We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I took a quick one day trip out to Hood River to explore the town and tasting rooms. Did not want to be hassled with the drive back after wine tasting all day, so booked a room at the Best Western. The location is great, less than a mile from the heart of downtown Hood River, it is situated right on the Columbia River, with gorgeous river views, and a small private access to the river itself where you can sit at waterside if you so desire. Our room was on the third floor of the East Wing (which is designated as an adult only - family free floor) so it was exceptionally quiet which was much appreciated! To be honest, the whole place seemed well insulated so doubt noise would be a big problem here. Our room was clean, modern, and well appointed, with mini fridge, microwave, terrace, and good wifi reception. On site dining room was extremely good for dinner that evening...warm, inviting, cozy, and very good food and value. There is also a separate bar / lounge area for drinks and casual dining too. In the morning, we had a complimentary FULL HOT breakfast in the restaurant, which we enjoyed on the outside deck also overlooking the river...no cornflakes in plastic tubes here! It too, was exceptional. We enjoyed the outdoor pool, and large hot tub. There is also an indoor hot tub and small but efficient modern fitness center and sauna. The service (front desk, housekeeping, dinner staff, breakfast staff) were exceptional...couldn't have been nicer! We will definitely return to this property and would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone. It was a 5 star experience for sure.

Room Tip: Both east wing and west wing are remodeled and updated. Half the hotel faces river, half does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vjo508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Vjo518, I absolutely loved reading your review. As you can imagine we have a wide variety of guests who enjoy our prime river front location and we strive to provide quality accommodations for all. You described our hotel so well for guests like you and your husband, thank you. We look forward to hosting you for your next wine tasting getaway.
Chuck Hinman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,192 - 2,198 of 2,790 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had stayed at the Best Western Plus last fall after a winemakers dinner, and based on our wonderful experience decided to repeat staying there. We were so surprised to find that they upgraded our reservation due to my mentioning in our booking comments that it was our anniversary. They didn't just give us a "congratulations" or complimentary dessert (although they did do both at their Riverside Restaurant, ending a delicious, elegant dinner in a very special outdoor location with beautiful vistas)--we received a beautiful suite for our stay! The free breakfast choices are great, and the (open air) pool/spa clean and relaxing. They truly know how to handle hospitality!

Room Tip: Request/book a river view room; the scenery is spectacular and it is quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alegria_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Alegria_13, Welcome back and Happy Anniversary! I am so pleased we were able to be a part of your celebration. It sounds like you had a memorable time with us and enjoyed the luxurious amenities in our guest rooms and some fabulous "Riverside" dining. Thank you for the great review. We look forward to your next trip to Hood River and another great stay with us.
Chuck Hinman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I found the hotel itself a bit dated. It could use some TLC, really. The wood in our bathroom is chipped, the tub is severely scratched, the room shades were torn down and put back up, but not in the right place, so there was light streaming in through the side. The room has an off smell to it. Not sure how to describe it.

But the bed was clean and comfortable, the linens were clean and overall it was a good place to stay for two nights.

This place by far has the best fitness/pool set up that I have seen! The view of the Columbia and the mountains is amazing from the fitness area and I could even let the kids swim in the pool while I worked out b/c the fitness area is also overlooking the (outdoors) pool. The pool itself was heated and felt really good given the air temp was in the 50s. The hot tub has an amazing view of the Columbia and the mountains and was nice and hot.

The full breakfast at the Riverside was really nice, as well. Good variety to choose from and the food was really good. Otherwise I would not eat at the Riverside b/c the prices are quite exorbitant on our family budget.

Room Tip: There are rooms with a view of the river, and then rooms with a view of the parking lot. Of course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmcintosh24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear DMcintosh24, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our Trip Advisor friends. I am so sorry that you found your room in some disrepair, there is no excuse for the draperies being hung allowing light to stream into your room or for the scratched and chipped wood vanity. I will have our maintenance staff correct these so that the next guest does not experience the same. I am so glad you enjoyed our new pool and exercise facility, it was designed to provide for just the experience that you described. Thanks for staying with us; we hope to have the opportunity to host your family again soon. Chuck Hinman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Best Best Western ever. Our room (reserved a couple hours before check-in) had a balcony we could have tossed stones off of into the Columbia River. It was such a wonderful surprise. The complimentary breakfast was delicious the next day and another chance to enjoy the view.

I do wish there had been a cheaper food option onsite in the evening. We just wanted takeout to enjoy in our room after a long day of driving and the onsite restaurant was a little too pricey for that.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank KC D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear KC D, Thanks for the great review and for describing us as the "Best Best Western ever." It is always satisfying when a guest is surprised with all that our hotel has to offer. I am sorry that you weren't told of our affordable bar menu which is available until 11 pm during the week and midnight on weekends. We hope to see you back again soon.
Chuck Hinman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed two nights and enjoyed the hotel and surrounding area. Restaurant in the hotel was great and eating on the patio next to the Columbia River was wonderful. Didn't take advantage of the free breakfast. Definitely would go back!

Room Tip: I always ask for a "quiet room" and we were down the hall away from the elevator. Did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Diane N, Thank you for such a wonderful review! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved the experience of dining on our deck. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Chuck Hinman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Best location, right on the Columbia River. Large, comfortable, modern, clean rooms, with a mini-fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Our extended family had a total of three rooms, and everyone's was equally nice. My husband and I were on the newly-added third floor and the bathroom was beautiful and huge. Well managed property and well-trained and friendly staff. We called down to the desk for more hangers and wine glasses (this is wine country!), and they were at our door within 5-10 min. Great, thick towels and soft sheets.

The restaurant seems more likely to be a free-standing, independently owned local favorite, than in a chain hotel. Total anomaly! The free breakfast here knocked our socks off, made fresh to order from the terrific menu, with full table service, and full waterfront view. Everything from prociutto/basil scramble to lox and bagel to the most amazing oatmeal w/all the fixin's. Dinner was wonderful too...with the Alaskan halibut and local Salmon done to perfection. (What hotel restaurant you've ever been to guarantees they will not overcook the seafood?!) They also make great use of locally sourced produce and breads. Nice bar with live, local entertainment.

Cons were minimal, being a hole in the sticky, hard to open screen door to our balcony overlooking the river. Mentioned it upon check-out, and they were genuinely glad I did. There is a tad of traffic noise from the nearby bridge, on the river side, but earplugs are provided. I need it very quiet, so I noticed it a little, but still slept pretty well. Some people wouldn't give it a second thought. Definitely not a deal breaker.

Would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Riverfront is totally worth the price. My sister's room in a different wing, was very large and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WearyAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear WearyAdventurer, Thank you so much for your very thorough review and for your comments about fine restaurant, “Riverside”! You touched upon so many things we're very proud of but the one that is closest to my heart is your comment about our well trained and friendly staff. I think that without friendly, gracious service, everything else is irrelevant and no matter how nice a hotel looks or functions, guest service is most important. Please come back and visit us again soon! Chuck Hinman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Nice rooms, and great menu. I like the pool and I feel welcome! For all sort of trips! Out door tables are nice and have deck heaters for chilly days! Nice dock, but you need to watch young ones! the water gets VERY deep and even at the dock is about, oh, I'd say about 6 ft.

Room Tip: Pick riverside. Definitely river side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naturegal1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Naturegal1313, Thanks for your review. We're excited you chose us for a getaway from Carson just 15 miles away. It is great to be appreciated by our neighbors and we truly appreciate your recommendation! Chuck Hinman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
2.6 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
2.7 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel
Columbia Gorge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hood River
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
348 reviews
19.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hood River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hood River Inn

Address: 1108 E Marina Way, Hood River, OR 97031-2378
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range: $116 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hood River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hood River's ONLY waterfront lodging and dining, on the breathtaking Columbia River with convenient access to all activities. Featuring rooms for every budget; from riverview rooms and suites to standard no-view rooms. Rooms feature mini-fridges, microwaves, hairdryers, irons & board, coffee makers, and high-speed wifi. Enjoy a delicious meal at the Riverside restaurant or Cebu Lounge. Take a dip in our gorgeous riverside pool and spa, or relax in the sauna. We pride ourselves on delivering excellence in customer service and high quality cleaning standards. Our friendly, helpful staff is ready to ensure a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Hood River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hood River Hotel Hood River
Best Western Hood River
Hood River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing