We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh, Fresh, Fresh” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sushi Okalani

Sushi Okalani
Ranked #30 of 138 Restaurants in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Sushi Okalani brings a vibrant, eclectic taste and atmosphere to Hood River, we have a variety of Japanese, Hawaiian, Thai and Sushi items. Very family friendly, we have a children's menu, Happy Hour 6 days a week, and two private Tatami rooms!
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fresh, Fresh, Fresh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Quick service, great selection of fish and a fun experience.....sit at the bar and watch the sushi master. This is a great place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank scottsdalegolfergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Big Sky, Montana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We arrived right at closing time after calling ahead. The chef and server were friendly and never rushed us through our meal. The selection of sushi wasn't the largest I've seen, but there were many specials to choose from on the specials board. The restaurant is small, but most sushi joints are, so I can see where seating might be a problem on a busy night. Lots of local art on the walls. Overall a great experience!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mawreee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fresh, Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Great spot but not inexpensive. The food and service was service very good, I would go back.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank scottsdalegolfergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chef is a master!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

The sushi is beautifully presented and has great taste and freshness. The seaweed/cucumber salad is great-I've never tasted seaweed with the sweet and balanced flavor that it had. The yellowtail tuna sushi tasted like butter. My shrimp tempura/avocado/cucumber roll was super-tasty and fresh. We sat at the bar, and the presentation of everyone's dish was top-drawer. What a find in a small town-we will be back tomorrow night!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank garyshutes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Sushi in Downtown Hood River!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Very popular and therefore very efficient with their seating. We were the first ones through the door on a Fri evening 5pm. We sat at the sushi bar. They asked us to move over one to allow for couples in the seats on either side. It was no problem to move. Good communication on their part. The sushi is outstanding, and they actually carry escolar, which has been less common to find in my experience. Sushi Okalani has a very expanse menu, so there is truly something for everyone.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gayla m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Okalani also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Okalani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing