We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 17, 2009

This is a nice hotel right on the Columbia River. We stayed for 3 days. The hotel itself is very clean, rooms very comfotable and nice. Great staff. We had an excellent dinner in the restaurant our first night. However, the "free full breakfast" left a lot to be desired. We waited for about 45 minutes for ours. The choices are limited and it's pretty obvious the items are pre-prepared and kept "warm" on steam trays in the kitchen, thus "no substitutions". When ours finally arrived it was cold and greasy. Awful. Later that day I came down with food poisoning and I'm pretty sure the "free full breakfast" was the culprit. The noise level at the hotel should also be noted. There are two trains (one on either side of the river) that run 24/7 about every 1/2 hour. There's also the toll bridge and two highways. So if you like to have your window open for fresh air, be prepared....
The pool area was very nice and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbqrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaquelVanNatta, Executive Assistant/Revenue Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2009

We strive to ensure each and every dining experience is satisfying and our menu is recognized by Best Western as above average in quality. In order to provide a quality breakfast service to 200+ guests each morning in a short amount of time, we have found that offering a limited menu with no substitutions, this was the best way to serve our guests and coordinate our kitchen and wait staff to work most efficiently. We can assure our guests that food is made fresh daily and not held for extended periods of time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,667)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,566 - 2,572 of 2,667 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2009

Check in was a breeze, room was very clean and roomy, bed was cozy, view was fantastic, food delicious, staff was excellent. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLWBillings_MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Room 001 is beautiful and has every possible ammenity with a great view and porch screen and location protect you from the major Hood River winds. The bike trail from Hood River to Mosier is a gem! Maryhill museum has an unbelievable collection in the middle of beautiful nowhere and a lovely park where you can eat with very friendly peacocks.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OOOOOOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We spent two nights at this Best Western while seeing the Columbia River Gorge. It was a great value and many amenities were provided in the package such as free internet use in lobby, breakfast, and a nice discount for dinner in their restaurant. Rooms were spacious and well-equipped. The restaurant was quite a good choice considering there are not many good options for a nice meal in Hood River. We appreciated all the extras which were complimentary with our stay. Our room was in the new wing and overlooked the Columbia River. There was a nice walking path, some lawn and chairs outside the hotel along the river which made for a nice evening stroll. Lots of extras not available at other Best Westerns-would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gardner43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We stayed here over the 4th of July weekend and enjoyed every minute of it. The staff was really helpful in letting us know where the best place was to watch the fireworks and what events were going on downtown. Getting to the downtown area was a nice walk from the hotel with part of it along the Columbia.

The restaurant was fantastic. Try to get a reservation for outside seating. The view is amazing and the food was fabulous. It was a bonus getting a free full breakfast, not just a continental and also 1/2 off one of our dinner entrees.

We also enjoyed the usage of the full sized pool.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarysAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Front desk was efficient and helpful,the room was very nice,modern, clean and well appointed.The included full breakfast was excellent, and the restaurant was very good, with a great view of the river. We paid $116 including all taxes, and definitely will go back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nepenthium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

I just spent three nights at Hood River Inn while attending work related training. The Inn sits on the south shore of the majestic Columbia River at the east entrance to the scenic Columbia Gorge. The setting and views are fantastic.

I arrived late in the day and check-in was quick and effortless. I had a ground level, river view room and never got tired of the view. The room was very nice with a fridge, microwave, small desk, couch and table. The king bed was extremely comfortable. Also, the hotel provides WiFi at no extra charge.

There is a walking/jogging path that runs the length of the hotel property and continues west for almost a mile. This path goes through the marina where one can rent windsurfing board as Hood River is the Wind Surfing Capital of the World.

Accessing the downtown shops and numerous restaurants on foot is not close nor easy. It's a quick five minute drive.

I will certainly return for a weekend getaway and explore the restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdxrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
2.6 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
2.7 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
197 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
336 reviews
19.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hood River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hood River Inn

Address: 1108 East Marina Way, Hood River, OR 97031-2378
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range: $115 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hood River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hood River's ONLY waterfront lodging and dining, on the breathtaking Columbia River with convenient access to all activities. Featuring rooms for every budget; from riverview rooms and suites to standard no-view rooms. Rooms feature mini-fridges, microwaves, hairdryers, irons & board, coffee makers, and high-speed wifi. Enjoy a delicious meal at the Riverside restaurant or Cebu Lounge. Take a dip in our gorgeous riverside pool and spa, or relax in the sauna. We pride ourselves on delivering excellence in customer service and high quality cleaning standards. Our friendly, helpful staff is ready to ensure a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Best Western, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Hood River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hood River Hotel Hood River
Best Western Hood River
Hood River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing