We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliable riverfront hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Hood River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Reliable riverfront hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

I generally find Best Westerns to be reliable hotels, and I wasn't disappointed with the Best Western Hood River Inn. Got a first floor room with river view. The room is above ground and had a spacious deck that would be great to have in warm weather. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the flat-screen TV offered several HBO channels. A newish microwave and compact fridge resided in the closet, but also meant you couldn't hang more than one garment in the closet.

The bathroom showed its age--there were holes where older fixtures had been, black residue on the tiles, and a toilet that wobbled a bit. We could hear the pipes rattling whenever the shower ran or the toilet flushed in the room next door, and a common problem of Best Westerns. However, on this trip I was particularly bothered by the constant pacing/walking around from the people above us. Next time I would request a top floor room to avoid hearing ALL of my neighbors.

The complimentary breakfast was tasty and according to the bill was about an $8 value. All in all, I was pleased. The location is great, with a McDonalds and Starbucks practically at your doorstep.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraLatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,534
    631
    139
    42
    19
See reviews for
604
1,089
103
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2010

Stayed in a room with a fireplace and balcony on the water. We had a great time watching the small sail boats come up to the dock for dinner at the restaurant. Our stay included a free breakfast voucher, so we went to breakfast and were seated outside, which was gorgeous but we should've brought our sunglasses!

The only snafu was checking out. Our stay was a prepaid gift, and while the giver had faxed all the required paperwork several weeks in advance (as required), it had been "filed away" and they had charged the credit card we gave them for incidentals for the entire stay. There should be some kind of computerized way to put a note on a reservation to remind someone to check the file or something. In the end, the charge sat on both cards for about 2 weeks before it was reimbursed to one. No harm done.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarCampChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MODESTO
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2010

We visited family in Parkdale and needed a place to stay for the night. We chose this hotel and were very happy we did! They had a suite in our price range, for our family of 4, and it was beyond our expectations. We rented a roll away bed assuming the sofa sleeper would only fit one of our kids and we didn't need it. It was a full size sofa sleeper (if not queen sized, I'm not sure) that was plenty of room for our two kids, ages 9 and 4. The suite had a full size dining room table with 4 chairs, wet bar, living room with fireplace and fat screen TV and a separate room with King size bed, that was amazing and comfy!, with another flat screen TV. We had a balcony off the King room and the living room, with beautiful views of the river. The bathroom was huge with jet tub and double sink vanity.

We received breakfast coupons with our reservation and ate breakfast in the restaurant. The restaurant was beautiful, decorated for Christmas, and one side is all full size windows (ceiling to floor) looking out over the river. Not a bad seat in the restaurant! Breakfast was very good!!

This hotel is conveniently located in the middle of town and in the parking lot was a Starbucks we walked to. There is also a Chevron gas station and McDonald's right at the hotel. We went in December and it was not very busy. They also just had a lot of snow and the parking lots were full of snow. It was all kept plowed so we had no trouble getting in and out.

Overall, we loved this hotel and would definitely stay here again when visiting family in the area.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRACY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

The location is very nice- right on the river. And the location was very easy to find after a long day of driving- it is right off the highway. The Visitor Center is located across the highway from the hotel. The rooms were okay. I found the dark carpet and furnishings a little depressing. Supposedly everything had been updated- but room decor felt a bit out of style. The breakfast was absolutely delicious- one of the best we've had. Views from the restaurant are stupendous. The french toast was yummy.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 8Chocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Wa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2009

My husband and I took our daughter and her husband and 2 children ages 6 and 9 down to Hood River, Oregon to ride on the Polar Express and stayed at the Best Western Hotel......Our room was a suite which had a king size bed, dinning room table, flat screen tv, balcony, second bedroom with Queen size bed and also flat screen tv..... The views were fantastic..... We were given a free breakfast in the resturant, which was great.......The price was also great...I love the fact that checkout is not until 12.00pm.... We got there early and our room was ready too....We also had dinner in the resturant and the price was good with a coupon they gave us.......We all loved this place and look forward to staying there again.........

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayalex22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2009

We travel through Hood River only a couple of times a year and keep coming back to this hotel because the others just don't measure up. The food in the restaurant keeps getting better, service was excellent and the room appeared to have been repainted and upgraded. My partner and I feel this hotel offers an exceptional value for the money based on the quality of the breakfast that is included and the many options offered.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2009

This was our third visit to this hotel on holiday from the U.K. On every occasion we have been particularly impressed by the quality of the staff and their obvious desire to make your stay as pleasant as possible.The restaurant was excellent for both breakfast and evening meals. If you visit in the summer DO use the deck for an early breakfast and like us you may be lucky enough to watch the Ospreys fishing.We have been visiting the USA on holiday for 10 years and have not stayed in a hotel which offers such excellent value and quality.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
2.7 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
2.6 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
15.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hood River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hood River Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Address: 1108 E Marina Way, Hood River, OR 97031-2378
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Hood River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hood River's ONLY waterfront lodging and dining, on the breathtaking Columbia River with convenient access to all activities. Featuring rooms for every budget; from riverview rooms and suites to standard no-view rooms. Rooms feature mini-fridges, microwaves, hairdryers, irons & board, coffee makers, and high-speed wifi. Enjoy a delicious meal at the Riverside restaurant or Cebu Lounge. Take a dip in the new riverside pool and spa, or relax in the sauna. We pride ourselves on delivering excellence in customer service and high quality cleaning standards. Our friendly, helpful staff is ready to ensure a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Best Western Plus Hood River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hood River Hotel Hood River
Best Western Hood River
Hood River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing