We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUCK!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 29, 2008

What a disappointment. The rooms were dingy and drab. We had to be moved twice because the first two rooms had such terrible chemical odors. Originally, had planned on staying three nights and we checked out after the first night.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chrystal56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,660)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,587 - 2,593 of 2,661 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2008

Nice location on the Hood River. Was moderately priced, $90-$110 per night. Was a little more than we usually like to spend, but had rooms that never had pets in them. We got a clean, comfortable room with 2 queen beds and a small couch with coffee table. Rooms have a coffee maker, microwave and small refrigerator which is very convenient for us. Since we like to go on hikes and pack food for the day, it's nice to be able to buy lunch items at the grocery store and keep them in the frig, also the small freezer allows us to freeze a couple of water bottles to have cold water for the trail. There is a complimentary breakfast in the restaurant, you get a choice of 5 different full breakfast plates all with milk, juice or coffee. The breakfast was pretty good. We received coupons for a buy one get one 50% off dinner at the Riverside Grill in the hotel. After our long days we didn't feel like driving around to find a place to eat, so we tried the Riverside Grill and the food was very good. Our server Kim was great, we felt well taken care of. Although we were told by a local that the Hood River Hotel has the best deserts, we never made it to try. There is a guest computer with internet access and an outdoor pool with hot tub. It was a little cool out in the evenings, but the hot tub and pool were still really nice after a day of hiking. Front desk staff weren't overly helpful, but were friendly. If you forget to bring toothpaste, or need a sewing kit they have them for you. There are shops about 2-3 miles down the road in town, and a Wal Mart. There's a McDonald's and a Taco Bell across the street from the hotel, as well as gas stations with convenience stores. The hotel is right off the I-84 at exit 64. We would definitely stay here again, and may be doing so next year.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Like2Hike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

This Best Western was about 50% more expensive than most we stay in, but was well worth it. The river view room was small but very comfortable, with all the expected amenities, and a great view of the Columbia river. Hint: get a ground floor river view room and you will have a nice little patio to sit out on and enjoy this fabulous view. An excellent breakfast in the restaurant (also a great view) was included.

And it is really pet friendly - at the front desk we were presented with a generous bag of assorted doggie treats for Molly Ivins, our Golden Retriever.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NW_Happy_Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

Wow - lots of mixed reviews - I was tentative about booking here- it IS a Best Western, which scared me, but close for business. I was pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness and space. I was not expecting anything extravagant and was just fine with what I had and I've stayed at all of the swanky places all over the globe- no need to get snooty for God's sake, it's a Best Western people - if you want something special that's not a B&B, you need to look outside of Hood River. I haven't tried the restaurant, suspecting that it's like other third rate hotel restaurants and if I did, I'm sure that it would be adequate, but have elected to try restauraunts in town. My complaint would be the ridiculously loud people standing out on the lawn, carrying on at other folks on one of the decks - again, a Best Western - yah get and are surrounded by what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SeattleWorkerBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

This hotel is wonderful. The beds are comfy; the rooms well furnished (even a convenient night light in the bathroom); the staff is courteous and helpful; the restaurant and bar are delightful. We were there just one night but we plan to go back and stay again. The view room we had faced the mighty Columbia River and the river is magnificent to watch. The hotel even has a dock for boaters.
The grounds around the hotel are beautiful and well maintained. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great stay for a great price.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lesly47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

First, tried to book on their website and several other sites and it said they were sold out. Called them and turns out they're NOT sold out. Got the impression they don't update their websites very often. My first Best Western stay - very unimpressive.

Now, here's the good:
1. No loud train noises like you see everyone complaining about in Hood River. Rooms were quiet.
2. Right on the river - very scenic
3. Breakfast was good - also has a nice view and they give you free breakfast - but limited in your choices.
4. No problems with the staff.

The bad:
1. Think 1972
2. I paid 150 bucks for a wknd nt - sooo not worth it
3. Everything was very average - and building is clearly very old. Tub/shower, fixtures, sinks, doors/locks, furniture - all of it
4. Nothing great at all - if I'd have paid 80 bucks, i might feel like I deserved this.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFBayMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this Best Western. Our room had a wonderful view of the Columbia River and the windsurfers. The hotel was clean and staff courteous and friendly. We were surprised to receive discount coupons for dinner and breakfast which we view suspiciously at first. But after a wonderful dinner in the lovely restaurant, overlooking the river, we changed our minds and looked forward to breakfast. It proved to be equally delicious.
We've stayed in other Best Westerns that did not come anywhere near this standard

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank barjerNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
2.6 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
2.7 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
197 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
335 reviews
19.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hood River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hood River Inn

Address: 1108 East Marina Way, Hood River, OR 97031-2378
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range: $116 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hood River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hood River's ONLY waterfront lodging and dining, on the breathtaking Columbia River with convenient access to all activities. Featuring rooms for every budget; from riverview rooms and suites to standard no-view rooms. Rooms feature mini-fridges, microwaves, hairdryers, irons & board, coffee makers, and high-speed wifi. Enjoy a delicious meal at the Riverside restaurant or Cebu Lounge. Take a dip in our gorgeous riverside pool and spa, or relax in the sauna. We pride ourselves on delivering excellence in customer service and high quality cleaning standards. Our friendly, helpful staff is ready to ensure a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Hood River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hood River Hotel Hood River
Best Western Hood River
Hood River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing