved us over to another room, (she checked on the TV before she moved us over!) The second room was just as clean and well kept, the Flat panel TV was great - and the cable service was excellent. McDonald's was close by in the morning for an early start with breakfast. Would I stay here again? MOST DEFINITELY!

Room Tip: These rooms are all set back from the road, the location is quiet. All rooms have the same amount of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ready-two-go-4it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

I stumbled upon this motel. EXCELLENT. Rates are reasonable. Rooms are clean and very pleasant. View from room of the Gorge is gorgeous. My reception was friendly and very courteous. I suggest you ignore any negative reviews. The pond in the back yard is peaceful. I live in Portland will surely return. ENJOY!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thelesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I'm injured alone in an unfamiliar beautiful town. I book my two week stay at the Sunset Motel Hood River. It's quiet the beds are extremely comfortable, the rooms are clean, the wifi is great and the staff is lovely. Unfortunate for me I had to undergo Knee reconstructive surgery at the Providence Hood River Hospital. After the operation, the motel staff helped me out so much. If I needed Ice to reduce the swelling in my knee, if I needed groceries since I had trouble walking, If I needed someone to move my bags for me and I never asked anyone for help. They all offered assistance. They truly wanted me to get better from my surgery. It's not a fancy Hotel like the W hotel it's just simple and felt like home. It was like having a family away from home. I love how there's a microwave and a large refrigerator. So you can store plenty of food and beverages and reheat food whenever you like. The view from your window in your room is of the surrounding mountains. It's about a 15 minute walk to downtown which is full of wine tasting rooms and there are a couple of micro breweries that serve great beers. Across the road there is a supermarket that has plenty of fresh fruits and vegetables and a good supply of coconut water, and exotic raw juice's as well as what's typically inside a supermarket. Besides the convenience, the staff, and the room this motel is also extremely affordable. So when you plan your trip you can use all the money you save to do outdoor activities rather than on an overpriced hotel where you only spend your time there when you're sleeping. I would recommend this motel to anyone who needs a comfy place to stay while enjoying all the fun activities the Gorge has to offer!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimenezmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

This little 14 room motel was wonderful!! Snow-capped Mt Adams in view, excellent room rate with AAA discount, and a clean, comfortable room. One of the best nights' stay in our 13 day trip.

Room Tip: Use AAA discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bogeyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hood River hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
190 reviews
0.9 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
1.1 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
326 reviews
0.9 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel Hood River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel Hood River

Property: Sunset Motel Hood River
Address: 2300 Cascade Ave, Hood River, OR 97031-1075
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Motel Hood River 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunset Motel Hood River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel Hood River Hotel Hood River
Sunset Hotel Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing