We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our two-night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our two-night stay”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Our stay at the the BW Hood River was excellent. The room was well-appointed and clean. We liked that there were two sinks (one inside the bathroom and one outside the bathroom). The room was quiet even though the house was full.
We walked to the "complimentary, cooked-to-order breakfast overlooking the river" each day.
Parking was easy. Across the parking lot was a McDonalds, a Starbucks and a gas station. A block away is the Hood River Chamber of Commerce and Visitor Center. They were very helpful, too.
All in all, I can recommend this Best Western location.

Green Features: Beyond the handling of towels and sheets, I did not see any other practices designed to be environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear P K, Thank you for your high rating, and great comments about your room, the complimentary, cooked-to-order breakfast, and tips for other travelers. We practice a number of sustainability measures, but most are not noticeable to guests (things like composting all of our food scraps, and using energy efficient lightbulbs). We hope you enjoyed your trip to Hood River, and hope you’ll plan to visit us again! Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,693
    666
    144
    43
    22
See reviews for
659
1,188
110
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duvall
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We have stayed here a few times, always a great choice. The staff are always helpful and pleasant. When it is a warm and beautiful day on the Columbia, nothing beats sitting on the deck and taking in the views while being treated to a delicious meal!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Anna T, Your brief review truly helped us to know why you enjoy staying with us. Thanks for your kind comments on our staff, the views, and for the five-dot rating! Hope you’ll be back real soon! Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Okay, this probably sounds snobby, but I never expected such a wonderful experience at a Best Western. That does sound snobby, but it is true. Oh my gosh, this is truly a wonderful hotel with an exceptional staff -- easily equaling and, in most instances, far exceeding many of my other stays in higher "stare rated" hotels.

The physical property itself was very well maintained and my room was great (third floor river-view suite). The relatively new pool and exercise room complex were more than very good and the view (the Columbia River right there) made it even better. The sum of the parts (hotel property, amenities, etc.), however, did not add up to the overall "feel" of the property -- the latter far exceeded these parts and the additional component that made my experience at the Hood River Inn truly exceptional was that of the staff. Friendly, knowledgeable, polite, eager to make me feel at home are only partial descriptions of everyone with whom I came in contact. The sum of all of these parts really did make a difference -- the end result being one of the most wonderful, relaxing, fun, etc. hotel stays in all of my years of travel.

The "Riverside" restaurant was also an unexpected highlight of my stay; very good breakfasts and dinners that were, actually, quite remarkable. A diverse menu along with exceptional quality of food and service (thank you Michelle, Tina and Susanne), plus a very good wine list, kept me returning each night of my stay for one exceptional meal after another. Again, I was not expecting this level of fine dining at a Best Western (sorry, sounding snobby again).

So my sincere thanks to all of the fine staff at the Hood River Inn and the owners for helping make this one of my most memorable hotel stays. You made it very difficult to leave (and I shall be back)!!!

Room Tip: Wonderful views from rooms on the river-side (either west or east wings). While not personally trav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank profpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear profpop, Needless to say, you just made my day! Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed, lengthy review that so eloquently described your experience as our guest. We all truly appreciate the glowing comments you showered on our dedicated staff members, and your claim that our service exceeded that of many five-star hotels. We work very hard to make sure all of our departments are functioning optimally because after all we are in the hospitality business, but the way you described the “sum of the parts” truly means our vision has become a reality. Many thanks for your exquisite comments on our restaurant, Riverside. We look forward to welcoming you back some day, and hope it’s soon! Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This location is so beautiful its breathtaking and the amenities at the hotel are great with their renovated wing and pool/work out area. Also beach access to the river with rental equipment right there. But the front desk customer service was so horrible that it made me feel like crap and that just ruined my whole trip. This just happened and I have yet to get a response from the upper management about it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Tirsa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Tirsa F, First of all, thank you for including so many nice comments about our property, the location, and pool/fitness amenities. However, the fact that our front desk customer service reduced you to such awful feelings is a huge concern of mine. You and I have since visited by phone and I appreciate the opportunity you've given me to make things right for you. We look forward to our chance to show you that our high standards include respectful, helpful, and cheerful treatment of our guests at all times. Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed at the Best Western PLUS Hood River Inn for a wedding and the experience was wonderful. The view of the Columbia River and Gorge was breathtaking. You also get a free breakfast which was excellent. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank monicah112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear monicah112, We are delighted that you found your experience “wonderful” while visiting for a wedding. We’re glad you enjoyed the included sit-down breakfast at Riverside, too, and hope you’ll come back soon! Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Way more than you would expect from a Best Western. I wouldn't mind staying for a full week of relaxation and lovely view. Dog rooms open right out onto the green lawn area next to the river. Just lovely. My dog loves it too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank beastlybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear beastlybaby, We thank you for your kind remarks. We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations and offered you some relaxation and lovely views. If you ever decide to visit us for a week, we will pick out a special room for you and your doggie. Since you are in Portland, fall is a beautiful time to return! Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2014

A great location, excellent service, clean, comfortable, great food, if you have reason to stay in Hood River, you could not do better. If you are there for more than one night a river front room is worth the higher price. I would love to have a meeting or small convention held there - an easy hour from the Portland airport and lots of natural wonders to visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Charles F T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Charles F T, How nice of you to use so many positive, complimentary adjectives to describe our property. Your traveler tips are spot-on, and we do hope you’ll have a chance to return for a conference here someday. Thanks for visiting us and we hope to see you again soon! Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
2.6 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
2.7 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
326 reviews
19.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hood River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hood River Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Address: 1108 East Marina Way, Hood River, OR 97031-2378
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hood River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hood River's ONLY waterfront lodging and dining, on the breathtaking Columbia River with convenient access to all activities. Featuring rooms for every budget; from riverview rooms and suites to standard no-view rooms. Rooms feature mini-fridges, microwaves, hairdryers, irons & board, coffee makers, and high-speed wifi. Enjoy a delicious meal at the Riverside restaurant or Cebu Lounge. Take a dip in our gorgeous riverside pool and spa, or relax in the sauna. We pride ourselves on delivering excellence in customer service and high quality cleaning standards. Our friendly, helpful staff is ready to ensure a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Hood River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hood River Hotel Hood River
Best Western Hood River
Hood River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing