We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a very nice................Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It's a very nice................Best Western”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very nice hotel with a great location. We had a river view queen and spent the hour after check-in enjoying a pair of gin and tonics looking out over the river. Very relaxing.

The only real complaint I have is that from the moment we checked in I couldn't shake the feeling that we were at a Best Western. Duh, right? I had just read so many reviews about how nice it is, how it's not like a BW at all, etc., that I was hoping for something with a little more personality, a little less sterile.

And please let me clarify-- there was absolutely nothing wrong with our room, the view was fabulous and we had a very pleasant stay. Heck, even the free breakfast the next morning was quite good, I think I'm just used to staying at smaller places that feel less corporate.

One other thing to consider is that the hotel is just a bit removed from the rest of the town which could be good and bad depending on your objectives. It's certainly nice because the river facing rooms look away from the highway and train tracks that run through town. But personally, I like to be able to set the car down at the beginning of our stay in a town and explore on foot. Specifically, in Hood River, I wanted to hit a few of the microbreweries in town, have dinner and a couple beers and not have to drive myself home afterwards. We ended up walking in to town (a little over a mile) but then elected to take a cab home just because the route back to the BW takes you under the highway through a somewhat isolated area that I didn't want to walk through at night with Mrs. Hencini. Note that there are only a couple cab companies in HR, and I believe only one of them offers 24 hour service. Lolz.

Anyway, if you don't mind driving yourself around at night and are fine with a place that feels like a polished up Best Western, this is a fine choice.

Room Tip: River view queen is the way to go. We were on the ground floor (#129) so we had a little patio with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hencini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Hencini, Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your experience with our Trip Advisor friends. One of the great things about our hotel is our spectacular river front location but you're right, one drawback of our location, for some, is that it is not right downtown. Hood River travelers are fortunate though in that there are some good downtown locations to choose from but we think that we offer the best of both worlds with having the scenic walking path to town. We are also the only property in town offering great river views, a full service restaurant and cocktail lounge, a river front pool / spa experience and ample free parking. We hope that we'll have the opportunity to host you again. Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,688
    666
    144
    43
    22
See reviews for
657
1,186
110
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Property is well laid out. Pool and hot tub were good therapy after a day of rafting. Breakfast was real food and delicious. Nice spacious room. Enjoyed place so much I was sad to check out. Central to everything hood river. Front desk was very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassywm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sassywm, Thank you for the Five Star Review. Don't be sad, hurry back from Seattle for a weekend of wine tasting followed by another therapeutic spa experience and shoulder and winter season rates are just around the corner. Thanks again, we appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and look forward to seeing you soon. Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, OR, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Enjoyed everything about our stay. Room was very nice with an excellent view of the river. Staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Definitely would stay there again and would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Grant M, It's always great to receive a review from a local and it's especially satisfying when that review is a Five Star review, thank you! We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your next "staycation". Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Area
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Best Western in Hood River, Oregon for 4 nights this past week. The riverside suite was wonderful. I was initially a bit worried that it was close to the highway, but this simply did not matter. The room decor was fabulous; the patio private and with a great view. The breakfasts were also great. I would go back in a heartbeat. We also had dinner one night in the restaurant, and we had a wonderful meal. The front desk can provide wine tasting vouchers. Oregon is gorgeous.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReallyLovesVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Really Loves Vermont, Thank you for the Five Star Review. It's great that you spent 4 nights in the Riverside Suites section of our hotel and we're delighted that they were such a good fit for you. We also appreciate your kind comments about our unique guest breakfast and your dinner experience in our restaurant "Riverside". We hope to see you again soon. And btw, I love Vermont too; I went to school at St Mike's in Winooski. Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

With a larger group , this hotel has a few suites that work well with children . Half the rooms have view of the Columbia river and views over the river to Washington state. It is very well situated, a short walk to several connivence stores , i.e. Starbucks & McDonald's, and a five min. drive into the town of Hood River. It also has a nice pool, hot tubs & gym. Breakfast usually is included with the room and the food is way above average. The cocktail lounge is quite nice and dinner is also available in the lounge. I like this place.

Room Tip: One section of the hotel is new and upgraded .. ask for it. We also like the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Thomas H, Welcome back, it is always great to see you when you are here visiting family and I really appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We work very hard trying to be the "Best place in Hood River" so to hear that you think we are is very satisfying. We look forward to your next visit, until then, Happy Travels! Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ludlow, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Ours was just an overnight stay, but we wished we could have stayed longer! Room was nicely upscale and had a terrific view of the river and cliffs beyond. Grass and path off our patio made it easy to walk our dog, even in middle of the night. The staff is friendly and professional. Only complaint was our dinner in their restaurant. Almost inedible. And matched with the reviews at table next to ours. Breakfast, however, was splendid. And free!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Pamela B, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your room and your breakfast and I am terribly sorry to hear that your dinner experience was not good. If you would be so kind to give me a call to discuss the specifics, I would really appreciate it. We would welcome the opportunity to make amends. Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were very pleased with how nice the room was for being a "Pet Room". Very, Very nice. We weren't stuck in a basement with old furniture and smelly. We definitely will stay here every time we come to Hood River, Oregon. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks for the Five Star Review; it's so great that you were pleasantly surprised! We love both our guests and their pets here at the Hood River Inn and apparently they love us too.....they never leave us with smelly rooms or tattered furniture. We hope to see you back again soon. Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
2.6 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
2.7 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
326 reviews
19.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hood River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hood River Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Address: 1108 East Marina Way, Hood River, OR 97031-2378
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hood River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hood River's ONLY waterfront lodging and dining, on the breathtaking Columbia River with convenient access to all activities. Featuring rooms for every budget; from riverview rooms and suites to standard no-view rooms. Rooms feature mini-fridges, microwaves, hairdryers, irons & board, coffee makers, and high-speed wifi. Enjoy a delicious meal at the Riverside restaurant or Cebu Lounge. Take a dip in our gorgeous riverside pool and spa, or relax in the sauna. We pride ourselves on delivering excellence in customer service and high quality cleaning standards. Our friendly, helpful staff is ready to ensure a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hood River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hood River Hotel Hood River
Best Western Hood River
Hood River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing